Bluehost Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Bluehost Reviews

Updated 9 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
39%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Bluehost General Manager Suhaib Zaheer    (no image)
Suhaib Zaheer
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good training , good management for the most part(in 13 reviews)

  • "Soda Machines, great people, light atmosphere, learning opportunity(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Middle management is being yanked about and upper management is clueless(in 13 reviews)

  • "Very busy call center at the first of the year(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluehost full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very stable position with a mature process. Scrum is well developed there and working very well. There are lots of mature teams.

    Cons

    They pay a little low on the lowest end of market rate, and this leads to lots of turnover as people take better paid positions at other companies. You are rewarded with lots of good perks and stability by working for them though.

    Bluehost2020-02-09
  2. "Not a great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Semi-flexible shifts. Decent PTO plans. This won't let me post without at least 5 words and it can't count

    Cons

    No loyalty to employees. Very heavy workloads. No room to advance. Pitiful raises

    Bluehost2020-01-16
  3. "All employess are replaceable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bluehost uses opensource software, so most problems can be solved via google search of a solution has been posted.

    Cons

    Everything is opensource, and the devs are too busy with new projects to fix anything.

    Continue reading
    Bluehost2019-11-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great with a catch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved my time at bluehost. They took pretty good care of their people and the team I worked with was amazing. Great flexible and unlimited vacation policy.

    Cons

    things did change when they were acquired by endurance international. At some point the ceo of endurance decides to lay off virtually everyone in the Utah office. I was among those laid off and that was... rough. When it came down to it endurance would take advantage of and screw over their people when they thought it would benefit them. But the bluehost ceo really tried to take care of us with amazing severance packages and such.

    Continue reading
    Bluehost2019-08-31
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Environment Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay was decent. Benefits were good. Catered lunches. Random trinkets. Occasional remote work.

    Cons

    Worst management ever! Changing random expectations. Always feel like you might be fired. Random firings. Random quitting! Tries to make everyone become jack-of-all-trades to the point where no one knows anything to any depth. Corporate leadership is changing constantly because they realize the boat is sinking. Stock price keeps dropping. At some point this company will go bust. New (bad) product ideas are being pushed for development all the time. Developers keep getting yanked from one project to another. Projects being abandoned all the time. Too many band-aids on old projects. Middle management is being yanked about and upper management is clueless. No trust for employees. No training for new employees. No usable documentation. This is easily the worst place I have ever worked and I have worked for over 20 companies. Do not work for these clowns.

    Continue reading
    Bluehost2019-05-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Supervisor in Provo, UT

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The employees are great Lots of free food

    Cons

    Ownership only cares about bottom line Laid off hundreds of people just so they could leave utah

    Continue reading
    Bluehost2019-04-04
  7. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server Professional in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluehost full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They don't make you take customers' abuse.

    Cons

    Way too focused on sales and I watched the company reputation plummet.

    Continue reading
    Bluehost2019-02-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Management needs to define effective product plans and improve company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For some employees, the company offers extensive flexibility and moderate benefits.

    Cons

    The brand that I worked with was acquired a few year ago by a EIG, which has its pros and cons. To focus on the cons, the future of the brand and its goals are [obviously] at the whim of the larger corporation. This results in a level of ambivalence amongst the project managers of the brand since their input appears to have reduced steering power; essentially, some of their input can be found as only suggestions and the direction of the product they are assigned to is very minimal. Second, another toxic behavior the company [unofficially] endorses is the hard separation of departments. This leads to many teams becoming lost on how to achieve the companies’ goal. Consequently, the obstruction of communication results in a “silenced” culture where none of the teams and their employees communicate with each other. Third, the dev team is forced to utilized a deprecated coding language that lacks support from the original creators. This results in a comically large amount of technical and hiring conflicts (since they have to hire devs who know this language or can "quickly" learn it). Only apply to a software position here if you wish to upkeep a monolith. Fourth, the employees in the dev/qa/marketing/support side appear to be ambivalent/unmotivated of the products they are working on, specifically, no one appears really enthusiastic to create and manage the tasks they are assigned to. This behavior regularly drags down the atmosphere of the office and team moral. Fifth, since the reorganization that occurred within February of 2017. Several brands were collapsed into four pillar brands that needed to be focused on. As a result, many dev teams were redirected to work on the aforementioned products/brands without contest. This resulted in a mass exodus of dev team members which hurt team moral and productivity.

    Continue reading
    Bluehost2019-01-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's better to walk away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time

    Pros

    This is a tech company that should ride off into the sunset. In the beginning the perks and joy was great. The past is the best part of this company.

    Cons

    Management and bro culture. It's tricky to be a company when the mother ship calling the shots is in a different state.

    Continue reading
    Bluehost2019-01-02
  10. "Web Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved how this place kick started my into my technical career. The people were great, it was tight knit, and everyone always wanted to help each other out to collectively be better.

    Cons

    There was always poor communication between upper-management, management, and the lowest level. That and they decidedly laid off 500+ destroying the awesome employee dynamic they had.

    Continue reading
    Bluehost2018-09-04
Found 187 reviews