DreamBox Learning Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

DreamBox Learning Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
DreamBox Learning CEO Jessie Woolley-Wilson (no image)
Jessie Woolley-Wilson
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "You can't help kids that you can't reach(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great company with Great mission to help kids learn math in a creative new way(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "No clear path to career growth, flat organization(in 4 reviews)

  • "Since it's a growing company, it can seem like there is always more that needs to be done than can be done(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A passionate & purpose-driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Experience Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great mission & values. very supportive colleagues. amazing leadership and executive team. industry-leading innovative technology.

    Cons

    I haven't found any downsides yet, honestly!

    Advice to Management

    Explore opportunities for remote employees to connect with the ET

    DreamBox Learning2019-08-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Cost of Living Increases"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company with Great mission to help kids learn math in a creative new way.

    Cons

    Cost of living has gone up every year in Raleigh and in Washington. This should be considered as you have full time employees who have to work a part time just to make ends meet. DreamBox will easily take over your life if you let it. Even after working 8-9 hours out of the day, events are planned after work hours with the expectation that you will attend. When are you supposed to have time to yourself? The... culture is that of a frat and they also play favorites here; and those are the people you see elevated in the company, those are the ones always afforded opportunities for growth when they arise. Positions are literally given to individuals without the opportunity of applying being opened to others.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    People would be more inclined to hang out with others and participate in activities if they were done during the day. (You have some teams that arrive here as early as 6 am, I can understand someone who came in that early not wanting to stay after hours to do something with their co workers/the company) but also for those who are working jobs outside of the full time one they have here, if the pay was better and... raises were given regularly, you would see more participation.

    Show More
    DreamBox Learning2019-06-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "An amazing company culture and inspirational leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time

    Pros

    DreamBox is a special place to work. People that work here are smart, motivated by a higher purpose and dedicated to the company mission and values. The technologies we work with are modern and super-interesting, and the culture is very low-ego and collaborative. The work is fulfilling at many levels and makes me want to go to work and give my best every day. Leadership is focused on bringing high value to the kids... and customers that we serve, and to the employees who do the work to make it happen. Decisions reflect that focus from the ground up.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing and evolving. People who can't evolve with the company can misinterpret changes as a lack of organization.

    Advice to Management

    Well done! Keep on pushing!

    DreamBox Learning2019-03-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A great company that encourages and supports innovative approaches and leadership within teams!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As an industry leader in adaptive technologies, Dreambox Learning does not disappoint! I have been in the Edtech industry for over a decade and have worked in various size organizations. Dreambox is an amazing company that welcomes opinions and wants to make an impact both internally and externally. The company clearly defines goals and helps each employee achieve them. They truly want their employees to succeed and... by doing so they welcome diverse opinions. I am empowered to serve my team and have the full support of the senior leadership team. I am here to help make an impact and honored to do the work everyday.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes overcomplicates and communication between departments can improve. I lean on the side of over communicating. Especially with newer employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to persevere, keep your head high, remove distraction -don't lose sight of the mission and the customer centric approach.

    DreamBox Learning2019-03-15
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Be Part of Something Special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - You get what you put in to DreamBox Learning. Hard work and creative ideas are rewarded with recognition and monetary incentives. - An actual "open door" policy to the executive and leadership team. - Management and leadership capitalize on great ideas and scale them company wide with the right justification. - Excellent environment for self-starters and people who practice task ownership. If you need your... hand held and are remote this may not be for you. - Clear and generous comp plans. No interpreter needed. - Focused on investing in the right partnerships and product enhancements based on customer and employee feedback combined with a vision of what is needed next to help educators and students. - Amazing company culture and work/life balance. - Results oriented - Scaling company with plenty of opportunity for career growth in several pathways. -Internal team focused on professional and career growth of individuals in the company. - Company reacts and adapts quickly to customer needs. - Working with progressive minds in multiple departments who are all focused on innovating education. - Company processes are constantly being streamlined. - Best of breed technology and product. - Employees always have a clear vision of what the company is working on and how new product enhancements will benefit students, educators and administrators.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Office politics and cliques can drive talent away - Some departments are process oriented when they could be more customer-centric -

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in what has driven your growth - your employees. Listen to new hires on how to improve processes, what is needed to be more impactful, and best practices they bring from other companies. Continue to innovate internal practices to support a better customer and employee experience. Demand accountability from all departments and don't reward & celebrate mediocrity.

    DreamBox Learning2019-02-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people. Fun holiday traditions.

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth in skill development or salaries.

    DreamBox Learning2019-02-16

    DreamBox Learning Response

    March 18, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We agree that we have some pretty amazing people at DreamBox and tend to go all-out at holiday traditions; ) Hopefully, you were able to attend the recent compensation meeting where we discussed our new compensation philosophy. We are investing ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Toxic culture - enter at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent niche solution that works.

    Cons

    When a culture is so toxic it pushes out your best talent, changes need to be made. Unfortunately, the only 'changes' are greater protections for 'clicks' and awards for individuals who bully and maliciously attack coworkers. The only 'conflict resolution' process is to tattle to HR and file complaints over every little thing, whether it's true or not. The hyper-sensitivity of everyone complaining to management over... the tiniest things (particularly email communications) is insane and gets blown WAY out of context, with enormous amounts of effort wasted on tracking down the 'offender' and management berating them without even bothering to inquire about the supposed infraction. It's so you can't even breathe without offending someone and getting blindsided and thrashed by management. Sr. Leadership nurturing this behavior, and toxic culture, makes it an incredibly difficult place to work and feel like you are part of something other than turmoil. Although they claim supporting employees, the reality is quite the opposite. As long as there are legacy leaders in positions only because of their tenure, not their ability, who support 'high school-style' click mentality, and blindly support those they 'lead' without question, then this company will never be a 'destination company' for top tier EdTech sales or otherwise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually do something courageous, and in the interest of the company, take action against those you protect and who you know are poisoning the well.

    DreamBox Learning2019-03-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time

    Pros

    Company values and mission - Do well to do good!

    Cons

    none at this time to say

    DreamBox Learning2018-07-10

    DreamBox Learning Response

    March 18, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy to hear our values resonate with you and that you are helping us with our mission to change the way the world learns. We couldn't do it without you!

  9. Helpful (7)

    "Client Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Advocate 

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time

    Pros

    There are meetings sometimes where associates read out letters students have written to DreamBox. It makes your little heart swell to hear how these little kids really like math now. Some of the success stories are really touching, and I honestly believe in the companies mission and product.

    Cons

    There are no increases in pay. No cost of living increase, no bonuses, no incentives. Where other departments may be getting annual reviews, we get an annual check-in where tell our manager what our goals are for the next year. Goal is a loose term, because what they want to know is what new thing you are going to contribute to the team. Normally I am all for this kind of thing - I like to learn new things and it is... great if you want to get a promotion or if you want a raise. But there are no incentives for performance increases. Do you see the problem? The management of our team is also very... hands on. I would say that they micromanage, and it is confusing, nerve-wracking, and frustrating all at the same time. CS is responsible for quite a lot of things, and I personally think there should be a data management team of some kind. We are responsible for calls, emails, general support. But we are also responsible for cleaning up the ticketing database (which other teams also work in), updating notes on accounts for PD (on a daily basis), taking payments, importing and maintaining all customer data (which is a lot of data), maintaining the support site, hand-holding accounts through the entire back to school process. Many of us are assigned to specific accounts to streamline this process, and there is direct and continued contact with the account as if we were account managers (which we most certainly are not).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make duties of managers very clear - perhaps give them clear goals and outlines. Give cost of living increases. If there is no possibility of a raise via performance, then tone down the annual review.

    DreamBox Learning2018-05-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "True to a vision that matters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Or Above in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamBox Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Dedicated to maintaining a work environment that works. Unfriendly and unproductive folks are weeded out. Teamwork and competence are rewarded - Dedicated to a worthwhile mission. Nearly every important conversation gets brought back around to, "what's the best decision for educating kids?" - Idealistic without being unrealistic. Management is very clear that market share and a wide customer base is a critical... part of achieving the mission. You can't help kids that you can't reach. - Very casual and responsive to personal schedule issues. Working from home to handle a conflict, or shifting hours to cover family schedules, are common and accepted (within reason). Nobody is counting your work minutes - they want to see engagement, commitment and productivity. - Business is very strong. Despite the reluctance to add positions (see "cons"), there will be opportunities here based on growth and expansion for some time.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Company runs a bit lean. Open positions can stay open for a long time, and the company is slow to open new spots in the first place. So the workload can get heavy. (But, see above - willingness to accommodate schedules can help with that.)

    Advice to Management

    Mainly this: stay focused on what makes this work. Keep the mission in sight for setting long-term direction and making short-term decisions.

    DreamBox Learning2018-02-13
Found 65 reviews