Find jobs for Sales Executive

Zillow Sales Executive Reviews

Updated 20 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Learn sales and then get out"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was an inside sales executive at Zillow and first and foremost - Zillow is a great place to learn sales. I came in new to the sales industry and Zillow really puts you in a sink-or-swim environment. This is what you're day will look like - Log into Salesforce - Use their dialing system - Call around 60-150 people a day and try to sell them lead generation What I liked was that management will listen to calls and give you good feedback but they are pretty hands off. Most of the customers you'll be calling - have probably been called by Zillow an average of 20-50 times per year. It can suck but it forces you to be a good salesman. You'll learn how to overcome resistance, create time constraints, demo, build your own follow up processes. Zillow is so quota focused (you hit your quota or you get fired) and they are pretty attainable, so you can't just coast. If you work your butt off and you have sales ability you should be able to make six figures. A lot of the sales managers I had were really good people that would listen to you and want you to succeed. You can really leave your work at work. The second you clock out you aren't even allowed to send an email. Even though this review is mainly negative - I would still recommend Zillow if you are serious about sales and want to build good fundamentals.

    Cons

    I started in early 2018 and left in early 2019 and this company is going downhill fast. I don't even know where to start. If you are sales/support (read: Denver hires) they don't give a crap about you as a person. It's the only job I've had in my professional career where they treat you like a kid. You are paid hourly and have to clock-in and out. You have to be there at 7:30 every morning even if you are calling a region that won't be up for another hour or two. Limited vacation and they are really weird about quota relief. They have a policy where if you miss quota a couple times in a six month period you will get put on a final notice and let go. You have to get approval on vacation in advance and submit quota relief but you'll be scared to do that because you might be struggling that month. Want to take a vacation the last week of a month when you're at quota so you won't have stress? Tough luck. One of their core messages is "Zillow is a team sport" and it's the exact opposite. You'll be part of a 20 person team that is all calling the same accounts over and over and over. The people who do the best either spam emails (and never get in trouble for it) or call accounts that slip out of other reps name. I never once felt like I was winning sales because of my ability - it felt like I either got good inbounds or the timing was right when I called someone that a different rep demo'd a couple months ago. They have done a terrible job at setting up salesforce and their auto dialing system is terrible. They will raise quota yearly without giving you a raise. They hire like 4-5 new reps every month to a team because they know people will get burned out. When they launched Zillow Offers they started removing MAJOR regions and making it so you couldn't sell their anymore. I had friends in the Southeast that said Atlanta was basically 30% of their closings and they removed the city over night. They kept quota the same and basically said start selling crappy zip codes that agents don't want. You'll go into a company sales meeting and they will waste your time saying stuff like "EVERYONE BE A LION. GO OUT AND HUNT" instead of talking about the things that matter to sales people like inbound lead flow or getting better data in the CRM (hmm maybe put a field for zip codes they've bought in the past...) . They don't really care about their customers. They know there are major zip codes that deliver crappy leads because they still put their contact form on underpriced/unsellable plots of lands and when the agents complain they tell them tough luck. Prices got so outrageous that I felt guilty going over ROI and showing they would be lucky to even get a 1.5x ROI in most regions. I checked back in and probably 30%+ of the best sales reps (many who had been there since Trulia) finally decided to leave. In the end it's all about the money. You can sell hot, treat customers like crap and email spam as long as you hit numbers.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    November 11, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review from your experiences during your yearlong tenure at Zillow. I appreciate that you were able to gain solid sales fundamentals, which I’m sure will benefit you in a future sales role if you have chosen to continue that career route. It is evident, you identified how challenging the role of a sales professional is, taking tons of resilience and the ability to adapt in an environment of constant change. I take your comments very seriously, and I wish we would’ve had the opportunity to discuss these challenges you were facing, while you were part of our team. If you’d still like to connect, I can be reached at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales Denver

  2. Helpful (12)

    "Thought I would retire here but things changed drastically"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No micromanaging as long as you did what was expected of you. Very nice and comfortable work stations.

    Cons

    When Zillow took over Trulia the atmosphere slowly changed and not for the better. Revenue is brought in by the sales teams and when you continually raise quota with the same payout as the original quota it really puts a bad smell in the air and the writing on the wall was very clear. Zillow has turned corporate greed into an art form. I was once proud to say I worked for Trulia/Zillow and now I am embarrassed when I talk to my Realtor friends. I am truly glad that I escaped when I did.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    September 14, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your review. I’m disheartened to hear of your experience and perspective of your time employed by Zillow Group. Our intention is to create a high performance sales culture, aligned with our consumer first mission, as well as always provide the environment for all voices to be heard. I would’ve loved the opportunity to hear from you directly. If you’re still open to connecting, please reach out at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales


  3. "Great Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people culture benefits are amazing!

    Cons

    Career Development can be political

    Zillow Response

    September 11, 2019Senior Director of Sales

    Thank for you for writing your review. It sounds like you met some amazing people and really enjoyed our great benefits program during your 3+ years at ZG! We work hard in each office to create and maintain a strong culture focused on equity and belonging. If you have some examples of roadblocks you encountered or observed regarding career growth and development please email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Career development is something we do not take lightly and we are always looking for feedback to improve. Best of luck in your current opportunity and thank you again for your review. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Sales account executive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place good people there

    Cons

    Turnover was very high when I worked there

    Zillow Response

    September 3, 2019Vice President, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for the review. It sounds like you connected well with our team here but have some feedback regarding turnover. Recruiting and retaining best in class salespeople is a core focus of ours. I would love to hear your sentiments regarding how we can do that better. Please reach out to stevec@zillowgroup.com if you have more to share. Best of luck with your future endeavors. Steve Capezza - Vice President, Zillow Premier Agent Sales.

  5. Helpful (15)

    "Turnover rate for sales is around 70% (no, seriously)"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch on Fridays, great benefits, gym reimbursement, free snacks.

    Cons

    I stayed around 6 months. At first, everything was great; they do the old smoke and mirrors trick- free lunch! gym reimbursement! tons of $$ if you hit quota! But the reality is: everyone is extremely stressed about hitting quota and it creates a negative office environment. The well is very poisoned here. I felt like after a month of training and traveling to Seattle, the smoke screen was gone and I realized I had made a mistake accepting an offer. You basically have to hit quota 3 times or you're gone. The quota is pretty high at $8,000 and you're selling to real estate agents that either hate Zillow and have burned by the product before or don't have the money to buy it. A lot of people I know are "on plan" meaning they have to hit 3 months in a row or they're gone, and only 2 out of the 7 people I trained with are still employed here (by choice or not). I personally left because the stress and lack of job security wasn't worth it. None of the managers came and said goodbye to me when I put in my two weeks (which, they tell you to wrap it up within 10-15 min of giving notice, but at least they pay you for the two weeks), which is whatever, but just contributes to the "you are extremely replaceable and ultimately don't matter here" sales culture. I could probably go on, but if you're on the fence about applying...don't. It's monotonous, some managers can be micromanagers, and it just really sucked to work here. Although I took a pay cut at my new job, I feel so much happier and less stressed.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    July 2, 2019Senior Director of Sales

    I appreciate you taking time to review our company and team. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the benefits and perks here at Zillow Group. It’s unfortunate that you did not enjoy your time as an employee. As you know, Zillow Group is a fast-paced and rapidly growing company. We raise our bar every year with our performance and expectations of ourselves and our sales teams. The numbers you outline in your review detailing a 70% turnover rate is not accurate for our sales team. I take your feedback and concerns seriously and am happy to hop on a call 949-398-1610 or feel free to email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com if you want to discuss any other challenges or ideas you may have regarding our company or team. We are always open to feedback from current and past employees. I wish you the best of luck in your current opportunity. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director of Sales

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with better people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture/environment, compensation and work life balance. They truly take care for their employees. Opportunity for advancement is there and executive management is on point.

    Cons

    You can get stuck with a territory or book of business that has a high level of churn due to not making quota, so don't expect an easy sale. If your direct manager is not a good fit for you to learn from you might be in a tough spot.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    April 24, 2019Senior Director - Inside Sales, Seattle

    Thank you for taking the time to post this great review. I'm glad you enjoyed items like our culture and work/life balance while noticing that we truly do care about our people. I will take your advice to heart and focus on it. If you have any other comments, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thanks again. Chris Lowe Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent

  7. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Centennial, CO
    Recommends

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed the benefit and compensation. Free food, maternity and paternity leave, good health benefits, adoption benefits

    Cons

    Typical call center environment without much independence

    Zillow Response

    April 11, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    We always appreciate hearing from current and former employees, so thank you very much for taking the time to share. I couldn't agree more on the benefits ZG provides its employees, truly phenomenal and glad to hear you enjoyed those benefits! On your call center comment, we do strive to create not only a team environment, where everyone supports each other, but also providing empowerment for folks to do their best work. If you have examples you'd like to share, so we can improve, I'd love to hear from you. I can be reached at 206-348-1794. Thank you, Ann Sobil, Senior Director Zillow Premier Agent Sales.

  8. Helpful (19)

    "Churn and burn tactic"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kitchen snacks and peoples reactions when you tell them you work for Zillow.

    Cons

    No job security. High turnover. If you miss your quota for 3 months you are fired no questions asked. Quota is $8,000 per month which is extremely difficult since majority of real estate agents have already been burned by the product you’re trying to sell. It’s an extremely difficult and expensive sale to make and very hard quota to hit. Managers play favorites and will give leads to sales executives they are close with. You are very replaceable. You think it’s going to be such a great experience when you get hired thinking you are working for one of the coolest companies out there until you realize you’re just another replaceable telemarketer. Almost every sales executive I spoke to was looking for a new job realizing they will get fired soon like the rest of them. Only about 1% of sales executives last for multiple years.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    March 28, 2019Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Sales Executive role can be a challenging role and success within the role is performance-based. Much like any performance-based role, the Sales Executive position carries a quota designed to drive a compelling financial opportunity, allows us to evaluate our individual performances and aligns with our company goals. The continuous training, coaching, and support given by our leadership and training team are meant to support our sales professionals to maximize their professional opportunity. With “Do the Right Thing” being one of our core values at Zillow Group I am concerned about your comment around lead distribution and would welcome further conversation. Please email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com or schedule a 1:1 if you have any more context around this or any additional feedback. You can also feel free to stop by my desk and pull me aside as well. Thanks again. Brandon Inouye Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

  9. Helpful (17)

    "This is THE sweat shop of all sales jobs. Prepare to question your life choices"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great CEO great workspace with more snacks and array of beverages than you could ever imagine. View from any floor is amazing.

    Cons

    It's really disappointing because i have a lot of friends that aren't in sales that work for Zillow and they can't stop talking about how much they love it. Zillows core values and direction and culture is absolutely amazing UNLESS you are on the sales floor. It is a shark eat shark environment where you can't trust anybody. Everyone is always trying to figure out ways to snake your deals, which results in a lot of bad blood and a pretty contentious relations with most of your coworkers. So if you like being a shady sales person in a turn-and-burn environment, this is a great job for you Training is the biggest joke imaginable and barely applies to what you are actually selling. All the managers focus on are daily activity metrics since they are under the impression the more dials you make the more business you will close, which isn't true. But if you don't hit your INSANE dial/activity metrics every day, then you will get a firm talking to. We are talking on average about 100 calls/day and another 150 talk minutes on top of it. You don't have time to strategically prospect and build relationships. I barely feel like i have time to take lunch. On top of that, it takes 70% of the team until the last day of the month to hit quota, so the stress literally never subsides. I stress like MAD when on vacation because you literally need every day possible to hit your goals. This is absolutely not how a job should be. I never felt able to breathe and cruise for just a day or two. The best part is that at any point in time you literally only have 3 month of job security. You are put on a PIP if you miss two month in a row (even by a minuscule amount) at that point you MUST hit 2 consecutive months to not get fired. I have seen so many talented people who just had a few bad months get let go. I have always wondered why Zillow Sales doesn't focus on developing existing talent. They much prefer to do hiring classes of 30 people every couple months and just see who can actually last. The turnover is absolutely mind blowing and i'd say the average tenure of an SE is 8-12 months. The product is hard to sell because so many agents have been burned by Zillow. What you do when you invest in Premier Agent is called GAMBLING. I didn't feel comfortable selling agents on a product that probably isn't going to make them money. It felt like i was stealing from good people.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    March 13, 2019SVP Premier Agent

    I’m disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Zillow Group. As you note, sales can be high pressure – that is the nature of the role. The training we provide aims to alleviate some of the pressures by making sure our sales people are fully equipped for their day-to-day work. We do solicit feedback and make adjustments to our training and recruitment practices with an eye towards ever-improving. When you were employed with us I hope you provided feedback to help us in our efforts. We are never satisfied and are always changing and trying new things to be better, which is at the core of who we are, and what I love most about Zillow Group- if you would like to discuss live please reach out to me at susan@zillowgroup.com. Susan Daimler SVP, Premier Agent

  10. Helpful (10)

    "Great company, Sales Org not so much"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PA Sales Executive in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay and commission structor

    Cons

    Three month job security. Sales Floor is about tagging clients then fighting other employees for the sale.

    Zillow Response

    March 1, 2019Senior Director - Inside Sales, Seattle

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I'm glad you enjoyed the commission opportunity we provide. I appreciate your feedback regarding our sales team. That feedback doesn't seem to be in-line with what I've heard from the rest of our sales floor though as we focus a lot on working together as a team. Feel free to reach out to me if there's anything else you'd like to share. Thank you again. Chris Lowe Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

Found 44 reviews