Zumiez Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zumiez Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 741 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Zumiez CEO Richard M. Brooks
Richard M. Brooks
359 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, laid back and a great place to work(in 58 reviews)

  • "Was a fun work environment and made a lot of great friends with my coworkers(in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "Store Managers will no longer be with the company, which is attributed to low pay with ridiculous expectations(in 60 reviews)

  • "Ridiculous obsession with units per transaction and personal sales goals(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Zumiez part-time

    Pros

    nice ppl to worth with

    Cons

    agressive at time with each other

    Zumiez2019-10-10
  2. "Contract Social Video Editors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zumiez part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Zumiez offers a unique environment where like-minded people can develop and challenge themselves in fresh ways to succeed, learn, educate, and compete - all while having fun.

    Cons

    Not much can come to mind x

    Advice to Management

    Continue to shape the young generation by creating a fun working environment similar to the one I was honored to be a part of. Skater culture is prominent with Zumiez and many kids around the U.S. who want to become pros have to start somewhere. Opening more doors for more opportunities within the culture would be amazing; especially in cities who need it (Dallas TX, Denver CO, etc)

    Zumiez2019-09-25
  3. "It was fine, I guess?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associaate in Casper, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Zumiez part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were good people and it was relatively easy.

    Cons

    Once, I had two managers come in drunk and I was sixteen so that was fun.

    Zumiez2019-10-05
  4. "Too casual and informal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I worked at Zumiez part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very casual environment, flexible hours, great coworkers

    Cons

    Too causual of an environment which lead to staff being disorganized and chaotic

    Advice to Management

    More formal and comprehensive training

    Zumiez2019-10-04
  5. "Not much humanity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zumiez full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team of people, easy going, good music and enjoyable to make small talk with strangers.

    Cons

    Management tends to be very strict and has 7 steps to selling you must memorize and incorporate on a daily basis. Your person is always in question when you meet DMs and RMs.

    Advice to Management

    Hope you're ready for an endeavor.

    Zumiez2019-09-23
  6. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Zumiez part-time

    Pros

    Able to work in a friendly environment

    Cons

    More focused on upper mgmt

    Zumiez2019-09-21
  7. "It was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Key Holder 

    I worked at Zumiez part-time

    Pros

    Zumiez taught me customer service skills

    Cons

    Upper management wasn’t the best

    Advice to Management

    Be more aware

    Zumiez2019-09-06
  8. "Great until it wasn't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zumiez full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Such a fun work environment, lots of room for growth, paid in perks, incentive based benefits, excellent at developing people, when you're up you're really really up, I still use some of the Zumiez training models in my current jobs.

    Cons

    Sink or swim mentality, management was very distant unless you were the best/worst in your district, lots of internal theft, too many big changes in short periods of time, very high expectations with low budgets to make the numbers happen

    Advice to Management

    Keep the training and development essential and required all the way down to seasonal sales kids. Give more hours for floor coverage, more training with less hype, more training for sales kids and assistants, better structured company wide expectations. When I was hired, I was required to go through 7 different training packets- make this company wide and required! Most training packets are outdated. Make every... store experience feel similar.

    Show More
    Zumiez2019-09-14
  9. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zumiez part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work environment all the time

    Cons

    Wack interview in my opinion

    Zumiez2019-08-22
  10. "Was fun, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Assistant Manager in Rehoboth Beach, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zumiez part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was a fun work environment and made a lot of great friends with my coworkers

    Cons

    Low pay, uncaring upper management, unmotivated store managers

    Zumiez2019-08-22
Found 741 reviews