hipages Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

hipages Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
David Vitek
47 Ratings
  1. "One big family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Surry Hills
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Grounded, open, accessible and innovative. Great working environment, community-driven, wear what you want, caring management, work hard and be rewarded.

    Cons

    Not likely to move up the ladder quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Stay as you are; grounded, open, accessible and innovative

    hipages2018-01-10
  2. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Pasig City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment. Lots of events and parties every month. You'll work for the salary but you'll stay for the team work.

    Cons

    There's no yearly appraisal, but might be on the works (hopefully). We need trainings and seminars for all employees as it will help us grow.

    Advice to Management

    Stand your ground agains abusive subordinates

    hipages2017-12-27
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Just another review you should ignore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A “Great Place to Work” – It’s so great, it’s not even listed on the GPTW website! Plenty of “POSITIVE” reviews – Does anyone else notice when a bad review gets published, good reviews instantly pop up days later? The reviews are so “POSITIVE” they all contain random capitalised words in them. Seems like the same person / team is pumping them out. Who knows? Mugs and candy are provided at parties. Unfortunately, that’s...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not knowing everyone, because team members get replaced so frequently. The language being used by these so called “POSITIVE” employees are calling negative reviewers “toxic” & “subordinates” if these are the “POSTIVE” people in the company I must be a terrible person. By the way, it takes a special type of person to tell random readers that all negative reviews are lies. Some would call it hypocritical, hipages calls...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ignore the negative reviews because you won’t do anything about it anyway. The bonus is that eventually all the intellectuals will leave and the company will be left with sheep. The way the managers like it.

    hipages2018-01-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hipages

    Pros

    There are a lot of highly engaging and enthusiastic people at hipages with highly regarded skills that makes you never stop learning. There are a lot of interesting challenges that never makes your day boring.

    Cons

    hipages has been growing fast and changing very fast too. Which is a good thing but also has negative impact.

    hipages2017-12-14
  5. "Promising business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time

    Pros

    -Some really good employees. -Culturally a very "nice" place to work -Growing quickly -Values / ethics are very strong in the business

    Cons

    -Resistant to change -Nice place to work, but poor engagement with staff -Difficult to impact the business in a meaningful way

    Advice to Management

    Solve the staff turnover issues. Empower your staff more to make decisions.

    hipages2017-11-29
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Lies and quashing of reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location Free beer Location Free beer Location Free beer Location Free beer Location Free beer Location Free beer Location Free beer

    Cons

    No criticism allowed. As soon as a negative review comes In, watch the positive reviews flow In, talking about how 'awesome" the company is. They got a gay team member to write an email about how "awesome" and "inclusive" the company is. Which they then sent out and pretended it was from the powers that be, so us mere subordinates could all marvel about how "awesome" they are. The member didn't even want to write...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep supplying the free beer. It's needed.

    hipages2017-12-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "One of the better startups to work for if you like fast paced work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As an engineer: - I can work on exciting new platforms - I can pick and choose the work I want to do - Have a say on how we build and deliver the work product comes up with. - Attend fun EOFY and Christmas parties - Drink free booze on Fridays Of course not everything is nice and cozy and there are a few rough edges with some of the senior people in the company leaving or transitioning to new roles. But as an...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Not enough fruit, early worm gets all the fruit. - Fast pace and iterative nature might get to you sometimes - Legacy code can a pain to deal with, but thankfully we're trying to phase it all out completely where possible - Processes get started without enough thought being put into them

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, listen to employee feedback and make the feedback loop shorter.

    hipages2017-09-15
  8. "Reception/Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time

    Pros

    Pleased there's no uniform. We have a lot of fun. There's always something on. From afternoon planks at 4pm to the Running club on a Thursday. Happy there is a monthly Town Hall for regular update company updates. There are also weekly office drinks.

    Cons

    Working five day weeks.

    Advice to Management

    If staff are looked after. They'll be more inclined to stay.

    hipages2017-08-25
  9. "I found my tribe!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support & Service in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture here is incredible - such a great team of people who truly know their stuff and so supportive of their peers. An incredible environment where hard work is always recognised!

    Cons

    Bit of a bottle-neck situation for career growth into a management role, but there are lots of opportunities to cross into a different team and pick up new skills.

    hipages2017-08-23
  10. "Business Development Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture Career progression Love where you work Fast Paced

    Cons

    Toilets and kitchen could be bigger, we are moving soon so no complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture the same. Don't become too corporate where staff feel like a number. Keep your personalised approach and don't lock yourselves away in an office and lose touch with the people.

    hipages2017-08-24
Found 57 reviews