BKL Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BKL Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
BKL Managing Partner Jeff Hartstone (no image)
Jeff Hartstone
17 Ratings
  1. "Progressive firm which puts people and clients at the centre of everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKL part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An amazing range of company-backed social events and activities, welcoming and supportive colleagues and a clear vision for its future. From day one I felt part of a great team, with challenging and interesting work within an environment that's completely accepting of my flexible working practices. I would have no hesitation in recommending BKL as an employer.

    Cons

    Systems are being developed and improved.

    BKL2019-10-21
  2. "Inflexible training programme, terrible location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - ACA Trainee 

    I worked at BKL full-time

    Pros

    Size of the company meant that the variety of experiences gained was good.

    Cons

    The training programme did not cater for individual trainees' personal circumstances.

    BKL2019-10-16
  3. "Good to qualify - Not the best working environment (previous trainee who qualified with BKL)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BKL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Training towards ACA qualification - Top 50 firm - so good experience to put on your CV as the company has some really good clients from a variety of industries. - Some helpful knowledgeable colleagues who you can learn from - Work life balance can sometimes be good (not during busy period however)

    Cons

    - Whilst the training provided towards the ACA is good (Kaplan), the internal training for practical work experience is poor. However saying that it seems to be improving moving forward. - Lack of feedback to staff members on how to develop. When feedback is provided it isn't clear cut on what is needed to progress. - When progression is made, no acknowledgement is received sometimes. - Treatment of staff members can be subject to favoritism from management. On several occasions it is not related to performance, but on friendship circles. -The above also applies to job bookings and helping staff members progress. Some managers book the same members of staff consistently and provide more help to those staff members based on friendship circles. - Blame culture and scare tactics sometimes known to be used. - HR departments people skills have deteriorated due to change in staff.

    Continue reading
    BKL2019-03-13
  4. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people with knowledge BKL are trying to go in the right direction

    Cons

    System availability & functionally should be better - fallen behind on some levels

    Continue reading
    BKL2019-01-24
  5. "Excellent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and clients; Very interesting work; Great development opportunities; Very good benefits at a competitive salary; Work-life balance is excellent; A firm that makes you want to go the extra mile just by their excellent treatment of their staff

    Cons

    Needs to be a bit more communication between partners and staff; Needs to be smoother integration of bought subsidiaries

    Continue reading
    BKL2017-07-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "BKL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Compliance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff are friendly and helpful and supportive

    Cons

    IT issues can be a problem as outsourced and can be slow

    Continue reading
    BKL2017-06-06
  7. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKL full-time

    Pros

    - Friendly and supportive firm - Excellent training programme - Broad range of clients of varying sectors and sizes - You can tell management have a strong investment in their staff and provide the guidance and experience to succeed

    Cons

    All I can think of is location if you do not live in North London.

    BKL2017-01-16

    BKL Response

    January 30, 2017Admin

    It’s fantastic to read such a great review, thank you!

    Continue reading
  8. "ACA Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKL full-time

    Pros

    > A great working environment where everybody is out to aid the development of each other > Opportunities to experience a diverse range of work roles > A genuinely friendly culture where you work not just amongst colleagues, but amongst friends

    Cons

    No notable downfalls. Have found BKL a great place to begin and continue my career within the profession.

    BKL2017-01-09
  9. "ACA Training Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ACA Trainee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -There is a real sense of trust from the management and they actively aim to help you develop and grow. -Day to day life in the office is enjoyable, everyone loves a chat and everyone knows your name. -There are lots of social activities to take part in, from poker night to white water rafting. -There is a clear career path, both during your training contract and after you qualify

    Cons

    Haven't come across any noteworthy cons, but in a more general sense the firm has undergone a period of expansion so lots of changes have happened in a short space of time.

    Continue reading
    BKL2017-01-09

    BKL Response

    January 30, 2017Admin

    Thank you for such a positive review, it is great to hear that you are enjoying working here. We are aware that there has been a lot of growth recently and it is very important to us to keep our character – it’s what differentiates us from all the other accountancy firms!

    Continue reading
  10. "Friendly and welcoming firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at BKL for more than a year

    Pros

    BKL is a really friendly firm and everyone is always willing to help, whatever the question may be. As this was my first job, everybody welcomed me with open arms and made it easy to settle in. The social aspects of the firm are very admirable- there are many events throughout the year, especially for trainees. There is constant training to keep up with updates to the systems.

    Cons

    It is sometimes difficult to keep up with all the courses and training that goes on and the salary is not comparable with other firms.

    Continue reading
    BKL2017-01-09
Found 21 reviews
</>Embed