Zumiez Employee Reviews about "laid back"

Updated Nov 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 of over 1,254 reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Zumiez President, CEO, and Director Richard M. Brooks
Richard M. Brooks
528 Ratings
Pros
  • "I always felt like zumiez as a company cares about their employees(in 93 reviews)

  • "Great work environment open to growth(in 87 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay but they do offer good benefits(in 84 reviews)

  • "Zumiez policy is that you must aim to sign up a minimum number of people for the "stash" reward program per shift(in 62 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "laid back"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      GreT

      Nov 11, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back relaxed environment to work in

      Cons

      There are no cons at the current time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Managers suck

      Nov 20, 2021 - Sales Associate in Palmdale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s an easy job, not as laid back as everyone says it is but it’s pretty chill. The discount on clothes is 25% off of clothes and 20% off of hard goods like skateboard decks, watches, etc.

      Cons

      Managers take their job waaaaay too seriously. Idk if it’s because they’re 30 years old and have nothing else to do with their lives or what but there’s always 1 manager that will be on your back for no reason at all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Sales Associate

      Jul 21, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission based pay on top of hourly, could be a pro or con depending on your preferred style. Fun laid back place to work.

      Cons

      Competitive selling, must be knowledgable about brands.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      May 28, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Springville, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management, employee recognition, pay, laid back job

      Cons

      Nothing at all to be honest

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Zumiez Experience

      Jun 25, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy and laid back, comfortable

      Cons

      Low hours , poor communication and lack of opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Depends on Management

      Mar 21, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back atmosphere, good music, flexible with college students

      Cons

      Your experience depends a lot on who your manager is. If you have great management its a blast, if management is always looking over your shoulder & talks behind your back..no fun.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company, Great Benefits, Not So Great Management

      Mar 4, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very chill work environment. Employee discounts are really nice and can end up getting you some really solid deals even as an entry-level employee. Job is fairly low-key with cool clientele and laid-back co-workers. They aren't pushy about hard selling customers and the training is low pressure and relaxed compared to some other retail stores. I'd highly recommend working here to anyone, and hope anyone who does apply is treated more fairly than I was and has more stable management and leadership.

      Cons

      As a huge fan and avid customer, I had been wanting to get a job at Zumiez for several months but every time I went in they weren't hiring. Because of my love for the store and my interest in employment I had gotten to know the manager and some of the sales associates fairly well and followed some of them on social media. One day the manager made a post on her personal page that they were hiring so I applied and got the job. Obviously I was very excited, and with my large amount of prior work experience in customer service and merchandise, I was looking forward to this opportunity I've been waiting so long for. However, things were rocky from the beginning as on my first day I showed up around 15-20 minutes early and not only was the store was not open, but I was the first employee there. As I waited I began to meet the other employees and new-hires and nobody knew why the store was locked and closed, where the manager was, how we were supposed to get in, and what we were supposed to do. Eventually, one of the assistant managers came and opened the store, probably at least 45mins past when we were supposed to open mind you, and we began the day. The only problem was that the manager never showed up and she was supposed to train me on my first day! This was a constant occurrence which I thought would be great since my previous job would hound you if you were 1 minute late, but this only proved to be an omen of what was to come. Of the 4 whole days I worked there, yes 4, the manager was constantly inconsistent and unreliable in showing up and staying an entire whole shift. She also spaced my training days several weeks apart claiming she didn't have a lot of hours to give due to covid. So even though I only worked 4 days I technically was employed for like a month and a half. She also failed to give me the proper training materials and then would be surprised I didn't know or have certain things, meanwhile the other new-hire did have these things for some reason. To be honest the manager's inconsistency wouldn't have been that much of an issue except our backroom was constantly overflowing with inventory with full boxes of merchandise constantly being stacked up several boxes high, and literally taking over the backroom. Still going through training and not knowing the work environment and personalities, I couldn't do anything about this. Instead of using us new hires to help mitigate that overflow, we were just trained as if that wasn't happening at all. This was essentially the case every day I worked there and one day I even offered to stay late, whether I was paid or not, to help them catch up and ended up spending around 2 extra hours tagging, folding, etc. the backstock when I could've just gone home. Instead of a thanks, I was told she couldn't put me on the schedule for a while because that cut into the available hours. ok fine, I'll take that at face value, but then the next time I worked was like over a week and a half later. I don't think even 10 people worked there and if she couldn't give hours why was she hiring 2 people? Anyway, after waiting a few weeks for what would end up being my final shift, it was the same old situation again. I was loosely trained by another random employee who never seemed to know what they were supposed to be doing with us, but the shift went fine more or less. The manager comes up to me and the other new-hire at the end of the shift and says, "Hey guys great job today. Unfortunately I can't put you on the schedule until the next pay period (which had just started so it was going to be another week or two until we worked again) but next time you come in you won't be training and will be official employees!" Great, I thought, I won't have to worry about silly forced training exercises I didn't need anyway and hopefully help out around the store and maybe even be able to work hard enough to impress somebody and move up in position quickly. Except that would be the last time I heard from anyone. I reached out several times about my schedule and was essentially ghosted out of employment without any explanation to this day. The next time I went into the store I saw the other new-hire I trained with who said this had been her 2nd or 3rd shift since the manager told us we were done training. I have no idea how someone with that kind of behavior is in charge of managing a whole store like that.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Zumiez Sales Associate Review

      Feb 9, 2021 - Sales Associate in Bellingham, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun and laid back work environment.

      Cons

      Low hours / pay depending on store.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Chill Place, low work on off season

      Jan 21, 2021 - Zumiez Distribution Center in Corona, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid Back, Head phones being able to be put in, Easy work

      Cons

      Slow work during the off season

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Fun place to work if your passionate about what the company is about

      Dec 29, 2020 - Lead Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful people to work with, you get to meet all kinds of different people with varying interests, laid back and manageable work load most of the time.

      Cons

      Pay isn't that great and management is a little inconsistent higher up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 75 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zumiez Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zumiez? Share Your Experiences

    Zumiez logo
    or