Feral Interactive Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 23 reviews

1.9
26%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
Feral Interactive Managing Director David Stephen (no image)
David Stephen
15 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Some of the best people to work with in the industry

    Sep 6, 2021 - Customer Support Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Feral has been a been a real joy over the past 5 years. Working with my team and working with the other teams in the company was a great experience overall. From the first day I started everyone was always willing to help me with questions or problems, this in turn gave me the ability to help others in the company as well. I was able to take on other responsibilities as opportunities presented themselves within the company which in turn allowed me to develop new skills and improve existing ones. Working with the Support team was really great, the line manager is friendly, relaxed and makes working there really enjoyable. You can always ask if you are unsure about anything or have a problem. Working everyday with the commercial and design teams was also a joy as well. Their friendliness and helpfulness continued to be a source of great inspiration and knowledge over the years, I will miss them all.

    Cons

    Whilst my personal career goals were not met, I will never regret working there.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Trickle-down Toxicity

    Aug 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fellow colleagues and team members are helpful, likeable and virtuous people. Basic flexibility in setting your start, finish and lunch times.

    Cons

    If you enjoy or are looking for such benefits as: - A fair and actually competitive salary - A career plan and growth within your team - A receptive and forward thinking CEO - Healthy work environment which encourages creativity and discussion Then my advice to you is to look elsewhere, you will not find these at Feral. There's a lot more I could say, but it's all been said before in the previous reviews - the positive and negative ones. All previous reviews sum up the universal truth of working here, which is: your experience here, your pay and your career growth is all controlled by one factor - how much the CEO likes you. If you're a "yes man" I imagine you'll be able to coast along just fine here. If not, don't expect to hang around. It really cannot be overstated how actively hostile the CEO is to his own employees.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Just horrible

    Aug 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People are bonded by how terrible it is working there - You get to feel the relief of no longer working there when you leave

    Cons

    - Stressful workloads - Horrible CEO with active dislike for his employees - Extremely high turnover, which leads to constantly having to train new employees - Complete disregard for employee wellbeing (both physical and mental) - CEO hires people straight out of uni so they don't know that they deserve better treatment - Just a really horrible place to work

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good for graduates

    Jun 25, 2021 - Developer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots smart people there to work with

    Cons

    The salaries are very low

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Positive and happy years

    Jun 14, 2021 - QA Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked in what I love, with an amazing team of colleagues and leads, and I was always happy going to work. All my leads have always been very helpful and nice, and people in any other department were always ready to help if there was an area we didn't understand as well as them. Regardless of what I read here, I find Feral to be a positive place to work at. We get plenty of holidays (more years = more days) and the chance to use flexitime, a tool that help us shape our life out of the office a bit, and that can also help us get some more days off. I received help when struggling with my job tasks, and this resulted in me improving and being awarded with salary raises every year. I have seen QA members evolve into devs and designers, and although it sometimes might take some time, progress does happens in the company. The CEO was always a very nice and positive person to me, I haven't had any of the issues seen here, so be confident when applying to a position here, he is on a good person and I am sure you will like him and he will reward your future work!

    Cons

    Problem with progress is that these are big teams and available positions are not often present as in other companies, so progress might not happen as fast as desired. Of course, pay is a bit low and ideally it would be a bit higher, although Feral is a good way to start your way in the industry of video games. Don't expect huge salaries at the start tho. After reading some opinions here, it makes sense for the HR email not to be linked to the CEO.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Avoid at all costs

    Mar 22, 2021 - QA Technician in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are friendly and that’s about all.

    Cons

    It is just overall a very toxic working environment. I agree with all the 1 star reviews here. I never met anyone who is really happy working in this company.

    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A terrible place overall

    Mar 1, 2021 - Junior Game Designer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very talented teammates, especially in the developers department. A good place where to learn what not to do as an employer, and what to avoid in your future career.

    Cons

    No benefits whatsoever (fruit in the office cannot be considered a benfit, and unlimited soda cans are hardly a healthy thing to be proud of). No sick policy, if you get ill everything is at discretion of the company (which, as others suggested, is a synonym for the CEO), and sick pay is the UK statutory minimum. Job titles are meaningless and intentionally fuzzy, as is CEO opinion that they are useless. The result is that since no one knows exactly what theit title is, is difficult to compare with salaries of positions at other companies, and also it's easy for management to ask people to do tasks outside of their contractual position without recognising a change in the work relationship (no change of title, no salary reviews). Salary is very poor, QA is paid sensibly less than the real living wage, all other positions are paid way less than industry average. In the meantime, the CEO pays himself hundreds of thousands of pounds in dividends each year. Production strategy is non-existant, and the company structure is severely lacking and opaque, causing all sorts of problems in planning and development. Unsurprising high turnover, incouraged by management practices and lack of any kind of attempt from the company to entice people to stay. The managers never have your back, and they either bow to the CEO's will when dealing with issues or bereavements, or they are complicit. Long 40 hours week (breaks are not considered). QA+Devs are in a separate building than Production+Design. Art is moved about. Dev building is very cold (but QA room can get super hot due to bad ventilation) and Art office is in an Access Self Storage and has only 1 dedicated toilet for 20 people. Communication among workers is actively discouraged, and in the offices reigns a weird and awkward silence. If the silence is interrputed, managers actively shush you. No Christmas office closing period. End of year bonuses are "at company discretion", and they weren't paid the past year. Legal minimum of holidays. No name in the credits of published titles. Unpaid overtime. HR cannot do anything to address workers issue without the CEOs sign off, and there are no procedures in place for complaints. People have been fired after raising H&S issues, or just because the CEO didn't like them at a personal level. The CEO doesn't like people working from home, and forced people to get back to the office in unsafe times and conditions, at first without even due process, and reprimending people that voiced concerns. The CEO is in the HR mailing list. CEO doesn't let employees know the revenue rate of sold titles. If payment day is weekend, they pay on Monday, not the day before. Overall, the company is plagued by a culture of silence and repression, management unaccountability, and if it wasn't a tech company wouldn't be out of place in victorian London.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Avoid if possible

    Jan 12, 2021 - QA Technician in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people there are just a pleasure to work with

    Cons

    Low pay Unpaid overtime You need to do unpaid overtime to get a raise No sick pay Very little regard to the health of the employees in regards to covid

    11 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Wonderful people - poor managment - poor pay - bad work atmosphere

    Dec 10, 2020 - Automation Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    > No crunch time > Fruit and Drinks provided > Flexitime system with core hours of 10-4 (allows a lot of flexability) > Half days on flexi time > Half day holidays can be mixed with flexi time > Offers opitunitys to inexperianced workers

    Cons

    > 40 hour work week > One line manager for around 30 devs > Low pay for even high positions > CEO/Owner is HR > Very poor handling of the COVID-19 pandemic with little thought about staff including implementing safety gear after people were brought back into the office. > High stress work environment > Experience Devs leaving and being replaced by student devs > No paid over time and pay raises are often based around you doing over time > No real structure to salary reviews > Little diversity > All conversations over messaging apps > Often doing the same thing for days on end > No tolerance for mental health > No tolerance for physical health > Over worked departments > lastly, it is worth repeating, CEO/Owner is HR. As other people have said, if you do not understand why this is a problem just turn away.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good starter job for getting a foot in the games industry but not long term

    Oct 25, 2020 - QA Technician in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros include having the opportunity to work on AAA titles and the freedom to work independently and adjust your work hours via the flexitime system, and free fruit and soft drinks provided. That's all really, and all of these have cons as mentioned below.

    Cons

    The pay is very poor, at around £18k a year for new QA staff and few opportunities to request a raise, possibly resulting in the high turnover of staff that the company suffers. The opportunity to work on AAA games is quite exciting, but it's difficult to feel proud of the work you do because every effort is made to cut corners and the end result is unpolished games that are released months behind schedule. The office environment is very hushed and isolating. Talking is discouraged and all communication is performed via a chat system. Independent work is nice from time to time, but so is human interaction. The staff are plenty nice but even greetings are seldom exchanged and you can go whole days without talking to anyone. Flexitime also comes with its downsides. Despite the pros mentioned above, the flexitime system also seems like an excuse to have employees work 8 hours a day while excluding lunch from that time. Therefore, if you take an hour for lunch every day, you will effectively be working a 48h work week. Despite the resurgence of COVID in October of this year, every effort has been made to keep staff in the office rather than have those who can work from home do so.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Work at Feral Interactive? Share Your Experiences

Feral Interactive logo
or