Check City Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Check City Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Check City CEO Todd Rawle (no image)
Todd Rawle
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "My store manager also treats the other tellers really bad as well(in 5 reviews)

  • "Too many long shifts with NO breaks(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Check City full-time

    Pros

    good management and fun events

    Cons

    no part time , not much cons

    Check City2019-08-10
  2. "decent pay, not great hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Check City full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay, good incentives, great training

    Cons

    The schedule is ever changing and its hard to find work life balance

    Advice to Management

    spend more time with employees

    Check City2019-08-08
  3. "Miserable Liars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advanced Teller in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Check City full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They'll hire anybody that can pass a background check. They never drug screen and look the other way when employees come to work high and take breaks to get high in their cars. This is the place for you if you're a stoner.

    Cons

    They make a lot of promises to get you in the door but once you're hired, everything changes. The only employees that make decent money are the district managers and up. They expect way too much out of you for low pay and crap benefits. High turn-over rates because you are set up for failure at the very beginning.

    Advice to Management

    Get some integrity.

    Check City2019-08-16
  4. "eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Check City full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun co workers bnot much else

    Cons

    errors are punished with your paycheck, sstand all day

    Check City2019-06-13
  5. "Good as a starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Check City full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free lunch Fridays, awesome Christmas parties..Opportunities to become management..

    Cons

    My biggest problem is that they don't ever seem to pay enough. You could be speaking 5 languages and they still wouldn't pay you a fair salary. The only way to make more is to be a manager or assistant manager, but by then I'm sure that they still won't pay enough. They have incentives every now and then, but the incentives are just too low. For a company that makes so much money, you would think they would... compensate the employees better, especially in a company where there are the worst type of customers. Schedules too are a nightmare as they are never fixed, but always changing every week.

    Show More
    Check City2019-06-12
  6. "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Check City full-time

    Pros

    Easy job. Free lunch Friday. Room for growth.

    Cons

    Organization. I just was not a good fit.

    Check City2019-05-18
  7. "Good company to work for but expect too much!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Teller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Check City full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Christmas Party Pay for lunches on Fridays

    Cons

    Wages are a bit low. Expect to do many tasks. Being a check casher, tax preparer, WU Agent, Closing out loans.

    Check City2019-02-04
  8. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Check City full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overtime , co workers, grave or day shift available

    Cons

    Management , flexibility , will have you commute 30 minutes away

    Check City2019-01-11
  9. "Worst job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Check City full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pro's to working here

    Cons

    In the year that I've worked here I had one lunch break. I don't know how they haven't been sued yet. I'm lucky if I get a 10 minute break. My store manager also treats the other tellers really bad as well.

    Check City2019-01-29
  10. "Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Check City full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only pro I can think of is that there was plenty of overtime, oh, and there were excellent health benefits.

    Cons

    Where do I start? There was not enough staff for the number of stores in the district. we had to work different stores all the time. It was a regular occurrence to work 13 hours without a break, because some one would have to drive from a different store to give you a break. The excellent benefits, they only count if you can actually get the time off to use them. You wouldn't know if you were going to get your time... off approved until the week that that schedule came out, even if you were asking for actual vacation time. Also, the district manager (the one i turned in for embezzlement a year before i quit) was finally arrested and pulled out of the store she was sitting in last year. 4 years after I reported her.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your people right. We were willing to kill ourselves working for you, if we had been given any little bit of respect. you lost way to many employees because you wouldn't listen to how bad we were being treated. The culture in our district was so toxic, and you pretty much just ignored the complaints.

    Check City2019-01-26
Found 84 reviews