Arma Partners Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Arma Partners Founder & Managing Partner  Paul-Noël Guély (no image)
Paul-Noël Guély
10 Ratings
  1. "Great firm"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IB Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arma Partners full-time

    Pros

    Great firm with intelligent people

    Cons

    none - small team of dedicated professionals

  2. Helpful (1)

    "The dirtiest culture in London - trying to leave before PNG hits the "fire random person" button again"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arma Partners full-time

    Pros

    ELSs office is located far from the floor

    Cons

    - 15 bankers / year are being randomly fired (on a team of 60 bankers)...usually right before bonus payment. Arma's way of cutting costs and stimulating "a collaborative work environment" - People are being forced to write positive Glassdoor reviews - Some partners treat employees like dirt, just because they have "office power"

    Continue reading

    Arma Partners Response

    January 31, 2020Senior HR Advisor

    Dear employee, Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We are sorry that your experience at Arma Partners has not matched our intention of providing you with a workplace where you can enjoy and develop your career. It is true that we proactively manage our talent pool and occasionally have to make decisions due to the performance of certain individuals given the very high standards we expect from our employees. We do not take such decisions lightly and we would like to point out that we have not laid off 15 employees in the past year. We would also like to point out that, as we run four internship classes every year, some interns are not offered a permanent position at the end of the programme despite our very high conversion rates. It is also true that we encourage employees to write reviews, whether positive or negative. We cannot and do not force employees to write any reviews. If you would like to have an offline chat and share your concerns, please contact any member of the HR team directly or email LondonHR@armapartners.com so that we can arrange a time to talk. Thank you again for your feedback. The HR Team


  3. "A truly great experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arma Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great place to learn as exposure available alongside deal size is unparalleled vs. any other bank. There are few limits to what's possible in terms of stepping up as a junior - it's not uncommon for Analysts to work directly with Directors and above with no one in-between - Culture has improved instrumentally over the last few years thanks to new HR hires and any horror stories you hear today are simply untrue. Weekend work is a rarity and there is an effective system in place to track this as well as excessive late nights - Extremely high quality partners and seniors who are genuinely interested in the development of their juniors and will often explain the 'big picture' - Great collegiate culture amongst the juniors which is not the case at other banks - Lots of social events (drinks every Friday, quarterly dinners, summer drinks, offsite) which make it a genuinely fun place to work - Probably the nicest offices of any bank in London - Extrmely high deal flow (75% execution vs. 25% pitching) - Pay is significantly above market at the Analyst level

    Cons

    - Pension contribution benefit could be improved - Hiring policy/process should be reviewed to prevent low performers

    Arma Partners Response

    December 17, 2019Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your experience at Arma. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at LondonHR@armapartners.com

  4. "You are at the right place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arma Partners full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture - very supportive of your personal goals and finding ways to help you reach them. Interesting work and a great way to learn and improve technical skills in a fast-paced but friendly environment.

    Cons

    Hours can be fluid, which can allow flexibility, but also requires some last-minute late night work - no worse (in fact, maybe better) than other Investment Banks, but definitely not a 9-5 job.

    Arma Partners Response

    December 17, 2019Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Arma. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at LondonHR@armapartners.com

  5. "Strong potential and exceptional dealflow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arma Partners full-time

    Pros

    - Impressive dealflow (one of the best in Europe) - Fun place to work - Best office in London - Friday drinks, team events and off-sites

    Cons

    - Limited global footprint - Lack of training available for juniors (Arma academy or CMT industry sessions are interesting and should be expanded)

    Continue reading

    Arma Partners Response

    December 5, 2018Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and for your suggestions to Management. We are pleased to say that we have listened to your feedback and since have refreshed our Arma Academy programme, created a tailored internship onboarding programme, renewed our tailored Fitch Training Programme for Analysts and Associates and we can confirm further training planned for 2019. If you’d like to know more or have further feedback or suggestions, please email us at LondonHR@armapartners.com

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Leading Digital Investment Bank"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arma Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlike most technology focused investment banks bankers work on live deals rather than marketing pitches. The is the leading technology investment bank in Europe. Frequent team dinners and every participates in an offsite on the Continent. Company cares about well being encouraging healthy eating and exercise. Management actively monitors work life balance and take proactive action when work commitments are unbalanced. Fair late night eating and taxi policy.

    Cons

    Different this year but had a historically high attrition rates. This year we only had 1 analyst leave.

    Continue reading

    Arma Partners Response

    December 5, 2018Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Arma. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at LondonHR@armapartners.com

  7. "Junior Banker"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arma Partners for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good deal flow -Great seniors, especially the Managing Partner -The place to be if you want to do software deals -A fun place to work, if you can fit into the culture -Good brand name -Well-paid -Nice office

    Cons

    -Little diversification, the majority of bankers are French speaking. Occasionally they happen to have 1-2 female bankers. -A tough and competitive place to be even if it doesn't seem so at the first sight -Nobody is irreplaceable, but at Arma you might feel it stronger than at other places -Very high employee turnover

    Continue reading

    Arma Partners Response

    December 5, 2018Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We understand that female/male ration in banking in general can be an issue however we work hard to make an environment where females bankers feel supported to progress in their careers. If you’d like to provide further feedback or suggestions we can implement please email us at LondonHR@armapartners.com

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Performance orientated and reputable place to learn and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arma Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent environment for someone who understands and accepts investment banking / M&A advisory for what it is. The list of clients is extremely impressive and the senior involvement on deals does not end at when the deal comes in. This is useful to help drive a deal and not make too many mistakes, win win for clients and juniors looking to learn along with getting exposure. Culturally, extremely helpful measures are being taken so people are more efficient and responsibilities are well allocated. Arma is continuing to grow at a rapid pace and the quality of deals coming is genuinely impressive. It is a great place to build a career in investment banking.

    Cons

    Nothing stands out, usual small bits like any peer.

    Continue reading

    Arma Partners Response

    December 5, 2018Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Arma. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at LondonHR@armapartners.com

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best place in Europe for Tech"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arma Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - impressive deal flow - great people and atmosphere - benefits above the market average - steep learning curve by working with senior experts - junior people deeply involved in the whole transaction process

    Cons

    - Long hours (average for investment banking). They are putting a lot of efforts to improve this

    Continue reading

    Arma Partners Response

    December 5, 2018Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. As you have point out, we are working hard to ensure we keep track of workload and hours the teams are working in order to better manage out staffing issue. This is seen as key priority for Partners and seniors in the firm. If you have any further feedback or suggestions to share please email us at LondonHR@armapartners.com

  10. "Banker"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Arma Partners full-time

    Pros

    Good deal flow - you get lots of experience very quickly

    Cons

    Massive junior turn over - 8 out of 14 analysts gone in the last 3 months. Sweat shop

    Continue reading

    Arma Partners Response

    December 5, 2018Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are working hard to implement initiatives to support our employees to have an improved work life balance. If you’d like to provide further feedback please email us at LondonHR@armapartners.com

Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 English Reviews