AER Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

AER Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Guy Seeley
4 Ratings
  1. "Best work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AER

    Pros

    nice environment for interns ,helping co-workers and staff

    Cons

    there is cons all is very good

    Advice to Management

    none

    AER2017-01-20
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Brea, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AER full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work environment with supportive and dedicated management. Great hours and competitive pay.

    Cons

    The work can be repetitive if you let it be

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting go of the good warehouse workers because of new floor management

    AER2019-06-12
  3. "Odd Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Inspector in Brea, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at AER full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hired on spot after interview

    Cons

    Told my services were not needed after 3 days with no other explanation.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    AER2019-07-12
  4. "dad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AER full-time

    Pros

    Very good benefits and pay

    Cons

    Steep learning curve and management is difficult

    AER2018-07-03
  5. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Greenbelt, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AER full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work with some very smart people. As a junior Software Engineer you will learn a great deal about both science and software development.

    Cons

    Some are more equal than others.

    Advice to Management

    More open communication on long term projects.

    AER2018-02-22
  6. "Sr. Scientific Programmer, ABQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientific Programmer in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AER full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, employees given lots of independence, strong company commitment to community and values, good benefits (insurance, PTO), reliable contract renewals

    Cons

    remotely located management, lack of separation with customer, disconnect with head office and parent company, embedded nature results in unreliable network and difficulty in incorporating modern software practices

    Advice to Management

    Make longer visits to Albuquerque site and spend more time becoming familiar with the inner workings of the data center, and the requirements and limitations imposed by the customer and the embedded environment. Give supervisor more training and mentoring in supervision.

    AER2018-01-16
  7. "Unknown future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AER full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best collaboration between researcher and software engineers I have seen.

    Cons

    The problem is that Verisk Climate and AER are both owned by Verisk. It is unknown what role AER will play in the future. For tech-talent: it needs a special kind of software developer to work at AER. Opportunities for them are expected much better somewhere else.

    AER2017-11-18
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AER

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere i love to work.

    Cons

    No insurance,that is too bad.

    AER2017-08-16

    AER Response

    April 24, 2018Human Resources

    Atmospheric and Environmental Research (AER) offers a comprehensive benefit package that includes medical, dental, vision, and life/disability insurance.

  9. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AER full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    No Cons for my work there

    AER2017-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nice company to work for but not perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Scientist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AER full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Smart and motivated co-workers - Interesting projects related to environmental challenges facing society

    Cons

    - Compensation is lower than possible for education and work experience - Vesting for the 401k is not great as it takes 6 years to be fully vested and the match is only 75% of what you contribute up to 6% of your salary. This is convoluted. - Issues with funding for projects led to several layoffs that affected morale

    Advice to Management

    More stability and clear paths for promotion. Better retirement benefits to be competitive with universities and labs.

    AER2017-03-10
Found 31 reviews