hipages Reviews

Updated 24 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
hipages CEO and Founder Roby Sharon-Zipser
Roby Sharon-Zipser
1 Rating
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontend Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Great culture. Receives recognition even for the tiny work you do.

    Cons

    Has a big legacy system. Although the people are great, not everyone is motivated to move to newer technologies

    hipages Response

    July 2, 2018

    Thanks a lot for your feedback, and wonderful to know you love working here. We are on the pathway of adopting many new technologies, and if you or others are finding the changes difficult I encourage you to speak to your manager, who will be able to help to support you through the transition. Kind Regards, Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

  2. "Ups and downs but still an awesome place to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product that makes a difference. Some really talented people in Engineering and Product. Always someone smarter around me which makes me want to step up my game.

    Cons

    Lots of directional changes lately, however I guess that is pretty common in growing tech companies.

    Continue reading

    hipages Response

    June 5, 2018

    Hi, Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate knowing more about your experience working with hipages. Yes, I agree we have had some stop/start communications that have been confusing for some teams as a result of our rapid growth and lots of opportunities - and am happy to report that the Senior team has recently been working on gaining 100% alignment on our key priorities and we have some fantastic initiatives planned to drive us forward and continue to provide interesting and meaningful work to the team at the same time :) Jodette Cleary, Chief People Officer

  3. "On the growth path"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Central location in Sydney CBD Values led culture Supportive team who can make things happen Dynamic work environment Genuine ability to influence the future of the organisation Huge earning potential for top sales people

    Cons

    The business is low on hierarchy, so you are expected to be more self sufficient than other more structured or bureaucratic workplaces The business is very fast paced at times

    Continue reading

    hipages Response

    June 5, 2018

    Hi - thanks a lot for your feedback, glad you are enjoying the ride! Yes, we are a fast growth company and that can be a challenge for people who have worked in more corporate slow growth environments. The advantages are you won't ever get bored and you get to have a direct impact (as you have pointed out) on our product, service and/or customers. As we are now bigger, we are putting more support structures in place to support our team , so things should get a bit less crazy soon :) Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Don't be fooled by the perks"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sugar-fueled breakfast foods up for grabs A vending machine also full of sugar Some genuinely nice people in the company Fun events Nice-ish office Comfortable lounges for naps Fluro orange shirts are given to new starters - they do a good job of making you an eyesore/blinding anyone who looks at you when you leave the office on your lunch break

    Cons

    As the company gets bigger it's no longer a flat structure so there's definitely people who will look at you like you're a minion Marketing and growth teams are given ambitious targets for very little reward Marketing team has to be one of the most dysfunctional teams I have ever worked in, mostly due to poor leadership Pay sucks, unless you're a "Head of," "VP" or "C-level" exec Leaders are constantly time poor, which makes for an uninspiring environment where many of us felt we weren't able to learn It's not a culture where you can openly express an unpopular opinion about how things are run

    Continue reading

    hipages Response

    August 26, 2018

    Hi, thanks for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not have the best work experience with us. I thought I should point out for others reading your feedback that we offer healthy breakfast, a range of cereals, a range of different types of bread, condiments, yoghurt, fruit juice and fresh fruit. We also have multiple avenues for feedback , with regular pulse surveys, anonymous questions for our monthly townhall and an ipad set up in the dining room for 'in the moment' feedback too so I am sorry to hear you did not feel you could provide your opinion. Kind Regards, Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

  5. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best places I have ever worked!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I work with great people who are extremely friendly and easy to work with - Love the challenging work and everything I am learning - Flexible work environment - Open culture where I feel comfortable to be myself - Loads of diversity across the company - Able to have lots of fun at work - Great new office and facilities - Awesome benefits working here but ultimately I love my job and am passionate about what I get to do in my job everyday

    Cons

    - Lots of work to be done so if you do not like to work hard then this is not the right company - Can be a stressful environment due to the fast growth of hipages

    Continue reading

    hipages Response

    June 5, 2018

    Hi and thank you for your feedback. Appreciate your advice re: staying focused on our goals and sticking to our priorities and am pleased to report we are doing just that, we have just had an alignment session on our FY19 Strategy and Q1 priorities that we will share with the whole company at the end of the month. Great to hear you love our office and culture and most importantly that you are having fun! Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

  6. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can make good money in sales Nice office in sydneys cbd Work colleges are fun to work with

    Cons

    Almost no sales training Have no say with daily feedback in your role Management is not flexible They have no idea on how to drive a positive culture

    Continue reading

    hipages Response

    May 30, 2018VP Sales

    Thanks for your review. Good to hear your positive feedback on our new office space, team and comms structure. We are passionate about building a strong culture at hipages and providing career development opportunities for our sales team, so are disappointed to hear that we haven't met your expectations. Weekly all team meetings, regular 1:1's, coaching and monthly all company Town Halls are a part of our operating rhythm. We pride our self on providing regular opportunities for dialogue within our growing team. As the business continues to expand however, our leadership team are conscious to keep a strong feedback loop amongst the team. Based on your experience we can clearly can do more, so will take your feedback on board. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

  7. Helpful (13)

    "Unhappiness and stress everywhere"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office close to shops Friday drinks but if your in sales you can’t really enjoy it Some really awesome people but doubtful they’ll stick around for much longer heaps of resignations happening Good team members offer you support not really a competitive environment everyone’s trying to band together to help each other the parties are supposed to be good

    Cons

    Not sure where to begin, apparently it was a good place to work and some good money was made but it’s been going downhill Really lengthy process to get the job makes you think you’re lucky to work there but when you join you realise it’s a revolving door with people coming and going allllll the time Really good team members just disappear it’s very bizarre we don’t even get told anymore like just a couple of weeks ago one of the best sales people left and we just get an email basically saying ‘so and so has left, don’t talk about it’. Just shows the complete lack of value of staff Some of the best sales people You’ve ever come across Work here but no one is able to hit target. Don’t believe anyone here thinks the targets can be achieved and missing target is totally normal. Not like any other sales environment I’ve been in. Everyone works hard but noone can show you how to hit and there’s no one you can try and copy to hit it because no one is. Feels like no one has any idea what we are doing, basically our direction chops and changes every week and you can get moved around at any minute with no notice and no say. So much uncertainty. Literally have people crying in the bathroom from stress Can’t talk to managers or anyone above about it They all just say the same things and blame us,’justify, don’t listen. There is no trust and a feeling that no one across the company has our interests at heart Not allowed to source your own leads, but you run out of leads at lunch time and you’re not allowed to ask for more without getting in trouble, then you get in trouble for not being on the phones and having low talk time. So stressful and confusing. There’s no respect anywhere. Your managers speak to you rudely, their managers speak to them rudely not sure how far up it goes but it’s very strange and always get passive aggressive comments and treated like kids Product hard to sell There’s just a blanket of stress and unhappiness across the whole sales side lots of people can’t cope anymore it’s not a nice place to be

    Continue reading

    hipages Response

    May 30, 2018VP Sales

    Appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We believe that having the right team and building a positive culture has been key to our success at hipages. This is why we take recruitment decisions so seriously. There are a number of steps in the recruitment process, but the outcome is that we end up with such an awesome bunch of people working in the business. Its great to hear that you feel supported by your peers, and that we don't just work hard but also have fun along the way. Within the sales team we are currently in the process of implementing a lot of change. The business has grown rapidly and we are in the midst of setting ourselves up for the next phase of growth. Its disappointing to hear you have felt a lack of support from management and that communication has not been as good as it could be. We will definitely take some steps to address these concerns.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Average, but not bad if you’re into a transactional environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent money for commission (if made)

    Cons

    Lunchtime and breaks is very set in cement - no freedom to take breaks when desired. Management is very old fashioned as is the training. Dealing with tradies can be quite frustrating and the expectations vs leads and conditions are sometimes out of line.

    Continue reading

    hipages Response

    June 5, 2018

    Hi, Thanks for your feedback and I'm sorry you did not have the best of experience here. We have and are investing heavily in the learning and development of the team and ensuring we remove any roadblocks for every team member to do their best work every day. We have ensured our flexible approach to work has been fully adopted across the company so there are no pockets of practices not aligned to our culture. I wish you all the best in your next endeavour. Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

  9. "Mitch Pink"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment More than competetive salary with amazing uncapped commision earning potential Friendly staff Good development oportunites and support from management

    Cons

    cannot think of any apart from i am a uk citizen so was unable to stay there long term

    Continue reading

    hipages Response

    June 5, 2018

    Thank you for feedback. We also do all we can to support our team to obtain permanent residency if that is something they wish to do, so please discuss with either myself or one of the People & Culture team. Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Don't listen to the negative reviews - this is the best place I have EVER worked!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, clear growth strategy, lots of recognition (big: awesome company wide parties to small acknowledgements of our life outside of work such as Fathers Day gifts for dads), get to do awesome work, no politics, plenty of perks, great new office with standing desks and multiple work options, FUN!

    Cons

    We run so fast sometimes need to stop to catch our breath. Hiring a lot to support growth, sometimes don't know who everyone is anymore.

    Continue reading
Found 58 reviews