Chipotle Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9,981 of over 10,132 reviews

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Chipotle CEO Brian Niccol (no image)
Brian Niccol
1,721 Ratings
Pros
  • "free food even when youre not working(in 1529 reviews)

  • "a free meal with your lunch break(in 780 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can be too fast paced for some people(in 299 reviews)

  • "Long hours and days depending on shift(in 292 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      🤷🏻‍♂️

      Oct 23, 2020 - Crew Member/Grill Cook in Hawai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, just run the grill

      Cons

      You cook for 7 hours straight. Bad scheduling

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Apr 23, 2021 - Software Engineer in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work environment Work culture Good career Friendly environment Helpful team leads

      Cons

      Little work load unable to manage

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good

      Apr 3, 2020 - Manager in Chennai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Job it was cool

      Cons

      Had some language problems there

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Exploitative Practices, Good Habits

      Jul 23, 2021 - Front of House Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Chipotle has high standards for food, and is willing to train people to be successful in the food industry. Some restaurants are so serious about it, they will only hire workers who say they want to open their own restaurant some day. Free shift meals help offset the low pay. Easy transfer process, once trained. Tuition reimbursement.

      Cons

      Chipotle is allotted around $1.50 to spread across the ENTIRE staff in bi-annual raises, meaning hourly workers receive a minimum of 5 extra cents per hour after six months of work, max 25 cents. The corporate structure encourages higher ups to send brutally tight expectations down to stores with no consideration for workers. Employees have historically sued for abusive working conditions and unethical time theft from the company itself.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      crew member salary

      Jul 25, 2021 - Crew Member in Lima, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good starting salary for a college student in 2017. Everyone was very family oriented. Some drama per usual when a bunch of young kids are working together. You get free meals though!

      Cons

      I got sick of the food after working there for 6 months. It took me awhile to want to eat chipotle on my own again. You also have to get there to open around 7am to prep before the restaurant opens at 11 am.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      First Job?

      Jul 13, 2021 - Team Member in Rockville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule, great co-workers and free meals on the day of your shift. If not, it's 50% off. I'm paying my way through college so when my classes became more demanding, I was able to have less hours in my schedule so I went from full-time to part-time. I know I can also add more hours if I asked without much problem but I know that's not the case for every Chipotle. I've worked at my Chipotle location for over two years now and I think this is great for someone's first job or a student trying to find work to help pay for classes.

      Cons

      Like every food service industry, it's pretty exhausting. My lower back would ache and feet at the end of every shift, but that's pretty much it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company with Great Mission but typical corporate environment

      Jul 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great mission statement and purpose. You feel good about working there because of food with integrity. Benefits are strong. Compensation is decent but can improve.

      Cons

      No flexibility in working from home. Strong office only culture. Very hierarchical environment. People don’t take you seriously if you’re a more junior employee. People take their image very seriously. Lots of brown nosing to c-suite officers. There has also been a lot of turnover over the last year even though people started not too long ago. Pay raises are minimal despite company growth. Expect 1-2% raises on average. Executives always talk about how much the company is growing but is not reflective come merit season.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Part Time College Student

      Jul 28, 2021 - Chipotle Crew Member in Lake View, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, paid lunch breaks, great benefits, great location, super clean

      Cons

      Manager issues, scheduling was a problem, standing for the entire shift

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible

      Jul 27, 2021 - Crew Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good food, free food + 50% discount. all crew members were fun to work with but the work itself was not great, great conversations with coworkers during slower hours

      Cons

      Cleaning the grill with a mask during covid was a low point for sure. also constantly understaffed, as well as way too many tasks for closing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Promising Career

      Jul 22, 2021 - Chipotle Crew Member in Fishkill, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not only is their food great, but the food policy for employees is great too. Free meal on shift, and 50% discount once daily. Flexible scheduling. The energetic environment at the store I worked at.

      Cons

      They shouldn't be throwing so much food away. :) Especially the rice. Wtf

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 9,981 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Chipotle Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Chipotle? Share Your Experiences

    Chipotle logo
    or