Citadel Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Citadel Founder and Chief Executive Officer Ken Griffin
Ken Griffin
167 Ratings
Pros
  • "You are surrounded by smart people with different expertise and are constantly challenged by different projects(in 38 reviews)

  • "Fast-paced company with a huge investment in technology(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Back Office Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Citadel full-time

    Pros

    Career Growth, Challenging work environment and compensation

    Cons

    There is no negative thing I could think about

    Citadel2019-08-20
  2. "Good place to develop leadership skills"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at Citadel

    Pros

    1. Personal Growth - The culture enforces leadership skills and personal growth. Depending on whether you want personal growth or prefer to stick to your comfort zone, you will either like it or feel it is not a good fit. 2. Compensation

    Cons

    Vertical career growth is difficult since the organization is relatively flat. So if you are looking for a title, this is not the place to be.

    Citadel2014-12-28
  3. "tough but fair"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citadel full-time

    Pros

    Pay is very good relative to rest of Chicago.

    Cons

    Expectations are high and internal clients are very demanding.

    Citadel2020-06-03
  4. "Financial Analyst"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY

    I have been working at Citadel full-time

    Pros

    I liked that job most of the time

    Cons

    It was pretty stressful sometimes

    Citadel2020-05-16
  5. "Interesting place"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at Citadel part-time

    Pros

    Active team Good location A lot of work to do

    Cons

    Bad management Misunderstanding of companies future

    Citadel2020-05-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Difficult mgmt culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Treasury Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free lunch, very smart people, peers are typically great to work with

    Cons

    The pressure from up top is intense to say politely. You will never get a thank you for doing stellar work.

    Citadel2020-05-20
  7. "Competitive culture, fast paced, well managed"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    well managed, free food and good benefits

    Cons

    time demanding and sometimes highly stressful

    Continue reading
    Citadel2020-05-07
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart and helpful colleagues. Management with vision and determination. Fast-paced environment that allows you to see the impact of work very quickly and being recognized and rewarded for it. Lots of learning opportunities and responsibilities, even at the junior levels. Catered food. Company has been more engaging with both employees and the community over the years through regular town halls and after-hour events. The responses to COVID-19, both in the US and abroad, have been swift and supportive. Lots of testing, planning and provision of resources made WFH much easier and more productive.

    Cons

    A few things that are more of a culture issue in the finance industry that can turn software engineers off: somewhat long hours, a bit hard to raise a family (company policy has improved but still lagging behind some competitors), opaque and unbalanced compensation scheme.

    Continue reading
    Citadel2020-04-19
  9. "Good culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with most smart people in different fields

    Cons

    High working pressure and working hours

    Citadel2020-04-25
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Soul crushing"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good technology. Some great investors.

    Cons

    Awful culture. Little diversity. Very high turnover.

    Continue reading
    Citadel2020-05-26
Found 264 reviews