Brightside Academy Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
76%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Brightside Academy  Chief Executive Officer Martin Handler (no image)
Martin Handler
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Depending on management, no support(in 8 reviews)

  • "They pack classrooms to get the highest(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Close knit"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love my co-teachers and children

    Cons

    Stable leadership would be wonderful

    Brightside Academy2020-05-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Family Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, continuous growth and improvement, dedication to quality, teachers who care, are passionate about education, and are committed to professional growth and development

    Cons

    work/life balance due to subsidy guidelines

    Brightside Academy2020-04-28
  3. "Grow with our Amazing Team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brightside Academy invests in the professional education and training of each professional seeking to grow in their career.  Unlike other child care organizations, Brightside Academy is the largest early education and child care provider. For this reason, we are an incredible training hub! Some of the best educators and leaders in the city work at Brightside Academy. You'll connect with people you can learn from. Brightside Academy offers meaningful career paths and training education for those who prioritize these goals. I used to work for Brightside Academy a few years ago under different senior management. I returned to be a part of the change under our new senior management. I only work with highly committed and resourceful teams. If you have reached a point in your career where your growth is stagnant or you need a kick start to your career, apply to join our team!

    Cons

    I will share the downsides of working at Brightside based on my experiences working here. At Brightside, I work with individuals who set limits on their potential to grow. They do this by overwhelming themselves with matters outside of what they were hired to do. They also limit themselves by ignoring their self-care needs.  In both cases, the quality of their work and professionalism declines.   Brightside is usually criticized for the individuals choosing to present themselves in an unprofessional manner. I know that I cannot dictate how people choose to apply the training they receive from our organization and how they choose to respond to challenges they face in their professional growth. If I could, I would be able to support these individuals to overcome limits in their professional growth. It is really disappointing to watch individuals act outside of their professional character. Either way, Brightside continues hold teachers and leaders accountable to high expectations.  I truly believe that everyone has room to grow no matter one's level of education and years of experience. The "growing pains" related to teaching and leadership have everything to do with the mindset one has about change and growth.  Some of Brightside's staff struggle with change. I encourage my colleagues to be open-minded about change. The challenges that come with change involve both internal and external factors.  At Brightside, there are old ways of thinking that are not all positive. Negative attitudes from the past still linger despite Brightside's efforts to hire forward-thinking professionals. This is the other downside I experienced at Brightside: when new professionals onboard, they may meet some professionals who are still struggling to think positively about their work. They are peer pressured to adopt a negative way of thinking.  For professionals interested in working at Brightside, they have to be willing to grow their thinking even when others are choosing not to.  The progressive change at Brightside Academy has come from professionals who are aligned with the company's values and mission; they are solutions-oriented and flexible. The most successful individuals that I have worked with at Brightside Academy: -have a strong work ethic -excellent time management superb customer service skills These professionals stay away from workplace gossip and are not influenced by others who show a low morale. They always show their best, professional-selves no matter the situation. They work hard on their professional development and are receptive to feedback. My advice to those reading the "downsides" of Brightside Academy is to keep in mind that one's success at Brightside Academy and anywhere else depends on the person's motivation for success. At Brightside, the opportunities for success are offered. Identify (and surround yourself with the) change makers and highly effective individuals at Brightside Academy; we are here. At Brightside Academy, we develop teachers and leaders. While it is not an easy task, it is our most confident tool to educating and caring for Philadelphia's children. Hope this helps!

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2020-04-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Custodial 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff and management really care about the children & each other.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad too say.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2020-04-24
  5. "Great place to begin as a teacher."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work is fulltime and consistent. Guaranteed 40hrs per week. Offers opportunity for growth based on education.

    Cons

    Overtime may be mandatory. Raise increase is rare.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2020-04-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Making Positive Changes- Working towards quality!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Brightside has been making strides to provide better experiences for staff. Higher expectations have been in place. Training opportunities for leadership and teachers. During this time of worry, Brightside has made a continual effort to pay employees. during the pandemic. Brightside has been working to make every employee feel valued and heard.

    Cons

    Finding quality teachers is a challenge with most Early Childhood programs. It is the same at BSA.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2020-04-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable hours, positive environment, opportunity for professional growth, paid trainings and meetings, great benefits, convinient location to travel by bus and really making a positive difference for our inner city kids. We promote a Home Away From Home environment.

    Cons

    It's hard to call out because our job is in demand. Being a Teacher is essential to the field so we Teachers have to go to work. So it can be difficult to Call Out or be late.

    Brightside Academy2020-04-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for Brightside for 2 years. Good camaraderie among coworkers. Everyone works together. Most employees have CDA. Or higher.I Company has IRA, health, Union, paid holidays. I would recommend Brightside to anyone. Good place to improve your profession at any level.

    Cons

    Communication between management and parents could improve.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2020-04-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Administration"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to work with children who you will love and team members who turn into family

    Cons

    Do away with the negative reinforcement!

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2020-04-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Working at BSA"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During this pandemic we are still being paid. Trainings are provided to help with areas of growth.

    Cons

    Pay does not match the work that has to be done. Support is needed in some areas. Low on staff.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2020-04-28
Found 156 reviews