Experience Works Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Experience Works Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Sally Boofer
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Services to older workers in hard to serve communities(in 9 reviews)

  • "I liked making contact's with other non-profit programs(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "of Labor would support EW more than it does(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid Experience Works At All Cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Exploited Senior in Billings, MT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Experience Works full-time

      Pros

      A life learning night mare.

      Cons

      Many times you are placed in a receptionist or janitorial position with no means of advancement. Very humiliating for those truly wanting to get back into the workforce and have worked at higher levels with degrees. In addition, you are paid minimum wage

      Advice to Management

      Have your recruiters follow up, or stay in contact with their clients every 30 days.

      Experience Works2019-05-17
    • "Not classified as an "Employee" but a senior getting "Trained"."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Trainee in Billings, MT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Experience Works part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I get to work 28 hours per week at present, for minimum wage which helps with the out of pocket bill paying. I do get some computer learning basically on my own.

      Cons

      The "Training" as they claim :To help seniors work in jobs they like and are interested in and is beneficial" is a falsification. The "Training" in reality as they have actually emphasized, is to get you a job and show you how to get along with other employees and managers. This is done by putting us into "Host Agencies" where they tell us and the agency we are to be trained, where there is absolutely no training, just...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Follow what your description advertises and produce us Training, not usery for free work at host agencies. Get us some pay at decent wages, and help us get into schooling for work we can do.

      Experience Works2018-10-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Horrible place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Employment and Training Coordinator 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Experience Works full-time

      Pros

      The company helps train older workers in need of income

      Cons

      The national staff is incompetent and unethical. They demand the impossible and don't hear or bother to get information on how their decisions will or won't work in rural areas while they sit in their ivory towers. They do not understand that employees cannot work the horrendous long hours while getting continuous new directives from the various people who all have priorities they expect from the field.

      Advice to Management

      Develop an open communication with employees without reprisals. Cut office costs at the national level and start giving back to field staff. You took our offices, our phones, our vacations, our raises, and even our help with your recent decisions.

      Experience Works2018-05-17
    • "Recruiting training occupational training"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Experience Works full-time

      Pros

      Supportive environment, room for advancement

      Cons

      Noneverything that are enough to mention here.

      Experience Works2018-02-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Tired of the negativity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Experience Works full-time

      Pros

      Experience Works has helped thousands of individuals 55 years of age and older by empowering them to stretch themselves beyond what they thought they were capable of. We have learned to do more with less, and are still the experts in serving rural Americans.

      Cons

      I won't say the name(s) of the individuals who wreaked havoc, some of whom continue to do so - all I will say is, some of you would look very good in orange; and the other ones...get a life...you are affecting staff who need their jobs, and your negative energy whether you know it or not, is eating you alive. Shame on you. Move on and do something positive for the world.

      Advice to Management

      Don't read negative social media about EW. Keep going in the right direction. Learn to be small and mighty, and rebuild.

      Experience Works2017-08-03
    • "Employment & Training Coordinator (ETC)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Experience Works full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Services to older workers in hard to serve communities

      Cons

      Income to low for ETC

      Advice to Management

      Alignment of salary and positions to decrease the load to improve the placement goals and burn out of ETC

      Experience Works2017-07-24
    • "EW"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Office Administrator in Arlington, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Experience Works for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Best place in the world to work!

        Cons

        No cons, loved my job

        Experience Works2017-05-21
      • "Assistant to Executive Director"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant to the Director in Sherman, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Experience Works part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        This is a training program offered by the government to seniors to brush up on skills needed to get back in the workplace. There is really no work to it. It is primarily learning a new business practice. The pro is I love to learn new things.

        Cons

        The con is there is little money for undergoing this project.

        Advice to Management

        There needs to be more one on one training

        Experience Works2017-04-19
      • "Helping older citizens"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Experience Works full-time

          Pros

          Helped older citizens enroll in training program to improve or learn new skills in order to find employment.

          Cons

          Poor management at national office.

          Advice to Management

          Get things in order!

          Experience Works2017-04-01
        • Helpful (5)

          "Experience Works is a nonprofit whose focus is to get age 55+ back into the workforce"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Administrative Support in Searcy, AR
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I have been working at Experience Works part-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          You can if you are savvy convince your overworked supervisor at Experience Works to approach an other nonprofit not on its list of which you know your skills will be recognized and learn additional skills. Sometimes you can get hired at the place you have sought as a host agency (place of work).

          Cons

          Many times you are placed in a receptionist or janitorial position with no means of advancement. Very humiliating for those truly wanting to get back into the workforce and have worked at higher levels with degrees. In addition, you are paid minimum wage - which is fair if you were given opportunities at host agencies to further your skillsets but this doesn't happen very often. Look for a 20 hour work week at best.

          Advice to Management

          Experience Woks is not a government entity but it acts as one. It is bloated with bureaucratic red tape. This organization needs to be streamlined and many supervisors of said area employment offices desperately need more help in their office and more training across the board.

          Experience Works2017-02-27
        Found 57 reviews