Zulily Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 943 of over 985 reviews

3.0
39%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Zulily President Jeff Yurcisin
Jeff Yurcisin
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun job, great atmosphere, great people(in 52 reviews)

  • "dynamic, interesting challenges to overcome, every day was different, fast paced(in 51 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Hard to have a work life balance(in 60 reviews)

  • "low pay, benefits could be better(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Collaborative and committed to improvement

      9 Jun 2021 - Project Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive and collaborative working environment, clear focus on customers, leadership team committed to listening and improving based on feedback. I’ve found a real commitment here to supporting work/life balance as well, key for working parents — no late night or weekend demands or emails from managers which is the norm at other tech companies.

      Cons

      Can be a bit siloed — but that’s to be expected in a remote environment; over-rotation on homegrown platforms and systems that aren’t efficient.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
      3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Salary is not worth it

      18 Jun 2021 - Assistant Buyer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The holiday parties were fun!

      Cons

      Very demanding workload that even the most efficient workers were run ragged managing. Very slow to promote and initial job training was hardly helpful. The salary is not worth the stress & demands required to be successful in this role.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
      2.0
      Current Employee

      Keep Looking - this is not a good place to end up.

      12 May 2021 - Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Used to have a fun office pre-quarantine. Used to be a positive and inspiring place to work before original CEO left. Gets you a QVC discount, but doesn’t make it worth the job. Some employees and teams are professional and engaging.

      Cons

      As a company that serves women, it doesn’t value women in leadership. Countless female managers have left in the last two years as Zulily continues to hire male, former Amazon leaders. CEO is former Amazon so he doesn’t recognize the toxic environment he continues to perpetuate. The female leaders in place are either just as toxic, or don’t have the voice and influence to enact a cultural change. This company has sucked the life snd happiness from a lot of people. There are always folks who are willing to do battle in these atmospheres, but as a person who gave them four years of my life as a manager I can confidently recommend looking elsewhere for employment. Sorry to say. It was great while it lasted.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
      4.0
      Current Employee

      Good WLB

      15 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are very nice; good WLB

      Cons

      Not much benefits and not competing salary

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
      1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Look somewhere else

      27 May 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      OK work-life balance, until recently due to high retention.

      Cons

      * High retention (~50%) since the past year, people quitting, management dragging their feet in hiring people even though we've been warning them for 2 years * Benefits cut * CEO has his head in the clouds * Bought by Qurate a few years ago, old style management is took over it * Moved away from Scrum to Waterfall * Low pay * Best people to work with have all left * Pretty much working in maintenance mode currently due to employees fleeing * Very frequent oncall * No clear direction for the company * We only made profit YoY during COVID * Higher management doesn't know who you are like they previously did. We're all just numbers on a sheet

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
      4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Re-positioning

      14 May 2021 - Buyer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - AMAZING co-workers - Freedom to try new things - I truly feel supported in my career. I work on a great team. - Our CEO is trying. We've seen amazing things this year with how he's navigated us through a pandemic and a remote workforce. He's been transparent and forthcoming with top-down information as it comes. I've been at this company a long time. This has been a challenging year to say the least. He's done a great job. Sometimes it feels like people come to glassdoor to vent but here's the other side of it. There are good things happening here too. Neutral: - Covid changed the business. There are variables we didn't anticipate BUT we are in the process of re-positioning how we do things - both from a business standpoint and people/org standpoint. All businesses go through growing pains. Zulily is onto the next iteration and will continue to evolve. If you're thinking about working here, know that there are areas in need of headcount and that can come with an "all hands on deck" direction at times until we are staffed at the levels we need to be. If you're entrepreneurial minded, this is a great chance to dive in and own your business. If you're someone who needs a ton of guidance and structure, wait a year to come onboard. We're trying to get our bearings like the rest of tech.

      Cons

      - Heavy workloads right now. Team members are burned out now that most of us are remote. We work where we live and live where we work.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Low pay

      13 Jun 2021 - Data Entry Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home was great

      Cons

      The pay was very low.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
      4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good worklife balance and leadership

      8 Jun 2021 - Engineering Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Impactful work - Good leadership

      Cons

      - Low quality bar for code - Has a few growing pains (oncall, messy ownership, ...) - Compensation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Reason I left Zulily

      2 Jun 2021 - ICQA Team Member in Bethlehem, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, pay, team members, discount. The majority were great people to work with. Management was fair and accommodating.

      Cons

      Mandatory O/T . Consistently 50/60 hour work week. Have to use your time PTO, UTO to take your regular days off. You run out of time very quickly.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
      5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Smart and Inclusive

      11 May 2021 - Marketing Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Everyday you are working with smart individuals who are passionate about the work they do * Collaborative environment which put's progress over credit (meaning no one's ego get's in the way of improving the business)

      Cons

      * We're busy! There's so much to do which is both exciting and, at times, stressful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 943 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zulily Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zulily? Share Your Experiences

    Zulily logo
    or