athenahealth Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

athenahealth Senior Manager Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1 review

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Sr. Manager engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Engineering in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good work - Freedom to operate - End -to-end ownership of the components/modules that we are responsible for

    Cons

    - Sometimes the pace of work can be a bit slower compared to other domains like ecommerce, retail etc.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on building a good teams and good work culture, other things will follow automatically

    athenahealth2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Sr Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s relaxed and if you are motivated, and dedicated you will be empowered with resources and trust. It’s not that difficult to stand out if you are actually capable.

    Cons

    Athena is filled with people who want a cushy job and do not really push the boundaries. That’s not to say that you cannot find great people who want to do great things just the majority of the people really don’t think of it as a business that has limited resources and you must make decisions based on business value.

    athenahealth2019-03-27
  3. "Healthcare Boom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast pace, culture, opportunities to learn and grow

    Cons

    Change for the sake of change

    Advice to Management

    Set clear direction and make the effort to communicate that effectively.

    athenahealth2019-01-10
  4. Helpful (11)

    "The good and the BAD."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    athenahealth is essentially a playground for adults. It allows you to do work while having fun. The people that I've met and collaborated with on projects have been nothing short of amazing in years past. The mission and vision of the company is noble which gives you the sense of purpose when you walk through the doors. Decent Pay but not up to industry standards. Beautiful campus where you can bring your dog... into work and take strolls during breaks. Great community/extracurricular activities outside of work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Since the "bloodbath" in 2017 right before Thanksgiving where ~500 people were cut things just have not been remotely the same. The feeling you had when you walked around was that everyone was happy and jovial but now it's almost a "who's gone next?" game. Extremely difficult to retain top talent as they are asked to work extremely way too much for way too long. Some departments I've seen work 12+ hr days... because they simply cannot get the work done. I believe this is something upper management (Directors/Sr Managers) need to take seriously because employees will be burnt out sooner or later. This has been made aware but these Directors are simply too green and not the right fit. I've overheard one Director say absurd things such as "I hate top performers, they always expect so much and it's extremely *expletive* annoying. I'm perfectly fine with a person that just meets expectations." And when challenged he had the audacity to say "Good, let them *expletive* go, I don't care. I'll hire someone else." If that truly is the case then why would anyone want to strive to do more? Shortly after this was said more than half of the team disbanded months later and are now no longer with the company or moved on to a different department. Benefits aren't the best.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen intently to those who work with you not for you. If you care to keep your job and retain the people you need to help run the ship.

    athenahealth2018-12-14
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some pockets of truly exceptional people who are committed to the mission and a pleasure to work with. If you happen to be in one of these areas it can be incredible. The facilities are exceptional and the mission is pretty compelling.

    Cons

    Internal politics have really got terrible in the last year or so. Those favored few who are in the good graces of newer leadership and playing in the fun new technology do well. Pretty much everyone else is neglected. The company talks a lot less about making healthcare work as it should and a lot more about cool technology and ensuring we’re making enough for shareholders. Attrition amongst those with a lot of... experience has become very high and it’s starting to take a toll. The company espouses agile principals but has implemented a very command and control process which can be soul crushing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look long and hard at your leadership, change starts up there. Talk more about the mission and figure out a way to align the new technology strategy with the people who built what got us where we are.

    athenahealth2018-04-15

    athenahealth Response

    June 1, 2018Employee Engagement

    Thanks for taking the time to write this. It's sad that this is your experience. Have you shared this internally? There are groups that are working really hard to provide development opportunities for athenistas, and to reduce any bias in our talent processes. And with our newly launched ...

    Show More
  6. "Athenahealth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    athenahealth is a great place to work, especially on the sales team. They have a great culture, an amazing product/service and a leadership team that invests in developing their people. While healthcare constantly changes, athenahealth always seems to be a step ahead.

    Cons

    Not many cons. The biggest would have been the parking situation at the HQ in Watertown but they fixed that by putting in another big parking garage!

    Advice to Management

    Continue focusing on developing your people, building a positive culture and staying ahead of the changes in healthcare.

    athenahealth2018-04-21
  7. "A lot of bad processes to unwind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and work life balance

    Cons

    We act like a growth company when we havent invested in our product in services to keep up what used to be an exceptional experience

    Advice to Management

    revisit the core value and reinvest in it to meet the dream we sell to clients

    athenahealth2018-04-06
  8. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Watertown, MA

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Healthcare, clients, culture, team, colleagues

    Cons

    Leadership, direction, client attrition, human resources, location

    athenahealth2017-12-08
  9. Helpful (8)

    "It was great while it was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Belfast, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great compensation, bonuses, advancement opportunities, maternity/paternity/adoption benefits

    Cons

    New investors demanding higher profits resulting in recent layoffs and ongoing expense reduction. Many of the special perks that helped you tolerate the extreme performance demands and high stress are dwindling.

    Advice to Management

    Get more realistic about work/life balance. Churning and burning through millennials should not be the MO.

    athenahealth2017-11-08
  10. "Company working to disrupt itself after 20 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission, nice work space, good compensation

    Cons

    Legacy technology, activist investor looking to the short term

    athenahealth2017-11-03
Found 1 review