Zillow Senior Software Development Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zillow Senior Software Development Engineer Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stable Company, Challenging projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology. Great work-life balance. Good Perks. Catered lunch on Fridays. Diversity! "Build your own idea" week events. If people aren't satisfied with something, they listen, discuss, and take necessary action.

    Cons

    Not very many cons, at least not in my first year of employment. Zillow is a medium-sized, fast-growing company. You may find some cross-office communication problems as the company doesn't follow a `remote-first` approach.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up with the great work, you guys are awesome! Maybe start considering more approaches to improve communication and hiring of distributed teams. You may be able to hire great talents if you consider allowing them to work from home in different cities.

    Zillow2019-03-26

    Zillow Response

    April 9, 2019CTO

    Thanks for your feedback and great having you at Zillow Group. I appreciate your comments about improving communication and hiring of distributed teams. As we grow, we need to continue to look at options to hire great people, and distributed teams is something we are utilizing more ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome physical environment. Zillow tends to hire smart people who also have empathy towards others. Lots of room for growth in the business. Decent compensation. No on-call. A lot of promotions from within.

    Cons

    Slow release process. It's being worked on but was shipping once every 2 weeks, and sometimes once a month, which can be frustrating when what you work on requires iterations. A lot of tech stack is result of hack week projects that doesn't seem to have much ongoing support. Some teams lack clear charter.

    Zillow2017-01-25

    Zillow Response

    January 25, 2017CTO

    Thank you for your feedback. I see that you are a former employee, so you might not know that we have moved to weekly releases and are working on improving our deployment and monitoring processes as we head toward a continuous deployment model. Our "Velocity" model of having a small ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Large, stable company with small, start-up mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Zillow is, so far, the best company I've had the pleasure to work for. They really stand behind their words with actual action. If people aren't satisfied with something, they listen, discuss, and take necessary action. They provide many avenues to voice your opinion, which empowers you as an employee and as a stakeholder in the company itself. Culture isn't something they just talk about. They live it day in and day...

    Show More

    Cons

    I've been here for almost a year and so far I can't really pinpoint anything as a downside. The work-life balance is great. The culture, coworkers, and management make day-to-day work a pleasure.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing: being honest and forthcoming with information, staying on top of your employees happiness and health with all of the benefits provided, and creating an atmosphere of openness that makes working here so satisfying.

    Zillow2016-03-18

    Zillow Response

    March 22, 2016VP of Industry Solutions

    Thank you very much for the kind words. I’m extremely happy everything is going really good for you. It is important to us that everyone here, like yourself, has a great environment to thrive and is a company they can be proud to work at. - Justin LaJoie, VP

  4. Helpful (4)

    "An amazing 5 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    What's better than a job that provides 3 weeks of vacation? A job that provides 3 weeks of vacation, plus 2 'hackweeks' in the year, where you get to team up with anyone else and let your creativity run wild. (I'd even trade one of my vacation weeks for an extra hackweek). To top it off, it doesn't hurt spending the remaining weeks innovating with dedicated and motivated teammates. In five months here, I've had a chance...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the legacy code can be challenging to navigate. On the positive side, most dev managers seem to be open to refactoring small chunks of code despite the obvious risks.

    Zillow2014-06-15

    Zillow Response

    June 30, 2014CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for your feedback! I'm really glad that you're having such a great experience here, and in particular that you're finding the work interesting and impactful. As you know, we try to keep our product teams as small as possible and allow them to be as autonomous as possible. ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good office environment, good people around you. 2. Great direction, and always amazed me! 3. Very transparent company.

    Cons

    1. The nature of business, it lacks of super challenge technical problem, legacy services around and make engineering life a bit hard

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good work and make the engineering org more flexible!

    Zillow2013-04-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, impactful work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    - excellent leadership - work life balance - focused to succeed in real estate vertical

    Cons

    - can't think of any

    Advice to Management

    - great job in growing Zillow to be top online real estate marketplace. Consumer is what makes the marketplace thrive, so always build great features for consumers.

    Zillow2013-01-15
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to learn the basics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Zillow's in a position to command a market sector, and is gradually developing a substantial internal services architecture that a junior or mid-level engineer can/should learn a lot from.

    Cons

    There's a strong culture of management/PM making feature/spec decisions and handing them off to developers to implement. Whether your ideas are listened to or not depends heavily on your job title.

    Advice to Management

    Professional disagreement is a good thing; don't take it as a sign of dissension.

    Zillow2010-03-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work if you want to have stability but in a startup/small company. Bu if you like risk look elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow

    Pros

    good junk food, nice office location and view, friendly people

    Cons

    commute, startup pressures, no IPO in sight

    Advice to Management

    more avenues to exit, get bought or go IPO.

    Zillow2008-07-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Zillow is a great place to work and there are cool projects to work on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    I get to work on cool projects. There are fun, smart people at Zillow and I contribute and learn from them. Zillow is a fast pace culture, but there is good work/live balance as well. Kind of out of the first stage of a startup, but still a lot going on and still very early stage. My manager helps me understand why what I work on is important and how I can grow in my career and help the company succeed.

    Cons

    Sometimes projects get started and changed midstream. This can be frustrating at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the people.

    Zillow2008-07-11
Found 9 reviews