Freestone Capital Management Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Freestone Capital Management Reviews

Updated 18 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Freestone Capital Management Founder, Senior Partner Gary Furukawa (no image)
Gary Furukawa
10 Ratings
  1. "A Place I Truly Enjoy Showing Up To Each Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freestone Capital Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The People and Environment It is a real gift to work with people I genuinely enjoy, feel challenged by, and have a great time with while doing really good work for our clients. A nice side benefit is knowing I'm in for a few really good laughs with my colleagues on any given day. Teams across the firm often provide training opportunities on Investments, Taxes, etc. People genuinely seem to care about their colleagues learning more. Overall, I just feel supported by the people here and enjoy a great work/life balance! The Location and Office Space I really try to not take our office location for granted, especially the view! IT IS INCREDIBLE! Being located on the 74th floor provides the best views available in Seattle. The View Deck that people pay for is one floor below us. The food options downtown, when I choose to eat out, are incredible. The company recently installed electric standing for anyone who wanted one. These desks have really made a big difference in the way I feel each day (vs. sitting all the time). The gym in the building was recently remodeled and is excellent, especially considering it is only $15/month. Fun Annual company retreats are a ton of fun and a great place to have some additional fun and connection with my colleagues. Locations over the last 6 years have been: Kauai, Laguna Beach, Sun Valley, San Diego, and Suncadia. Holiday parties are really nice and a lot of fun. In addition to this, we've had a summer kickball event each year for the firm and many different team-specific events too (think paddle boarding, ax throwing, karaoke, ping pong at Spin Seattle, F-1 go kart racing, etc.) The Benefits Comp: Freestone is the first company I've worked for where compensation is actually market driven and supported based on Schwab's RIA benchmarking study with 12,000+ RIAs submitting their comp data for all positions. Previous places I have been at were more like "this is what we think..." rather than actually base comp on the high side of real market data. Free Lunches 4 different lunch options are paid for and provided by Freestone each day (Mon - Fri) - Salads, Sandwiches, Pizza, Thai, Fried Chicken, etc. There are always both meat and veggie options each day. Annual 401K match I've worked for a handful of different companies over my career (3 in Financial Services) and the annual 401K match is definitely the best I've had or heard of from other RIAs around. Profit Sharing How many RIAs actually do this for all of their employees?! I know the previous places I've worked didn't and unfortunately many RIAs don't as well. All employees received an identical amount in their 401K when certain thresholds are hit! Freestone LP Investments The LPs portion of our business provides significant value to our clients by giving them access to investments they might not otherwise have access to. When our clients have done really well, we have done really well too with yet another bonus opportunity to add to our total comp amount in a given year (and these have been very generous!) Summer Fridays Last summer was our first summer of doing this. The office was closed early each Friday so we could spend more time outdoors and with our friends & family. I was really surprised how much this meant to me once we began doing it. The 3 extra hours each Friday helped kick off each summer weekend in a really nice way. Volunteer Days Volunteer opportunities are offered and encouraged and in turn results in a day of extra PTO. This was a really nice addition a few years back.

    Cons

    Definitely not a place for those who just want to coast and not put forth a meaningful effort in doing good work for our clients, or for those who really don't want to advance in their career. Benefits overall are incredibly generous (market leaders in many categories for sure), but the medical and dental options are just average based on what I've seen and heard from others at different RIAs and financial services organizations - most specifically for those with spouses and/or children. Would love to see more improvements where possible in this area.

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2019-12-18
  2. "Great Platform To Serve Clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freestone Capital Management full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I came to Freestone from a international investment bank because I no longer thought I could serve clients best interests. Freestone allows me to do this. The company provides; A clear corporate vision Differentiated investments Substantial support A client focused business model

    Cons

    Sometimes the company can "appear" too entrepreneurial to rank and file employees. This is demanding place. Consider joining only if you want to push yourself in your career.

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2019-06-18
  3. "Great environment that pushes you to think outside the box to provide best-in-class service to clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freestone Capital Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freestone, as an organization, is relatively flat. You can see and interact with senior management on a daily basis. The firm provides the resources and flexibility you need to be successful. Management genuinely cares about the success of the next generation of leaders and creates a culture that challenges people to be the best they can.

    Cons

    As with many organizations, some technology is outdated but the firm is actively working on updating it across the board. This should be irrelevant in only a few months.

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2019-01-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Holistic Wealth Advisory that Truly Puts its Clients and People First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freestone Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since joining Freestone ~2 years ago I’ve had the opportunity to work with some amazingly capable people. As a company, our leadership team has worked diligently to find, hire, and retain some of the top quality talent in our space. Every day, you’re surrounded by people who are willing to work together and solve problems for our clients. Management also strongly encourages people to develop their own individual skill set through additional education and licensing. Freestone has worked hard to create a very friendly and engaging office environment through cross-team events and volunteer opportunities. If you want work for a company that has awesome investment opportunities for clients, develops its people internally and requires people to be the best version of themselves on a daily basis.. Freestone is the place to be! Other benefits include: - Free lunches - A generous benefits package - Company retreats - An awesome view every day from the 74th floor of the Columbia Tower

    Cons

    This is by no means a con, however, people looking to work at Freestone need to understand we have high expectations for the people we bring on board. If you’re looking for a 9-5 job, Freestone isn’t the place for you. It’s our responsibility to best serve our clients and sometimes that means getting in early and working late to get the job done.

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2018-11-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Work here at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freestone Capital Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunches and the view is great.

    Cons

    If you work here, have a backup plan as the company is known for laying people off for no justifiable reason. One employee was laid off for a $4 mischarge! Also, there is no clear expectation as to how many hours/day to work. The company expects you to work 12 hours/day for 8 hours/day pay.

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2017-11-22

    Freestone Capital Management Response

    August 16, 2018Founder

    We have high expectations for our people and we do not retain employees who can't perform at a very high level. Freestone isn't a great fit for everyone. Be prepared to work hard, put the client's needs first and learn from the best in the industry.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "An excellent place to learn, be challenged and make a real impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freestone Capital Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Background: I worked at Freestone Capital Management full-time for three years as a member of the investment team and left to pursue a MBA Below are some of Freestone’s main Pros: - People: They have great people at all levels of the company. They are supportive of each other, fun, and extremely capable at their jobs. I would like to highlight the leadership of the Accounting and Investment teams – those two individuals are exceptional. Extremely knowledgeable, strong role models, direct communicators, very demanding and trustworthy. They push their teams to learn, take ownership of their work and always keep improving. - Investment Team: They have developed a very strong team, integrated by smart, curious and driven individuals – working alongside them was definitely the highlight of my time at Freestone. - Investment Strategies: They have an expertise on a wide range of investment strategies and are not afraid to explore something new. The diversity of strategies and learning about them made it an exciting place to work. - Perks: o They placed the junior investment team in a shared space, facilitating learning about different projects and promoting strong team work dynamics o Freestone sponsors an annual company retreat, which I think it is incredibly generous, and is a great opportunity to decompress, get to know people in a different setting and have a great time o AMAZING VIEWS o Generous retirement account match

    Cons

    None at the time I left

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2017-08-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Company who Supports Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freestone Capital Management full-time

    Pros

    I have been at Freestone for a few years and am very grateful for the opportunities this company has provided me. Freestone is a place where you can make your own future based on your goals and priorities. Management supports higher and continuing education, including any securities licensing, CFP or CFA designations. If you are motivated and looking to advance your career within a growing organization, it is easy to do well at Freestone. Management is always looking to employees for new ideas and suggestions, so it is easy to be heard and feel appreciated. The best part about Freestone is the people. We have a very innovative and open culture, and I truly enjoy spending time with my co-workers. We have a “work hard, play hard” mentality and are definitely rewarded for our efforts.

    Cons

    Nothing to report at this time.

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2017-06-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A Client Advisor's Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Advisor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Freestone Capital Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined Freestone a few years ago for the opportunity to be a client advisor to manage relationships with high net worth individuals and their families. My experience to date has had its own high and lows, but I can honestly say no firm has believed in and respected me more for my talents and contributions to the company. I have had the opportunity to grow my client base with support from my team and the mentorship from more senior advisors/partners. Freestone has a sense of entrepreneurship that allows you to excel if you know where you want to go. I have also been very pleased with the benefits they provide and the support they give to new parents while on maternity leave (and the months back when you’re adjusting to your new normal).

    Cons

    Freestone can be a hard place to work if you do not have a good idea of the direction you want to go in your career. We have employees who are very content with their current role and we have employees who look to advance to the next level by advocating for themselves to get there. I would say it would be difficult if you fall somewhere in between. The other thing (and this might be a “me issue”), but I always have a hard time finding information. For example, I never know when we have holidays off work. There’s nothing worse than planning client meetings and then realize the entire office is closed for the day…

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2017-01-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freestone Capital Management

    Pros

    Over the past couple years Freestone has undergone a lot of turnover and implemented a new technology suite. The company is left with smart, dedicated people doing interesting work. Expect to be challenged.

    Cons

    Many old-school employees require hardcopy documents for all meetings and most review. Do not always expect a consistent 8-5 life situation.

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2016-10-03
  10. "Recently transitioned client advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Advisor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freestone Capital Management for more than a year

    Pros

    I spent 21+ years building a client advisory practice at a national financial services firm and recently joined Freestone after 5+ years of due diligence and firm evaluation on numerous Wealth Advisory firms. 1) When the founder(Gary Furukawa) says "put the client first" and "do what is right", it is not just something for the company brochure. This mindset and mentality is constantly engrained into everyone from new staff members to the Partners of the firm. 2) Clients truly appreciate the fact that this is a privately owned firm and the owners are not led by some NY based company that is driven to grow firm profits. 3) Because Freestone does not look to grow headcount massively and drastically, you end up with a collection of really quality, and truly happy, personnel. 4) Bureaucracy is rather common in the wealth advisory world. Not so here. You will often hear the question "how do we get it done for the client?". 5) If I had it to do over again, I would have made this move 10 years ago.

    Cons

    1) Someone looking to have a place to sell packaged product to the client need not apply 2) If you are looking for a firm where you will be able to slide by unnoticed, and do just enough to get the job done, this is NOT your place. 3) As in any business, there are issues to overcome and "fires to put out", but everyone here needs to be ready to roll up their sleeves and pitch in to get it solved. This may not be you.

    Continue reading
    Freestone Capital Management2016-06-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews