Freestone Capital Management Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 24 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Freestone Capital Management Founder, Senior Partner Gary Furukawa (no image)
Gary Furukawa
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Holistic Wealth Advisory that Truly Puts its Clients and People First

    Nov 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since joining Freestone ~2 years ago I’ve had the opportunity to work with some amazingly capable people. As a company, our leadership team has worked diligently to find, hire, and retain some of the top quality talent in our space. Every day, you’re surrounded by people who are willing to work together and solve problems for our clients. Management also strongly encourages people to develop their own individual skill set through additional education and licensing. Freestone has worked hard to create a very friendly and engaging office environment through cross-team events and volunteer opportunities. If you want work for a company that has awesome investment opportunities for clients, develops its people internally and requires people to be the best version of themselves on a daily basis.. Freestone is the place to be! Other benefits include: - Free lunches - A generous benefits package - Company retreats - An awesome view every day from the 74th floor of the Columbia Tower

    Cons

    This is by no means a con, however, people looking to work at Freestone need to understand we have high expectations for the people we bring on board. If you’re looking for a 9-5 job, Freestone isn’t the place for you. It’s our responsibility to best serve our clients and sometimes that means getting in early and working late to get the job done.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A Place I Truly Enjoy Showing Up To Each Day

    Dec 18, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The People and Environment It is a real gift to work with people I genuinely enjoy, feel challenged by, and have a great time with while doing really good work for our clients. A nice side benefit is knowing I'm in for a few really good laughs with my colleagues on any given day. Teams across the firm often provide training opportunities on Investments, Taxes, etc. People genuinely seem to care about their colleagues learning more. Overall, I just feel supported by the people here and enjoy a great work/life balance! The Location and Office Space I really try to not take our office location for granted, especially the view! IT IS INCREDIBLE! Being located on the 74th floor provides the best views available in Seattle. The View Deck that people pay for is one floor below us. The food options downtown, when I choose to eat out, are incredible. The company recently installed electric standing for anyone who wanted one. These desks have really made a big difference in the way I feel each day (vs. sitting all the time). The gym in the building was recently remodeled and is excellent, especially considering it is only $15/month. Fun Annual company retreats are a ton of fun and a great place to have some additional fun and connection with my colleagues. Locations over the last 6 years have been: Kauai, Laguna Beach, Sun Valley, San Diego, and Suncadia. Holiday parties are really nice and a lot of fun. In addition to this, we've had a summer kickball event each year for the firm and many different team-specific events too (think paddle boarding, ax throwing, karaoke, ping pong at Spin Seattle, F-1 go kart racing, etc.) The Benefits Comp: Freestone is the first company I've worked for where compensation is actually market driven and supported based on Schwab's RIA benchmarking study with 12,000+ RIAs submitting their comp data for all positions. Previous places I have been at were more like "this is what we think..." rather than actually base comp on the high side of real market data. Free Lunches 4 different lunch options are paid for and provided by Freestone each day (Mon - Fri) - Salads, Sandwiches, Pizza, Thai, Fried Chicken, etc. There are always both meat and veggie options each day. Annual 401K match I've worked for a handful of different companies over my career (3 in Financial Services) and the annual 401K match is definitely the best I've had or heard of from other RIAs around. Profit Sharing How many RIAs actually do this for all of their employees?! I know the previous places I've worked didn't and unfortunately many RIAs don't as well. All employees received an identical amount in their 401K when certain thresholds are hit! Freestone LP Investments The LPs portion of our business provides significant value to our clients by giving them access to investments they might not otherwise have access to. When our clients have done really well, we have done really well too with yet another bonus opportunity to add to our total comp amount in a given year (and these have been very generous!) Summer Fridays Last summer was our first summer of doing this. The office was closed early each Friday so we could spend more time outdoors and with our friends & family. I was really surprised how much this meant to me once we began doing it. The 3 extra hours each Friday helped kick off each summer weekend in a really nice way. Volunteer Days Volunteer opportunities are offered and encouraged and in turn results in a day of extra PTO. This was a really nice addition a few years back.

    Cons

    Definitely not a place for those who just want to coast and not put forth a meaningful effort in doing good work for our clients, or for those who really don't want to advance in their career. Benefits overall are incredibly generous (market leaders in many categories for sure), but the medical and dental options are just average based on what I've seen and heard from others at different RIAs and financial services organizations - most specifically for those with spouses and/or children. Would love to see more improvements where possible in this area.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Platform To Serve Clients

    Jun 18, 2019 - Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I came to Freestone from a international investment bank because I no longer thought I could serve clients best interests. Freestone allows me to do this. The company provides; A clear corporate vision Differentiated investments Substantial support A client focused business model

    Cons

    Sometimes the company can "appear" too entrepreneurial to rank and file employees. This is demanding place. Consider joining only if you want to push yourself in your career.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great environment that pushes you to think outside the box to provide best-in-class service to clients

    Jan 25, 2019 - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freestone, as an organization, is relatively flat. You can see and interact with senior management on a daily basis. The firm provides the resources and flexibility you need to be successful. Management genuinely cares about the success of the next generation of leaders and creates a culture that challenges people to be the best they can.

    Cons

    As with many organizations, some technology is outdated but the firm is actively working on updating it across the board. This should be irrelevant in only a few months.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    An excellent place to learn, be challenged and make a real impact

    Aug 17, 2017 - Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Background: I worked at Freestone Capital Management full-time for three years as a member of the investment team and left to pursue a MBA Below are some of Freestone’s main Pros: - People: They have great people at all levels of the company. They are supportive of each other, fun, and extremely capable at their jobs. I would like to highlight the leadership of the Accounting and Investment teams – those two individuals are exceptional. Extremely knowledgeable, strong role models, direct communicators, very demanding and trustworthy. They push their teams to learn, take ownership of their work and always keep improving. - Investment Team: They have developed a very strong team, integrated by smart, curious and driven individuals – working alongside them was definitely the highlight of my time at Freestone. - Investment Strategies: They have an expertise on a wide range of investment strategies and are not afraid to explore something new. The diversity of strategies and learning about them made it an exciting place to work. - Perks: o They placed the junior investment team in a shared space, facilitating learning about different projects and promoting strong team work dynamics o Freestone sponsors an annual company retreat, which I think it is incredibly generous, and is a great opportunity to decompress, get to know people in a different setting and have a great time o AMAZING VIEWS o Generous retirement account match

    Cons

    None at the time I left

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A boutique investment Firm who puts the clients and employees first.

    May 9, 2016 - Client Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best group of talented individuals who work together as a team to ensure our clients receive the ultimate investment and planning advice. I feel empowered as an employee to create my own inspired processes that then likely become implemented across the Firm as management values each of our opinions and suggestions. The Sr. Financial Advisers enjoy mentoring the Jr. Financial Advisers. Opportunities to advance your career in the pathway you choose (there are many of them). A management team who helps you realize your best potential and will mentor/help you get there. Other added bonuses...free lunch delivered to our kitchen everyday, casual Friday's, unmatched views of our wonderful city, a convenient Starbucks in our building (with friendly staff!), office WiFi, great health and benefits package, and a genuine understanding of the need for employee flexibility when the unexpected happen. We have fun here!!

    Cons

    The Columbia Tower parking garage is out of tenant parking spaces, but there are plenty of alternative methods of parking and commuting to and from the office! The elevators to the 74th floor take a total of 4 minutes and my ears pop every time, but the view is unmatched and your ears quickly adjust.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Small firm flexibility with big firm capabilities

    Sep 22, 2015 - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am grateful and proud to work at Freestone, and feel defensive about some of the reviews. I was drawn initially to the firm because they are delivering investment solutions clients can't get access to elsewhere. The advisors really care about their clients and the founder prides himself on being ethical in a way most people in this industry is not. Aligning myself to that in this industry is extremely important to me. Personally, I recently had a health issue that left me struggling for over six months. They were gracious and provided me a lot of compassionate flexibility. The teams pulled together to cover for me and as I returned, offered me a flexible work schedule while I get back on my feet. They also met with me to determine "the highest and best use of my time", giving consideration to my career goals in a way most big firms cannot. I am a working mother with a need for flexibility during this life stage. It's something they recognize, appreciate, and have been willing to work around.

    Cons

    Over the last few years, there has been a tremendous amount of turnover. Some of it was hard to get through, and has left morale fragile. Aside from heartbreaking departures, the firm has simultaneously moved, changed IT systems, and reorganized everything. The culture has shifted tremendously in the last two years, which has its pros and cons.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Growing Company who Supports Employees

    Jun 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been at Freestone for a few years and am very grateful for the opportunities this company has provided me. Freestone is a place where you can make your own future based on your goals and priorities. Management supports higher and continuing education, including any securities licensing, CFP or CFA designations. If you are motivated and looking to advance your career within a growing organization, it is easy to do well at Freestone. Management is always looking to employees for new ideas and suggestions, so it is easy to be heard and feel appreciated. The best part about Freestone is the people. We have a very innovative and open culture, and I truly enjoy spending time with my co-workers. We have a “work hard, play hard” mentality and are definitely rewarded for our efforts.

    Cons

    Nothing to report at this time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Growing company!

    Aug 7, 2015 - Washington in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A+ management team, path development, growth oriented, free lunch, excellent benefit package, generous 401K match, young employees, clients come first. Freestone is an exciting place to work. As a young employee there is path development and massive opportunity to learn and grow in your career. Every employee is critical to the business and we thrive on wearing many hats. The management team is focused on hiring and retaining talent that care about the business and putting the client first. With any fast growing company, there can be long hours and stress but the effort rarely goes unnoticed. The management team does a wonderful job rewarding employees that go the extra mile to make sure our clients receive exceptional client service.

    Cons

    Long hours, intense, stressful at times.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Long-Time Employee Perspective

    Jun 28, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been with Freestone since its inception and have seen a lot of changes over time - both good and bad. I am very impressed with the current direction and focus of the company and the executive management team. The firm is focusing on sustainable, organic growth and is being innovative and creative in its approach to wealth management. The quality of the firm is reflected in the energy, drive and dedication of its employees which has never been better.

    Cons

    Being nimble and flexible in our investment approach and responding to often unpredictable investment opportunities can result in frenetic activity and frequent long days/weekends. This is a high expectations/results-oriented firm that is not suitable all employee types.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Work at Freestone Capital Management? Share Your Experiences

Freestone Capital Management logo
or