Datalink Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Datalink Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Datalink CEO Paul F. Lidsky
Paul F. Lidsky
38 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales people are unable to get the right conversations at the right levels(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Do not waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Huntersville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Datalink full-time

    Pros

    Carrot on a stick... They lead you on and don’t deliver...

    Cons

    I worked with Insight, a Datalink company, for over a month with regards to a direct hire position with ATD (American Tire Distributors). Started with a third party phone interview to validate the base level capabilities of my ability. Went through another phone interview, and then an in person interview. Great feedback from them all. Then I am told to keep checking Workday for the offer. Several calls, texts and emails saying the offer is in Workday (it is not, but the job I have now actually had their offer in Workday). Oh, wait, emails and voicemails saying for some reason ATD chose snail mail? Yeah, never arrived... These people are liars and will waste your time. Bridge burned with them (and they don’t know how far that goes in the Charlotte job market) but happy that I had an honest and respectable group that brought me in to their organization.

    Continue reading
    Datalink2018-02-20
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Sr Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Eden Prairie, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Datalink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people to work with - long term friendships formed.

    Cons

    Clique for top management - if you weren't part of it at other companies, you won't last long.

    Datalink2018-02-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Datalink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's five minutes from where I live

    Cons

    The department I work in has no idea what it is doing

    Continue reading
    Datalink2018-01-31
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Means to an End"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Datalink full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sales Commission Free Coffee 1hr lunch

    Cons

    Little Disorganized Could use better training course

    Continue reading
    Datalink2017-07-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Problem with sales team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Datalink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Datalink doesn't go cheap on anything; happy hours, client dinners, hotels and flights. Work culture is strong, the people are nice, you feel like a family.

    Cons

    The future of the company is very unstable, projects are constantly undersold, putting strain on the project team when they get to the client site. The company needs some re-evaluation and a new direction and way of operating.

    Continue reading
    Datalink2017-06-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Datalink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to work remote Almost complete autonomy Great atmosphere Employees feel appreciated

    Cons

    There really is none I can think of

    Continue reading
    Datalink2017-05-30
  7. "Accounts Payable Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Datalink full-time

    Pros

    Great Company, take great care of there employees

    Cons

    Moving to Arizona so accounting jobs in EP are ending

    Datalink2017-05-16
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Nice place to work if you enjoy being a scapegoat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Datalink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good compensation & benefits. Was fair regarding work/life balance.

    Cons

    Management is horrible as is their service sales methodology. PM's are brought into projects AFTER the pre-sales process and AFTER the SOW is written, and BEFORE any thought to professional resources are addressed. You are constantly fighting low budget and under-scoped projects and have to fight other projects for resources. The result is most commonly protracted or missed deadlines, failure to meet margins and quarterly revenue numbers, constant change orders, unhappy customers, and the blame being placed solely on you the PM.

    Continue reading
    Datalink2017-04-27
  9. Helpful (4)

    "IT Recruiter and Residency Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Recruiter in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Datalink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid place to work for senior IT network and infrastructure consultants. They just were acquired by Insight, so there is potential for growth with added resources.

    Cons

    Just acquired by Insight. Who knows how this will play out long term? Datalink already felt like a large, yet unstable, company with a disconnect between employees and management. They keep their employees in the dark. The merger with Insight may help with this long term, but at this point it has only made it worse. Insight made the acquisition so job security within Datalink's departments is non existent.

    Continue reading
    Datalink2017-04-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Datalink

    Pros

    Good people, strong team, family oriented.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is not enough transparency.

    Datalink2017-03-28
Found 74 reviews