Zillow Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zillow Sales Reviews

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, inclusivity, benefits, everything is pretty on point

    Cons

    Pay, nothing else To be honest

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-02-08

    Zillow Response

    February 10, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for your review. Really glad to hear that you felt a sense of belonging and connection during your time here at Zillow Group. As you experienced firsthand, equity and belonging is something we are continuously focusing on, and is always top of mind. If you have thoughts or feedback on how we can continue to evolve please email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Thanks again for sharing your experience and best of luck in your next opportunity. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Executive - Irvine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food Fridays, unlimited drink/snacks. They draw you in with the "amazing culture" "opportunities for growth" but when you get there you see the real truth. Literally saw the reality after training.

    Cons

    Micromanagement to the tee, hover over you to make calls. We get it, it's our job to dial so stop hovering. Miss 3/5 months and you are gone. Its a factory farm of employees. Everyone is a number. People get axed right and left. There is a reason why everyone moves seats at months end because they fire people. There is a reason why the veterans there don't really talk with new hires because they know they most likely will be gone in a few months. Very interesting dynamic. All leads have been called so much that realtors hate Zillow marketing calls.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-01-29

    Zillow Response

    January 31, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review, based on your experience as a Sales Executive. As you mention there are a lot of office perks that come with the role here at ZG and I’m glad you enjoyed them. When you mention micromanagement, specific to dials and missing quotas, that is clearly not the way that we want our leadership style to be perceived. Our team takes great pride in a servant leadership style and we focus on empowering our team as much as possible. This does not sound like it was the case based on your review and I want to hear more about what you experienced during your time here so we can improve. High activity, effort and output are a key ingredient to being successful in a revenue-based role but that should not mean hovering over your shoulder. Lastly, around your comment regarding attrition, this is not in line with what we see in the Orange County office. The retention on our team is very high over the past 6+ months, and we’ve invested a lot of resources in our sales productivity tools to help our team become more effective and efficient. As I mentioned earlier, I would like to hear more about what you experienced so please feel free to email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Best of luck to you in 2020 and your next opportunity. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    The culture here is great!! Work hard and the benefits come along with it.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of movement in the executive level so that is always a little nerve racking.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-01-06

    Zillow Response

    January 7, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for your review! I’m really glad to hear that you are enjoying the culture in our office as it is something we take great pride in. As you point out, hard work and focus can yield excellent results and it is terrific you are able to take advantage. We believe in being a highly transparent company and we anticipate nothing different in 2020, so fully expect the lights to remain turned on! Please stop by my desk or send me an email with any additional thoughts or feedback and here’s to your success in the New year! Brandon Inouye – Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They do have free water and snacks

    Cons

    CEO, Spencer Rascoff left, President, Greg Schwartz left, Top strategic executive, Carey Armstrong left. The real estate industry turned on Zillow because they became a broker, home buyer, lender, title company and the company that will cut out realtors.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-02-10

    Zillow Response

    February 19, 2020Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your review. It’s beneficial to hear from current and past employees, on what may be communication gaps, we need to sure up internally. Zillow has always, and continues to listen to our Partners (Agents/Brokers), as it relates to providing our Customers (consumers) a seamless real estate experience. As someone that joined Zillow Group three years ago, it is truly a reality that this is the case, from our days of having three hundred employees in Concierge, solely here for helping Agents/Brokers connect with Customers, to consistently working side by side with Agents/Brokers in all aspects of our platform. Zillow and Agents/Brokers are aligned on the journey of ensuring a delightful experience for our Customers. If you’d like to discuss further, please reach out to me at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company great leadership

    Cons

    Wish there was more flexibility to work remote

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-12-24

    Zillow Response

    January 2, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for your review regarding your time here at Zillow Group. I'm glad to hear you had a great experience with our leadership team in the 2 years you spent here in our OC office. If you have any additional suggestions or feedback feel free to email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Wishing you lots of success in 2020! Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Company changes make sales reps expendable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks, great insurance, relatively flexible PTO once accrued.

    Cons

    I eventually left because the most valuable portion of my territory was removed in a 24 hour period. We were not told of this change. After being a successful sales rep for 3 years I came to terms that I would not be able to be successful with the current state of the company and the tools that were available to me. Because of the limited opportunity, the culture on sales floor went from a "One Team" environment to a "do whatever it takes", even at the expense of the people sitting next to you. Increasing drama and paranoia among reps, even what I would equate to stealing from each other. The reasons I joined the team were no longer apparent so I made the sad decision to leave.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-12-04

    Zillow Response

    December 5, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your review. As you were employed by Zillow for three years, you were definitely accustomed to how quickly things can evolve on our platform, for the benefit of our customers. Although, we always strive to communicate proactively and transparently, moving fast, can have its implications. Thank you for this feedback, as we will work to improve these types of communications moving forward. Ann Sobil, Senior Director ZPA Sales

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Culture Leadership The company really valued my work/life balance and compensated me well.

    Cons

    Some management weren't as helpful as others.

    Zillow2019-11-23

    Zillow Response

    November 30, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate hearing your positive thoughts on work/life balance, and that your outlook on our culture, benefits, and leadership were all positive! As leaders, we always strive to ensure we are all there to support and develop the individuals on our team. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't always experience this to be the case. If you'd like to connect to share details, I can be reached at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Learn sales and then get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was an inside sales executive at Zillow and first and foremost - Zillow is a great place to learn sales. I came in new to the sales industry and Zillow really puts you in a sink-or-swim environment. This is what you're day will look like - Log into Salesforce - Use their dialing system - Call around 60-150 people a day and try to sell them lead generation What I liked was that management will listen to calls and give you good feedback but they are pretty hands off. Most of the customers you'll be calling - have probably been called by Zillow an average of 20-50 times per year. It can suck but it forces you to be a good salesman. You'll learn how to overcome resistance, create time constraints, demo, build your own follow up processes. Zillow is so quota focused (you hit your quota or you get fired) and they are pretty attainable, so you can't just coast. If you work your butt off and you have sales ability you should be able to make six figures. A lot of the sales managers I had were really good people that would listen to you and want you to succeed. You can really leave your work at work. The second you clock out you aren't even allowed to send an email. Even though this review is mainly negative - I would still recommend Zillow if you are serious about sales and want to build good fundamentals.

    Cons

    I started in early 2018 and left in early 2019 and this company is going downhill fast. I don't even know where to start. If you are sales/support (read: Denver hires) they don't give a crap about you as a person. It's the only job I've had in my professional career where they treat you like a kid. You are paid hourly and have to clock-in and out. You have to be there at 7:30 every morning even if you are calling a region that won't be up for another hour or two. Limited vacation and they are really weird about quota relief. They have a policy where if you miss quota a couple times in a six month period you will get put on a final notice and let go. You have to get approval on vacation in advance and submit quota relief but you'll be scared to do that because you might be struggling that month. Want to take a vacation the last week of a month when you're at quota so you won't have stress? Tough luck. One of their core messages is "Zillow is a team sport" and it's the exact opposite. You'll be part of a 20 person team that is all calling the same accounts over and over and over. The people who do the best either spam emails (and never get in trouble for it) or call accounts that slip out of other reps name. I never once felt like I was winning sales because of my ability - it felt like I either got good inbounds or the timing was right when I called someone that a different rep demo'd a couple months ago. They have done a terrible job at setting up salesforce and their auto dialing system is terrible. They will raise quota yearly without giving you a raise. They hire like 4-5 new reps every month to a team because they know people will get burned out. When they launched Zillow Offers they started removing MAJOR regions and making it so you couldn't sell their anymore. I had friends in the Southeast that said Atlanta was basically 30% of their closings and they removed the city over night. They kept quota the same and basically said start selling crappy zip codes that agents don't want. You'll go into a company sales meeting and they will waste your time saying stuff like "EVERYONE BE A LION. GO OUT AND HUNT" instead of talking about the things that matter to sales people like inbound lead flow or getting better data in the CRM (hmm maybe put a field for zip codes they've bought in the past...) . They don't really care about their customers. They know there are major zip codes that deliver crappy leads because they still put their contact form on underpriced/unsellable plots of lands and when the agents complain they tell them tough luck. Prices got so outrageous that I felt guilty going over ROI and showing they would be lucky to even get a 1.5x ROI in most regions. I checked back in and probably 30%+ of the best sales reps (many who had been there since Trulia) finally decided to leave. In the end it's all about the money. You can sell hot, treat customers like crap and email spam as long as you hit numbers.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-11-07

    Zillow Response

    November 11, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review from your experiences during your yearlong tenure at Zillow. I appreciate that you were able to gain solid sales fundamentals, which I’m sure will benefit you in a future sales role if you have chosen to continue that career route. It is evident, you identified how challenging the role of a sales professional is, taking tons of resilience and the ability to adapt in an environment of constant change. I take your comments very seriously, and I wish we would’ve had the opportunity to discuss these challenges you were facing, while you were part of our team. If you’d still like to connect, I can be reached at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales Denver

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Thought I would retire here but things changed drastically"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No micromanaging as long as you did what was expected of you. Very nice and comfortable work stations.

    Cons

    When Zillow took over Trulia the atmosphere slowly changed and not for the better. Revenue is brought in by the sales teams and when you continually raise quota with the same payout as the original quota it really puts a bad smell in the air and the writing on the wall was very clear. Zillow has turned corporate greed into an art form. I was once proud to say I worked for Trulia/Zillow and now I am embarrassed when I talk to my Realtor friends. I am truly glad that I escaped when I did.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-09-04

    Zillow Response

    September 14, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your review. I’m disheartened to hear of your experience and perspective of your time employed by Zillow Group. Our intention is to create a high performance sales culture, aligned with our consumer first mission, as well as always provide the environment for all voices to be heard. I would’ve loved the opportunity to hear from you directly. If you’re still open to connecting, please reach out at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people culture benefits are amazing!

    Cons

    Career Development can be political

    Zillow2019-08-30

    Zillow Response

    September 11, 2019Senior Director of Sales

    Thank for you for writing your review. It sounds like you met some amazing people and really enjoyed our great benefits program during your 3+ years at ZG! We work hard in each office to create and maintain a strong culture focused on equity and belonging. If you have some examples of roadblocks you encountered or observed regarding career growth and development please email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Career development is something we do not take lightly and we are always looking for feedback to improve. Best of luck in your current opportunity and thank you again for your review. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
Found 159 reviews