Zillow Reviews

Updated 1 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
66 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Sinking ship"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They do have free water and snacks

    Cons

    CEO, Spencer Rascoff left, President, Greg Schwartz left, Top strategic executive, Carey Armstrong left. The real estate industry turned on Zillow because they became a broker, home buyer, lender, title company and the company that will cut out realtors.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    February 19, 2020Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your review. It’s beneficial to hear from current and past employees, on what may be communication gaps, we need to sure up internally. Zillow has always, and continues to listen to our Partners (Agents/Brokers), as it relates to providing our Customers (consumers) a seamless real estate experience. As someone that joined Zillow Group three years ago, it is truly a reality that this is the case, from our days of having three hundred employees in Concierge, solely here for helping Agents/Brokers connect with Customers, to consistently working side by side with Agents/Brokers in all aspects of our platform. Zillow and Agents/Brokers are aligned on the journey of ensuring a delightful experience for our Customers. If you’d like to discuss further, please reach out to me at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    The culture here is great!! Work hard and the benefits come along with it.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of movement in the executive level so that is always a little nerve racking.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    January 7, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for your review! I’m really glad to hear that you are enjoying the culture in our office as it is something we take great pride in. As you point out, hard work and focus can yield excellent results and it is terrific you are able to take advantage. We believe in being a highly transparent company and we anticipate nothing different in 2020, so fully expect the lights to remain turned on! Please stop by my desk or send me an email with any additional thoughts or feedback and here’s to your success in the New year! Brandon Inouye – Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

  3. "zillow is great to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Science Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    talented people to work with, strong leadership, development paths

    Cons

    okay technology infrastructure, top heavy

    Zillow Response

    January 31, 2020Chief Analytics Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and especially for the feedback on leaders and career development. Our business is shifting to a different model which is driving some more careful planning and spending on resources, however our technology stack and infrastructure is and will remain a key investment for us as a company. If you have more specific feedback that you'd like to give around limitations of our technology and tools then please reach out to me, I'd love to discuss. -Stan stan@zillowgroup.com

  4. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, good culture, care about employees, solid work-life balance

    Cons

    Recently tightened costs, mostly a positive, but at times a detriment.

    Zillow Response

    January 31, 2020Chief Analytics Officer

    Thanks for the feedback. Compensation, culture, work content and work-life balance are, of course, a few of the most important things to get right, and glad that you believe we've done so. Regarding costs, as you know, we are moving fast in our transition to Zillow 2.0, and this change is driving more analysis of our spend so that we can make sure we're operationally excellent. Investing as much as we are in multiple lines of consumer innovation is only possible if we're as streamlined as possible in each one. While being streamlined, we continue to grow our team and increase the investment in our technology and tools while maintaining an amazing culture. If you would like to discuss more, please feel free to reach out to me directly. -Stan stan@zillowgroup.com

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company great leadership

    Cons

    Wish there was more flexibility to work remote

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    January 2, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for your review regarding your time here at Zillow Group. I'm glad to hear you had a great experience with our leadership team in the 2 years you spent here in our OC office. If you have any additional suggestions or feedback feel free to email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Wishing you lots of success in 2020! Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Best place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits, and people. Zillow is absolutely the best place I've ever worked I enjoy coming to work everyday!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons so far.

    Zillow Response

    April 25, 2020CPO

    Glad to hear it - please reach out if you do have concerns down the road. You can reach me at dans@zillowgroup.com .

  7. Helpful (7)

    "Good, but political as of late. Will update."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, excellent tools, free snacks and coffee, good healthcare and stock options. Corp app infrastructure is solid. People are usually helpful and supportive when you have questions even across orgs.

    Cons

    Zillow 2.0 is driving people far too hard. There is a tangible change at the company toward tighter budgets, which has resulted in significantly more workload per person without wanting the spend on appropriate staffing levels. (While the equity and belonging team is doing great) I also feel more expendable as Zillow 2.0 moves forward. Despite transparency being a core value, management in my org makes major personnel decisions without opening positions to the whole org, causing employees at other sites to be left behind and the whole process to become very political and unfair. Transparency is only valued on a technical level, not a people level in my org. Politics have frequently influenced decisions about major systems changes, and when to spend budget even when the equipment is badly needed.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    December 16, 2019SVP, Technolgy

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as you know we are moving fast in our transition to Zillow 2.0 and I realize that this pace can sometimes be challenging. The 2.0 model is driving more analysis of our spend however we continue to grow our team and increase the investment in our technology stack annually and while we always strive to post roles internally, we can continue to improve on our transparency. I appreciate your feedback, if you would like to discuss more, please feel free to reach out to me directly. -Toby tobyro@zillowgroup.com

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Move Fast, Think Big"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership under Spencer Rascoff, though since then I know a lot has changed. They had a great way of getting the entire company behind important initiatives.

    Cons

    Long time employees were gatekeepers for decision making. They advertised ability to move around in company, but didn't really enable it.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    April 25, 2020CPO

    Thanks for your feedback - we have grown a lot in the past year. If you would like to know more about where we are today please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com .

  9. Helpful (1)

    "It is fast paced with tons of growth potential."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a a fast growing and exciting company to work for

    Cons

    It isn't easy and not for everyone

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    December 16, 2019Vice President, Zillow Group

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Zillow. It’s great to have people across our teams who are excited to tackle the big opportunities ahead. While the challenge is audacious, the fun and excitement comes through when we are surrounded by great teammates who think big and move fast. Thanks. Michael Sherman Vice President, Zillow Group

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal Company to Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist in Centennial, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay Awesome Office Wonderful Management Inclusion and Diversity Room to Improve yourself Free Food

    Cons

    Hire some not so nice people Repetitive Work

    Zillow Response

    December 4, 2019Senior Director, Connections Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy the pay, office diversity, and leadership. Because taking care of associates is one of our core values, we%E2%80%99re always looking for ways to ensure our associates have equal access to growth and development opportunities. We strive to provide an environment where associates feel they%E2%80%99re valued, treated fairly and, respected. Thanks for your contributions during your time with us and best of luck in your new endeavors. Greg Davis Senior Director Connections Experience gdavis@zillowgroup.com

Found 818 reviews