Zimmerman Advertising Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
66%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Zimmerman Advertising Founder and Chairman  Jordan Zimmerman
Jordan Zimmerman
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced and outgoing work environment(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great people and nice perks from Zimmerman(in 41 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Terrible work/life balance, terrible pay(in 39 reviews)

  • "What really made it worse was that I worked long hours for 2 pro-bono accounts(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      amazing

      25 May 2021 - Software Engineer in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      environment was good and amazing

      Cons

      crowdy place full of people

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Orthopedics

      22 Mar 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can learn a lot in orthopedics

      Cons

      Nothing to say anything negative

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Traumatizing experience

      23 May 2021 - Account Coordinator in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big office, nice building, free coffee.

      Cons

      LOW pay — you are either overworked, under trained, or BOTH. Management does NOT care about you. Their turnover rate is SCARY. My hiring class was forced to read Jordan Zimmerman’s biography in under week, on top of our regular work duties, then sit with him and INTERVIEW him about his book. Self-absorbed, narcissistic founder of this company. You can be fired for no reason, no explanation at all. I was called into the HR office on a Friday afternoon, fired with NO explanation as to why. When I asked, their response was, “we don’t need to give you an explanation when you are in a trial period.” I could not even go back to my desk to retrieve my things — someone from HR had to gather my things and bring them back to me. I was escorted out of the building at 2 PM — again, absolutely no explanation as to why I was fired. I was mortified. I was never trained for the work I was supposedly hired to do. Perhaps they over hired and did not realize it? It was my first real job out of college and the experience was absolutely disheartening and traumatizing. Do NOT be fooled with the big fancy office and false image of a top marketing agency — this company is going downhill and even their big clients have realized it. Nissan, their pride and joy of a client, fired Zimmerman Advertising in 2019, maybe just as they would fire you.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to start but not where you should stay

      10 May 2021 - Graphic Designer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great place to start and learn. I do have to admit that I got a lot of great experience here. - While there are a lot of problematic people, there are also some great people you can learn from. - Pretty much everyone I worked with was open to teaching you, answering any questions, and helping out when needed. - Good benefits and time off.

      Cons

      - A bit of a toxic work environment and problematic company culture. - A total boy's club. - You only get promoted if you're liked by the right person or spent years fighting for a promotion/raise to the point where you're threatening to quit. - The company has been rightfully called out for sexism and racism in the work environment but has done nothing to actually address it. - No respect for work/life balance. While we get a lot of time off, they will guilt you for using it. And they guilt you into working many late nights and weekends.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      CAREER KILLER FOR CREATIVES

      10 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is in Ft Lauderdale. There's a beach nearby.

      Cons

      The "leadership" won't present and/or can't sell the fresh ideas. This makes it a career killer for creatives. Recycled brief: get more, pay less.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked and Underpaid

      11 May 2021 - Account Coordinator in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice building and loved my coworkers

      Cons

      They recruit young people out of college knowing we would be excited to work for a large agency with minimal experience and knowingly pay us next to nothing and work you 24/7 (seriously!). They make all new hires sit through an orientation with the company owner, where he talks about his personal struggles and then brags about his multi-million dollar sports car collection - knowing he's underpaying all of us. Hours were 9-6 but we'd be lucky to be out by 7 most days. Getting the weekend call/email that a client needs a change was treated as completely normal, we were expected to be willing to sacrifice all of our remaining free time to the company and asking about overtime pay will get you laughed at. No holiday bonuses, either.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great People / Great Company

      26 May 2021 - Media Buying Supervisor in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with. Good working system put in place with media with clear defined goals, values, deadlines. Senior people are easy to reach.

      Cons

      Medical Benefits are expensive even though partially covered.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Countless Hours & somewhat disorganized but great people and a place to learn

      2 Apr 2021 - Junior Editor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Rapid Learning - Reacting Quick on your feet - Every project is different so you're not constantly doing the same thing. - The company if willing to make changes to to increase productivity & profits. - Great Benefits & Health Plans

      Cons

      - Countless Hours - Overworked/ Burned-out Employees - Disorganized - Constant Rush - Over Panic - Shady Management on the upper level - Profits over the employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Use it as starting off point that’s it

      1 Nov 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Pembroke Pines, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Exposure to really cool brands -You meet some nice people -Good starting off point if you are fresh out of college -Nice building -They do fun events now and then

      Cons

      -Toxic work culture -Outdated ideas about marketing -Lots of ego comes in the way of good work -You often question your integrity or value -Very low pay, severely under industry average and they will claim its because Florida lacks a state tax which is BS. -Some department heads play favorites with associates -Everything is on a budget -Lack of diversity except in accounting department (you know the one department that is not paid for ideas or creative/strategic thinking) -Very gossipy -Promotions are based on personal relationships not actual performance -You can’t tell people things they may use it against you -They overpromise and under deliver constantly hence why their talent and clients leave at the same pace. -Cringy Creative sometimes you have to defend

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A Great Agency For Career Growth

      20 Apr 2021 - Senior Paid Search Planner in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management team, awesome benefits, an amazing office, good pay, supportive of academic development and many opportunities for career growth.

      Cons

      I have no complaints yet.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 606 Reviews

    Work at Zimmerman Advertising? Share Your Experiences

    Zimmerman Advertising logo
    or