Exotel Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Exotel Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
33%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Exotel CEO Shivakumar Ganesan (no image)
Shivakumar Ganesan
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Most of the management are techies which helps in understanding(in 7 reviews)

  • "They provide free food since there are no hotels nearby(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hr team has introduced poorly thought out employee programs(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to learn and start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exotel full-time

    Pros

    Learning opportunities Wide breadth to work Smart engineers to learn and work with

    Cons

    Office space Too many meetings Dip in quality of engineers

    Continue reading
    Exotel2019-08-09
  2. "Happening place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exotel full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work timings. Good technology to work on.. company culture and values.. great bunch of people to work with

    Cons

    Congested office space.. nothing beyond that

    Exotel2019-12-07
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Diluting drive, still in an excellent space nevertheless."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDEII in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exotel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Senior management knows how to keep money in the bank. - Senior management wants to iterate and try better things always. - Complex and unforeseen tech and business issues in the space.

    Cons

    - 3 and a half years back, walking into the one-of-a-kind outstanding lake facing terrace, it felt the lunch table was full of 100 odd wannabe entrepreneurs. The passion in their respective work was palpable, a certain sense of urgency. The next set of employees that the same team hired tells a completely different picture. Ego clashes and need to micromanage set up boundaries and processes between teams leading to blame game and energy consuming politics-gossips. I felt this came from lack of recognition and celebrating ownership within company. The company never really made any attempt to identify and mentor leaders across teams so they build better independent high functioning teams. - Felt like the companies' strategic move towards being sales/business driven disrespected engineering, which had been company's competitive advantage along with operations. It's understandable for a profitable SaaS business to treat sales people their rockstars while engineering sustains the product. This didn't stand in this case as the engineering team is unlike any other SaaS set up. During my time, the companies business grew manifolds, but that never translated to anything for the engineering team. The company made only as much attempt to keep a sub-market pay for them, saying they're adhering to market research findings. This demotivated a lot of us who wanted to make a difference, but was shown no support or given no ownership. For me, like a lot of us in 20s didn't mind getting paid lesser than peers, but very soon there was no ownership to stay for either. As older folks decided to leave, company chose quantity over quality in engineering.

    Continue reading
    Exotel2019-11-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fool me once shame on you, fool me so many times shame on me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exotel full-time

    Pros

    This is the state of almost all the employees. We fall into the same excuse over and over again

    Cons

    I have been here for a while and have seen Exotel transform from a great place to a below average place. I have spoken to almost everyone in the management. After every conversation I will feel the issues are going to be fixed. But that was only foolish of me. There is no meritocracy anymore. Average people are hired and groomed. Then we have a lecture on how the company rates and rewards merit and the HR department is devising newer methods to reward merit. The HR team by itself is below average and they are framing a method to reward performance. Slowly people have started to realise that we are just repeatedly fooled and are leaving

    Continue reading
    Exotel2019-11-26
  5. "New employees are very self-glorifying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exotel full-time

    Pros

    The culture was good one year back.

    Cons

    The new employees wants the complete control handed over to them from day one. They are not interested in understanding the current company culture instead wants the existing employee to work as per their style. Please learn to respect the employees who have contributed a lot to the company then automatically you guys will get the same. Not sure with whom to discuss these issues. Even HR team is busy in pleasing people with fake attitude and passing of jobs with standard dialogue, I am not the right person.

    Continue reading
    Exotel2019-12-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Do not join this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exotel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - some good technologies to work on

    Cons

    - worst management - less pay compared industry standard - they make you work like donkey - if you don't like to live life on weekends then you can join this firm - unrealistic deadlines and expectations - partiality by managers - no added benefits

    Continue reading
    Exotel2019-12-07
  7. "Great place to start off with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exotel full-time

    Pros

    Open minded colleagues, good workspace environment.

    Cons

    Processes, JDs aren’t defined properly.

    Exotel2019-10-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Wrong hires"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exotel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Successful startup with good years in the past

    Cons

    No idea how to scale. Very bad hiring. Good employees leaving. And no clue how to solve any issue

    Continue reading
    Exotel2019-11-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "How Exotel is work place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exotel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exotel was the great start up. They have done really well. Good amount of problem they solved. Their was a time, they have good folks(only few of them remaing). Free food and snacks. They keep doing something to keep their employee happy

    Cons

    Too much policits, kills the enviorment. Most of Good people left the orgainzation. Few new folks joined in last 9 months from same organiation at higer level, they ruined the organization.

    Continue reading
    Exotel2019-09-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exotel full-time

    Pros

    ~ Scope for learning and career growth ~ Helpful colleagues ~ Great work life balance

    Cons

    ~ Career path needs to be defined better ~ Product needs to evolve faster

    Continue reading
    Exotel2019-08-27
Found 82 reviews