upGrad Employee Reviews about "work culture"

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
upGrad Managing Director Mayank Kumar (no image)
Mayank Kumar
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very well and enthusiastic work culture, chance to work with highly professional and highly self motivated leader trainer co founder(in 31 reviews)

  • "Work environment and flexible working hours(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work culture"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "One of the best companies to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vertical Head in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at upGrad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open work culture, approachable top management including founders, good place to learn from mistakes and grow, good HR policy etc

    Cons

    Nothing as such but sometimes sitting arrangement as the company is rapidly growing with lot's of hiring. Admin team is quick on resolving that too.

    upGrad2020-05-12
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic Work Culture and Hire and Fire Cases"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at upGrad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Workplace, Amenities, People, Incentives.

    Cons

    Work Pressure, Work Culture, Dominance by Hierarchy.

    Continue reading
    upGrad2020-05-21
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Was a better company !"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Admissions Counselor in Bangalore
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at upGrad full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1- The managers, senior managers and even director of FOS sales are very supportive and will provide you all the support you need. 2. They have different fun activities even during lockdown like live singing performance or pubg tournament. 3. They pay good compensation. 4. There is a lot of money if you can ace sales. 5. Work culture was better at one point of time but no more. (Thanks to BYJUS)

    Cons

    1. Recent changes in leadership team sucks. 2. Mr. Arjun Mohan is a CEO who rather than supportive tries to scare people on the context of firing them. 3.Turning into BYJUS mode of work culture which is inhuman.

    Continue reading
    upGrad2020-05-21
  4. Helpful (3)

    "..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at upGrad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work culture was good before but now it sucks

    Cons

    The new CEO 🤦🤦🤦🤦🤦🤦🤦 this is inaf to present the con

    Continue reading
    upGrad2020-05-07
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Stop Burning Out Your Entire Workforce For Some Unrealistic Personal Goals, Mr. Mohan"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at upGrad full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Used to be a company with a collaborative work culture. We infact were one of the best performing teams as our manager always motivated us and treated us like family The whole focus was to do Consultation based sales and not mindless call centre job with stringent target of call time. I joined the company cause they respected the well being of their teammates instead of considering them as working machinery.

    Cons

    Mr. Arjun Mohan. An overambitious, toxic unprofessional colleague( Wont even address him as CEO as he doesn't understand the value of the position), who thinks himself to be a business leader, but is nothing but a huge disappointment. Ruined the entire work culture and productivity of the organisation. Ruined a perfectly healthy organisational culture into a slavery unit. He speaks about sense of ownership, but not once has he asked his employees about their living conditions, their well being etc during the times of lockdown. The management is so sick that they respond saying that they do not care if you have had lunch or not. While everyone asked the employees based out of Kolkata during the time of the cyclonic crisis whether they were safe or not and how are they handling the same, Mr. Mohan kept sending emails of how he would authorise salary deductions while micromanaging teams till they dropped dead.

    Continue reading
    upGrad2020-05-21
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Mr CEO, If no questions should be asked to you on open forum why you take meeting at first place??"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOS in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at upGrad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros only UpGrad was a beautiful place before CEO from Byjus entered. The worst thing is we can't even complaint to HR because she is also scared if she will say anything against management she will be thrown out of the company like previous HR was thrown out.

    Cons

    The moment CEO Hired from Byjus said no questions should be asked here and I saw Mr Mayank Kumar smiling on it.. Mayank sir you were my hero seriously this is what upgrad have come too??What about your values employee satisfaction??? Everything vanished after lockdown ?? He is telling they upgrad gives most inventive than any other edtech company true I agree . Mayank just ask anyone in the company who is working in sales from since last 1year or more than that why you were here they will not say Incentive they will say because of companies work culture how well we were managed HR used to listen to our concerns. Mr CEO Hired from Byjus understand one thing people are not working here because of incentive (this is UpGrad not Byjus) you said you have worked with so many edtech companies says it self that issue is with you if you were even leader not even good leader just leader then you would have stayed with those companies not kept on changing it.

    Continue reading
    upGrad2020-05-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Ok"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at upGrad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work culture, Young, Vibe, Passionate folks

    Cons

    Incompetent Management, Unclear direction, Unstable leadership

    Continue reading
    upGrad2020-04-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "On a path of self destruction"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at upGrad full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work culture, team mates are young and enthusiastic.

    Cons

    Policy changes every week. While joining, it was a 5 day a week 10-7 job but in reality you cannot leave work even after 0830-9pm. The everyday commute is very difficult and you are left with no personal life or time, work life balance is a disaster. You are forced to work 6 or even 7 days a week with no extra pay or comp offs. The higher management and the newly appointed CEO is imposing ridiculous policies in the name of organizational growth which is leading to job insecurity and affecting mental health of employees. Unrealistic targets (daily and quarterly) are supposed to be met, otherwise you will get Loss of Pays daily and eventually you are out of the organization. What even is job security? If the trend continues, the company will soon loose it's employees as the environment has already become toxic and negative (and these the most polite words that I could find)

    Continue reading
    upGrad2020-05-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be good, became pathetic now."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Admissions Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at upGrad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive team members, good growth.

    Cons

    Work culture has severely degraded since Ex-BYJU's CBO has become the CEO of upGrad bringing on the pathetic work culture from BYJU'S. It is all the more similar to BYJU's now. If you really want to understand what do I mean by work culture at upGrad, do look at Byju's reviews. You can also opt to see the trending twitter video of treatment of employees at BYJU'S which I am afraid that upGrad will soon follow.

    Continue reading
    upGrad2020-05-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "extreme pressure under new work culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Admission Counselor in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at upGrad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work culture was quite good and healthy

    Cons

    Work culture has significantly degraded, after Arjun mohan sir has joined upgrad. Arjun sir one request, I know you are ambitious, but understand from our perspective, in this scenario things are tough for even us and please understand, we want to do everything to keep things moving. But time is tough, please don't force things and ruin our work culture.

    Continue reading
    upGrad2020-05-05
Found 37 reviews