Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Co-op Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 907 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
191 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and not much pressure from work force(in 52 reviews)

  • "Nice customers and staff discount(in 30 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RND Head in Udaipur, Rajasthan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New experience in new company

    Cons

    Not a famous employer...need to work on creating market value

    Advice to Management

    In management only

    Co-op2019-03-30
  2. "good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op

    Pros

    One can develop skills further Great brand image

    Cons

    Not so great Store management Salary

    Co-op2017-06-20

    Co-op Response

    June 26, 2017

    Thanks for your feedback. ^Sophie

  3. "jr officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Officer in Hubli

    I have been working at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    I am Working in Suco Bank ltd it's co-operative Bank It has good working environment

    Cons

    1) Less salary 2) High working hours (10 am to 7:30 pm) 3) No progress in salary & position

    Co-op2016-03-25
  4. "Great team with great people. nice customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and great team

    Cons

    Nothing but pay is lower than other supermarkets

    Co-op2019-08-23
  5. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CTM 

    I have been working at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Opportunities for progression and to learn

    Cons

    Short 20 minute breaks for an 8 hour shift

    Co-op2019-08-22

    Co-op Response

    August 23, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback - it's great to hear that you would recommend us. We advise that you speak with your manager about break times as this is not the correct time. Our HR team would also be happy to help: 0330 606 1001

  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Team Member in Kentish Town, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    God place to work they value their employees

    Cons

    The working hours are awkward especially if you’re doing night shifts.

    Co-op2019-08-22

    Co-op Response

    August 23, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review, we are glad you felt valued during your time with us.

  7. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Bellshill, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good working environment 24 hours

    Cons

    Long hours stressful pressure

    Co-op2019-08-19

    Co-op Response

    August 23, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback, it's lovely to hear that you would recommend us. We would always advise speaking to your manager about shift arrangments and any pressure you are facing.

  8. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - People Advisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, lots of opportunities to develop yourself.

    Cons

    There can be an attitude of needing to “do your time” in a role in order to progress.

    Co-op2019-08-19

    Co-op Response

    August 23, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review, it's great to hear you are enjoying our culture.

  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optimization Delivery Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and place to work

    Cons

    Big organisation, ability to manage change is slow

    Co-op2019-08-16

    Co-op Response

    August 23, 2019

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review - we appreciate your feedback.

  10. "Challenging but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career progression up to Store Manager Level, further than that becomes challenging due to lack of opportunities if you're not located in the Manchester area. Salary can be good if you're coming in from an external retailer. The CEO leadership cannot be faulted.

    Cons

    Like all retailers the hours in store are getting tighter. Can feel less and less like a manager nowadays as you'll be shop floor filling at least 90% of the time. Some struggle to manage a team in that environment.

    Advice to Management

    Although we understand the requirement to strip hours from the business some of the "efficiencies" introduced to counter act this are more time consuming than before. Listen to the team on the front line more.

    Co-op2019-08-14

    Co-op Response

    August 16, 2019

    Thanks very much for your review. We are always looking to make lives easier for our store colleagues and all of your comments are being fed back to the business. We hope that the new apps and technology we have introduced in-store will help to give time back to our colleagues.

Found 907 reviews