carsales.com.au Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

carsales.com.au Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
carsales.com.au Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director Cameron McIntyre (no image)
Cameron McIntyre
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Awesome company to work for awesome work life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is great at Carsales(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Selfish and insecure senior management team, with large doses of incompetence(in 8 reviews)

  • "While they may not always pay top dollar, I think Carsales more than makes up for this with a great culture, best work life/balance and awesome peers(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good place to learn but a lot of old timers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at carsales.com.au full-time

    Pros

    great foundation for media sales training, great staff perks

    Cons

    lots of dead wood, boys club and limited career progression outside of melbourne

    carsales.com.au2019-12-10
  2. "Its a good company, culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at carsales.com.au full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good work life balance - good culture - tech stack is ok - not super cutting edge but getting there - snacks - employee well being is generally looked after

    Cons

    - Compensation is below market - Lead roles are combined team lead and tech lead - QA processes are not class leading - There are no levels in software engineering - junior, mid, senior and lead - there's no stepping ladders if you are a senior developer and you already have a lead - then good luck in getting to the next level

    Advice to Management

    - Try and retain good sources - Software engineering team needs a little more structure ( software engineer levels , Experienced QA Coach, Consistency of processes across various teams)

    carsales.com.au2019-11-24
  3. "Great Team Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Team Leader in Richmond, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at carsales.com.au full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great team culture (food days, BBQ's, parties, team functions, fitness classes, sport days, volunteer days, theres always dogs in the office)

    Cons

    - Nothing really, I would've stayed if I did not move overseas.

    carsales.com.au2019-11-19
  4. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Liaison in Richmond, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at carsales.com.au full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, people, interesting work. CEO is very approachable.

    Cons

    At the time i worked there i did not notice the opportunities available. I did get bored but also didnt speak up

    Advice to Management

    Focus on staff strengths

    carsales.com.au2019-08-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A growing dot com impacted by the demands of digital transformation and shareholders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Team LEader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at carsales.com.au full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The intent to care and become a great place to work is there. There is an overall spirit of forward momentum, the company and its leaders show clear intent on improvement and making tough decisions to shed its skin and grow.

    Cons

    As with any company going through the challenges of a digital transformation, its legacy structure, governance, staff and culture are the chains that hold it back. The leadership and senior management teams have still yet to find their rhythm and single goal, and so the message can often be fragmented and the direction often-changing with the single-minded goal of revenue being chased rather than pillaring on the... importance of other business aspects.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Truly learn who provides value and who doesn't regardless of seniority level; be authentic, consistent and decisive to act like the leaders that should lead in the workplace.

    carsales.com.au2019-08-14
  6. "Latam Hub Mobile Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Developer in Las Condes
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at carsales.com.au full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company for growth personal and professional

    Cons

    Problems with communication between Australia and Chile for 14 hours of difference.

    carsales.com.au2019-07-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Culture could be improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ad Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at carsales.com.au full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Market leader with great technical teams. Interesting projects.

    Cons

    Culture has been slipping recently. Management needs to take better care of their employees.

    carsales.com.au2019-08-09
  8. "Happy to go to work every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at carsales.com.au full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers are such a great group of people from who I can learn new skills every day, very talented people, company culture and multicultural environment.

    Cons

    Managers allow certain individuals bad apples to survive, low salaries.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency and communication

    carsales.com.au2019-08-04
  9. "State manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at carsales.com.au full-time

    Pros

    Awesome company to work for awesome work life balance

    Cons

    None don't have anything that's not good

    Advice to Management

    Looking forward to the challenge

    carsales.com.au2019-05-01
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at carsales.com.au full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Work from home Great people to work with

    Cons

    Cant think of any cons

    carsales.com.au2019-04-11
Found 82 reviews