Zillow Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zillow Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 3 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
6 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Zillow part-time

    Pros

    This company has good environment

    Cons

    The cons is, sometimes the requirement is too high.

    Zillow2020-02-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Bureaucratic, for a small team. Poor engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Working within a vertical that can either make or break the entire real estate industry - Extended health, dental, and vision benefits - RRSP matching

    Cons

    - Not an innovative team (they claim that they prefer to adhere to "tried and tested" methods, but are really just complacent. For instance, the product is not responsive across screens, because one person just does not understand CSS3 media queries) - Lack of transparency from management (tasks being assigned, rather than empowering engineers to offer solutions to business problems that are presented to them through consistent communication from up the chain of commands) - Lack of end-to-end technical ownership - Micromanagement - Uninspiring work - The team didn't quite feel like a startup (hierarchical team structure) - You can't learn much from working in this team - Poor engineering culture (no blameless post-mortems. Reactiveness to problems. Lack of proper team-based learning and development) - Can't look up to management for technical guidance, nor are engineers empowered to make decisions in lieu of management's technical competencies - Personality-wise, everyone in this team seems to lack a sense of curiosity that many startups in Vancouver exude

    Zillow2020-01-03
  3. "Fun and Chill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    The culture was very good. Active and friendly people

    Cons

    Could not find much cons

    Zillow2019-11-16

    Zillow Response

    November 30, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your comments and for joining us during your internship. From our first year, we have enjoyed hosting interns in our development centers. It is a great opportunity for our interns to learn and for Zillow to form great relationships with those early in their career. They also impress us with their great work and engagement with our community. Thanks again. Hope to have you back when you graduate!

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership Smart People Various technology stacks

    Cons

    Sometimes it takes a lot of time to approve a new project or initiative

    Zillow2019-10-31

    Zillow Response

    December 2, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your feedback. I am proud of the great work our teams are completing and the products and services they bring to our customers. I agree that we have incredible people on our teams and love the commitment and smarts they show every day. Appreciate your comments about time to approve new initiatives. We are working on processes to make these more streamlined, but also acknowledge that as we grow as a company, need a bit more analysis around which projects we finalize with the engineering teams. I am glad that we have ways for great ideas to come from anywhere in the company and that the engineering teams take a lot of ownership in their products and plans.

    Continue reading
  5. "Fantastic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great company culture - Competitive pay - Great work/life balance (interns didn't have tons of pressure put on them) - Office has a music room and a game room - Just a generally happy place to work

    Cons

    - They house undergrad interns in apartments with shared bedrooms, so prepare to sleep in a twin and share a room.

    Zillow2019-10-30

    Zillow Response

    December 2, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your comments after your internship with us in Seattle. I am particularly proud of our internship program, which we started in our first year as a small startup and have grown significantly and with great results for our interns and their host teams. Glad you noticed in your time with us the strong culture and other fun and important benefits of working at Zillow. Thanks too for the feedback on the housing we fund for the summer. We try to provide options close to the office which given the high rent require some roommate situations. We will look at other options we can provide in the future as well as be better about communicating these options earlier. Hope to see you back at Zillow once you are finished with your college program. Keep in touch!

    Continue reading
  6. "A company that cares about its employees and is not afraid to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Awesome office, benefits, and perks - 401k match - med insurance w/ yearly allowance - WFH - Health allowance - discretionary time off [unlimited vacay as long as approved] - tech vending machine, monthly catered lunch - Zillow tower is beautiful - etc, just to name a few 2. Great work life balance Work hours are flexible as long as you do your duty You can do 6-3 days, come in at 9:30 for stand up and leave at 3 PM if you need to 3. Ease of changing teams Company acknowledges people want new challenges and even provides guidance on how to do so successfully. People periodically move around different teams. 4. Great mission and attractive product Zillow Offers is at the forefront of transforming the real estate Overall, the company is in the process of changing this mid-large size company into a huge enterprise centered around all things Real Estate. No longer just a media company, but going into finance and buy/sell-ling homes with Zillow Home Loans and Zillow Offers -- all things Real Estate

    Cons

    Company is going through a lot of changes trying to be at the forefront of all the change 1. Suddenly hired thousands of people in Seattle office, which is causing a bit of friction among people 2. Market is yet to be convinced and our stock prices are dropping 3. Budget cuts are happening for things like holiday parties 3. Some experienced engineers are leaving due to compensation not being as high as they anticipated

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-10-24

    Zillow Response

    October 27, 2019CTO

    Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback. We are going through a lot of exciting changes with our business and we do realize that the pace of change can be challenging. I am glad you called out the more frequent Q&A sessions we are doing to help answer more questions and give updates. I think you might have overestimated the number of people we have recently hired in Seattle, but you are right that we are going through some serious growth and that too can be challenging. Our business is shifting to a different model which is driving some more careful expense planning and that can have some impact, so if you see us putting more scrutiny around spending, that is why. We will have some fun holiday celebration, just with a bit more scaled back from the larger events we have had in the past. Again, thank you for your feedback and please feel free to reach out to me if you want to talk directly about anything that is on your mind. -David

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (16)

    "No longer a tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong focus on equity and belonging is transforming many aspects of the company. Much work has gone into modernizing the tech stack, so depending on the team you might find you tool chain and frameworks pleasant to work with. (warning is still loads legacy lying around.. just depends on the team) Lots of opportunity to move up through the ranks with so many departures. As a new employee you maybe be able to negotiate a nice package. This is critical because after your in HR will clamp down hard on your compensation adjustments, even for top performers. Many of us joke we should leave to a start up for a few months then come back in order to get a raise.

    Cons

    So many people leave we have dubbed Fridays as "Farewell Fridays". Massive cost cutting is happening everywhere. Most of the perks that existed when I started are long gone. If you are coming from a non tech company the current benefits are probably par of the course. Just think of Zillow as a traditional Real estate company now and not a tech company. At the time of this writing Zillow is hemorrhaging money in the Zillow Offers business and seems to be cutting everything possible to slow the bleeding. Related, if you are working in a part of the company not focused on the Offers business expect to be severely resource constrained. I suppose you could romanticize this as the rest of the business is getting lean and might rekindle a "start up feel" .. just a start up without much funding or perks... Many people do not know what they working on. There are secretive vague ideas and seemingly quarterly org changes. Many in the "know" have little to no roadmap or direction to share with most of their team. Of many parts of the company it feels like they don't want the stigma of layoffs so instead they are cutting benefits, lowering bonuses, etc in order to force people out. Multiple manages have discussed waiting for certain people to leave.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-10-18

    Zillow Response

    October 27, 2019CTO

    I first want to thank you for the time you spent with us building great products. The company is going through a lot of change as we navigate launching and growing new businesses and reimagining the core business as we move down the transaction funnel. You have some of your facts wrong about massive attrition and hemorrhaging cash. While attrition in our San Francisco office has been a bit more than some of our other offices, there is no dumpster fire and I really appreciate the people who are working with us as we navigate the changes with us. Our core values remain strong and our level of transparency remains high with many opportunities to receive information at all levels of the company and offer ideas, opinions and comments. Our recent bi-weekly exec Q&As are another example of what we are trying to do to provide more transparency with our employees, which I think is appreciated. Our cash position is strong our businesses are performing as expected. Certainly our new Zillow Offers business has a very different operating model and cash and equity need, so maybe that has not been clearly communicated to you. Business transformation is exciting, but the changes it causes can also be disruptive. We think our employees will see the positive side of this tradeoff. People should know what they were working on and why it is important to the company. If anyone is unclear on this, they can ask their manager, VP or me. We had needed to make org changes, but the ones we have done are meant to better align our people and teams better with our major product and business initiatives. Again, I am proud of our employees who have navigated these changes and in a positive way. For any current employees, if you have concerns about your work, work environment or anything else, don’t hesitate to discuss with your manager, VP or me. Feedback from past employees is helpful, but I would certainly prefer talking to current employees who are working hard to help us succeed.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic at allowing you to grow as an engineer. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Not a lot of cons. There are some stressful times, but that's the nature of software development. Does a great job at making sure it's not too stressful.

    Zillow2019-09-03

    Zillow Response

    September 19, 2019CTO

    Thanks for sharing your positive experience working at Zillow Group. I know a lot of people share your enthusiasm for the company and what we doing. Career growth and work-life balance are indeed important parts of our engineering culture. If you ever feel the stress of the important work you and your team are doing reaches a point of concern, please work with your manager(s) and team members to discuss this. We like the fast pace and high intensity of our work, but this is a long journey and not a sprint. Thanks again. - David

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Zillow

    Pros

    pay is decent my experience was team specific

    Cons

    My manager and team were awful to me. They did not care about my growth as a person or supporting me for my limited time there. They would make fun of me for asking questions and then get angry when I did not ask enough questions. I overall do not wish it on anyone to have to deal with that.

    Zillow2019-08-30

    Zillow Response

    September 19, 2019CTO

    I am sorry you had poor experience with us during your internship. We have been running a very successful internship program for the past 14 years and I have been pleased with the reports we get each year from our interns, many of whom return in follow on internships and as fulltime employees. We work hard to cultivate positive experiences on the small product teams we place our interns, partnered with the manager and intern mentor. Checkins along the way and exit interviews, along with other feedback, allow us to stay in pretty close communication with our interns and mentors throughout the internship. The balance of asking questions or spending more time investigating independently is a tough balance to master, but I would certainly not expect our managers to get angry or make fun of an employee for this. Critical feedback is part of the learning process, but it should always be provided with respect. Again, I am sorry you experienced this, but can say that we get strong positive feedback from our many intern mentors and managers. I hope you provided this feedback in your end of internship interview and I will be sure to follow up with our internship program coordinator to solicit any additional feedback related to your experience. A little hard in an anonymous setting like Glassdoor, but I will do this as best I can. If you wish to share any other feedback with me directly, you can do so at davebei@zillowgroup.com. Thanks - David

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place for real estate work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    Always something for everyone, really friendly work environment, amazing benefits

    Cons

    - If you don't love real estate, work can be kind of boring

    Zillow2019-04-22

    Zillow Response

    April 30, 2019CTO

    Thanks for sharing your experience with Zillow Group. I am happy you joined us through our internship program. If you have other feedback, we'd love to hear it. You can talk with your manager, VP in your department, and I am always interested in hearing feedback and ideas directly. Real Estate, boring??? No way! :-)

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 69 reviews