DataSift Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

DataSift Reviews

Updated 20 Apr 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
63%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
DataSift Chief Executive Officer Tim Barker (no image)
Tim Barker
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "DataSift Thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DataSift full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Exec team and a fun space

    Cons

    Made some mistakes in the past that have hurt the business

    Advice to Management

    Continue to communicate with the team!

    DataSift2017-04-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Ex employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DataSift full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and work environment.

    Cons

    Multiple RIFs have affected morale.

    DataSift2016-12-19
  3. "Loved it, but enough is enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DataSift full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Made a lot of friends within the team. Would love to work with any of them again in the future - Great opportunity to learn about developing and deploying distributed systems - Free food/snacks means that people socialise at lunchtimes etc

    Cons

    - Zero career progression options - Stagnating product unless you're lucky enough to be chosen to spearhead the latest idea. Everyone else spends their time changing configuration files or fixing flaky tests for months on end - Most people have no faith in upper management. The best they hope for is that management keeps out of their way - Any grass-roots initiatives are "supported" but no time is allocated to them, meaning they die as fast as they start

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have to keep your existing staff somehow. People are leaving not because they want to leave, but because they see no other choice. Encourage them to work to make the platform more efficient and stable. Compensate them with cash, not options (which are widely believed to be useless). When people are getting several recruiter emails a week paying 20-30% more (and you have an amazing team, so believe me when I say that they are) it's only a matter of time until they give in and leave. The people are what is keeping people there at the moment. Encourage professional development and realise that some flexibility from the company with be reciprocated ten-fold from those that choose to develop themselves outside of the office and sometimes need a little support (mostly time, sometimes financially [PS: They wouldn't need financial support if the aim wasn't to pay everyone as little as possible]). In summary: Invest in people. You have an amazing team that will go above and beyond for the company. However, they don't see anything in return from the company for anything but turning up and sitting in their chair. Ask them what they think, how they would change things, if they'd like to get involved in orchestrating that change. People want to help, but they just don't feel empowered to do so.

    Show More
    DataSift2016-09-29
  4. "Limited ability to execute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Crowthorne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DataSift full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In Tim Barker, DataSift have an enigmatic and effective CEO. Whilst I feel that his installment (some time ago now) may be a case of too little too late, I think he is DataSift's best chance of success as the company faces significant challenges making a real success of their SaaS products.

    Cons

    DataSift has no direct competitors in the market and without competition, there are no external forces that are really testing the internal assertion that the company is building a world class software platform. A few years ago, the things DataSift were working on were perhaps fairly novel. However, the processing pipelines DataSift are developing have largely been commoditized by big players through the likes of AWS and Google's big data and stream processing offerings. DataSift's core technology (SaaS data stream processor deployed to physical servers) now looks a little antiquated in the context of what can be accomplished through more modern managed offerings from the big cloud platform players. To compound this problem, DataSift's biggest asset is has become its biggest risk I think: The commercial relationships with their data partners (eg Facebook) mean that usage of modern, managed offerings for stream processing are simply off the table. This enforces the continued use of more traditional, labour intensive, approaches and means that a lot of time is spent building and maintaining infrastructure components rather than focusing on true value adding software. This is a shame and the effect here is that the company's ability to deliver features that will really drive revenue is being limited.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to modernise the software platform and focus on value adding software over infrastructure. I acknowledge that this could be difficult given DataSift's unique position that constrains it to on-prem deployments.

    DataSift2016-09-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Still feels like riding a rocket into space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Product Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DataSift full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have a little more than 1.5 years at DataSift under my belt now, and I must say that the company keeps surprising me in a very positive way. As with all start ups there are ups and downs, long hours of hard work solving incredible challenges, but hey - that is what I signed up for, so what's not to like. I am constantly learning new things. I have more fun in this job than I have ever had in school or professionally. Holiday's are a pain as they rob me from my ability to work - yes, a bit on the edge, gut it is actually super cool to work in a place where you catch yourself missing work while on holiday. Anyways, DataSift is on an incredible journey, paving new paths in the art of big data and data science.

    Show More

    Cons

    The teams are split across geography (San Francisco, New York and London), which makes decision making, communication and team work more challenging than a single location would.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Follow up and through with the latest strategy and keep communication strong. We are in for a ride!

    DataSift2016-01-07
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Arrogant Management, Poor Culture, Unclear Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Sales Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DataSift full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hot space, product works, agreement with Facebook

    Cons

    No front end on the product requires client to be a big data specialist and as such can't be used at the desk across the business easily. Horrible culture, arrogant managers, cast system mentality, overpriced, several unqualified managers that are flat out comical

    Advice to Management

    Get real with yourself; you got punched in the gut by Twitter and you had no fall back plan. You caught a break with the Facebook deal; but cleaning house on the ground floor doesn't change the fact that you've got more than one person in key positions who know next to nothing about the space you play in and the clients you serve; that's considering you know who you should be focused on; which is questionable.

    DataSift2016-01-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good company and interesting tech - poor senior leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Developer in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DataSift

    Pros

    Great place with some interesting and smart technical people. The concept of social media analytics as a service is interesting, though not as compelling. Fun place to work too. Lots of character within the office which made the hard work enjoyable. Fast moving environment.

    Cons

    Ex-gamer former CTO/CEO tried to run it like a gaming dev house. Crunching to meet artificial deadlines, little thanks for lots of work. Naive belief that C++ was the only game in town for 'high performance' though C++ modules were some of the least performing and least reliable aspects of the platform. Some technical people not as good as they believe, I've seen much better since leaving from much humbler people.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the fun aspect from gaming, ditch the crunching. Remain humble and hungry.

    DataSift2016-01-08
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Dodge this bullet ... failing start-up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DataSift full-time

    Pros

    Use to have good culture.... Use to have a good product (until Twitter removed their contract with the company)

    Cons

    I write this since I learned to protect people from joining. It once had a good product, but since the Twitter cut off and new product changes, the product is now a "nice to have" than a "need to have." Lack of trust, management, incredibly high turnover (10 people quit in 1 month alone). Last I heard 50% of the company was laid off in 2015. Serious money concerns, no innovation, broken product, and did I say lack of trust? No loyalty to employees, execs are in it for themselves. 3 CEO's in 1.5 years. Need I say more?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not sure anything can help this sinking ship.... Until then be good to your people, for example don't force them to hang out and drink and promote activities late at night or during peoples personal time. Be honest and transparent.

    DataSift2016-01-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fun and Challenging, lots of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DataSift full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the more interesting places I've worked. Lots of opportunity to carve out what you want to do - a young company without a lot of bureaucratic overhead. If you're looking for a place with rigid oversight, keep looking. If you're interested in somewhere you can explore new aspects of your career and learn quickly, then you'll be happy here. Work/life balance is taken seriously here. If something comes up that needs your time or attention away from work, HR and Management will support you. Managers are encouraged to keep employees from burning out, and there's always something fun going on (Friday socialization in the office, monthly outings, etc). Folks here are great about personal growth, training, and continuing education. If you want to learn something new, they'll support you. This is a big plus in my book.

    Show More

    Cons

    The challenge of working with teams in the UK, New York and San Francisco can mean some days are long, or sometimes meetings fall at inconvenient times. Communication is email-heavy, but that beats 7am conference calls. As the company grows, growing pains are natural. Some roles can feel like they need just a bit more than one person, but not quite two, and that's tough. Sometimes it feels like there's nothing to do, followed by a wave of far-too-much. But that's life in a startup, right?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture strong as we grow. Keep focusing on hiring the right people. Don't be afraid to take risks, but make sure we all know why you did.

    DataSift2015-06-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "An awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DataSift

    Pros

    Catered lunches Wed and Friday Great benefits Fun employees Yummy snacks Great work environment Work with smart/talented people Opportunity to work with different teams within the company

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    DataSift2015-04-04
Found 20 reviews