Element K Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Element K Reviews

Updated Nov 2, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Element K CEO Chuck Moran (no image)
Chuck Moran
1 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Manager in Chennai
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Element K

    Pros

    Great company to work for and good teams across the globe. Extremely collaborative and enabling work culture

    Cons

    Good company till it got acquired by Skillsoft.

    Element K2015-07-01
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Executive 

    I worked at Element K

    Pros

    Good Company, good place to work

    Cons

    Nothing to mention about cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good works

    Element K2015-06-17
  3. "It was a good place to work and a good place to learn new stuff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructional Designer in Chennai

    I worked at Element K full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked there when the company was undergoing a transition - from a traditional company with traditional systems and processes, to a modern company. That was an exciting environment to learn new things. Very welcoming.

    Cons

    There was always this feeling at the back of your mind that you were automatically supposed to put work at the top of your priority, even if you were about to die.

    Element K2014-06-22
  4. "A dream company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Element K for less than a year

    Pros

    You will feel at home

    Cons

    Doesn't have a good cafeteria

    Element K2013-09-06
  5. "Great brand lost in the crowd in India"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Instructional Designer in Chennai
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Element K

    Pros

    Learning opportunities Casual and friendly atmosphere Talented people A lot of respect for your work

    Cons

    Absymmal pay (bad than a start -up KPO) Outdated tools and infrastructure

    Element K2011-08-30
  6. "Element K rocks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Element K

    Pros

    Best company I ever worked for.

    Cons

    Wished it still existed today.

    Element K2017-11-02
  7. "Submitted notice hours before Skillsoft takeover announcement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Rochester, NY
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Element K full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Good coworkers - Encouraged, or at least facilitated career progression including lateral moves - Decent location - Nice company events and parties

    Cons

    - Mediocre products (outdated due to lack of investment) - Mismanagement (e.g. differentiating factors lost most) - Drab office (not terrible, but nothing special) - Outdated equipment - Horrible HR personnel

    Element K2015-05-09
  8. "Element K was the best work-family I've ever known."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Element K full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people that I worked with at Element K are incredibly fun, honest, hardworking geniuses. People were creative, working together to offer the best in class online training options to corporate clients. I learned more from the people at Element K that I could have learned in 20 years of collage. The corporate and personal values were unparalleled.

    Cons

    Element K was located in Rochester, NY where the is never enough good weather. In good times, employees were hired at high wages, and longer term employees that were hired at lower salaries often were not compensated equally to new hires.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to the employees who make things happen. Value those that work hard and support them in their efforts to do things well for long term goals. Identify those who always try to find the easy way out and limit their influence/power.

    Element K2013-10-05
  9. "A casual and relaxing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Element K full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No dress code and casual atmosphere. Great people.

    Cons

    Production likely suffered from the laid back culture

    Advice to Management

    Don't sell the company....never mind

    Element K2013-06-07
  10. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructional Designer in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Element K full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart, hardworking, loyal employees Flexibility Great friendships Good tools and processes

    Cons

    Low salary Changing management Growth/advancement was slow

    Element K2013-02-11
Found 33 reviews