GAME Digital Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

GAME Digital Reviews

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
GAME Digital CEO Martyn Gibbs
Martyn Gibbs
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "Attracts great people into its entry level positions(in 15 reviews)

  • "Staff discount is good, and sometimes game developers will give you extra discount on launch days(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Head office make poor decisions regularly(in 26 reviews)

  • "only find out your rota a week in advance(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Regional Manager in South
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital

    Pros

    The people Talking about fun stuff to people who,want to buy fun stuff Freebies!

    Cons

    Organisation from head office - a bit fire, aim, ready

    GAME Digital2017-05-14
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in West Bromwich, England

    I have been working at GAME Digital part-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with my college's they were welcoming when I started this job

    Cons

    There weren’t many cons

    GAME Digital2020-02-26
  3. "It was an *okay* job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital part-time

    Pros

    Good discount, nice people and fun customers

    Cons

    awful KPI's, needing to sell useless things like disc care

    GAME Digital2020-01-10
  4. "A Company on the Downslope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at GAME Digital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Attracts great people into its entry level positions. Store managers are almost always excellent. Decent discounts.

    Cons

    Horrifically out-of-touch senior management. Multiple layers of seemingly unnecessary upper management (cluster managers, deputy area managers, area managers, regional managers). A beaurocratic nightmare that grows worse by the year. Abysmal support for those looking to advance in the company. Store budgets slashed constantly. Store closures a constant threat, often with little to no warning. Awful out-of-date IT systems and processes.

    Continue reading
    GAME Digital2020-01-09
  5. "Good people but not prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with If you can perform and achieve targets you will be praised and recognised for it Some managers will go above and beyond to train you further if you show that you want to be there.

    Cons

    Money is low compared to other jobs in same retail area. No progression unless someone leaves but even then your not guaranteed as they have to outsource first. Hours are regularly cut due to company wanting to save money but want more work done in less time.

    Continue reading
    GAME Digital2019-12-19
  6. "Game Digital Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hayes, England

    I worked at GAME Digital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its was fun working in a field that I had express intrest in

    Cons

    I wasn't able to get more shifts

    GAME Digital2020-01-02
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In-house Recruiter in Basingstoke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, flexible environment, great teams, and a real start up feel although the business has a been around years!

    Cons

    Unfortunately the product's that are sold are only profitable at certain times in the year

    GAME Digital2019-12-16
  8. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount comes in handy if you are a gamer.

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours and barely no chance of advancement.

    GAME Digital2019-12-23
  9. "Good place for part timers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount, good people to work with, quiet relaxing, good if you like technology

    Cons

    Never enough hours, only good for part time.

    Continue reading
    GAME Digital2019-11-18
  10. "Out of Touch Decision Making from Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - A sense of community among the staff that you'll work directly with, I, without a doubt, made friends for life through my time at GAME. - Opportunities to be involved in attending various events (made available because the team I worked within) - Bistro on-site, perfect for an affordable morning coffee. - Enjoyable 'fun' days and other activities in and around HQ.

    Cons

    - Absolutely shocking pay for the level of responsibility you're given, with any and all fight for a pay rise being a struggle. - Unorganised and unresponsive to feedback at a top-level. - Lack of understanding of the market from a senior level. - Quite outdated offices, considering they are at the forefront of an entertainment sector. - Lack of understanding from HQ about what the GAME stores go through on an 'on the ground' level, this causes stress/reaction throughout the business. - Poor communication about objectives, what's expected and any kind of plan from senior level. - Not very forthcoming on 'flexible working' and it's a struggle to get back days in lieu. - Quite a toxic working culture.

    Continue reading
    GAME Digital2019-11-22
Found 206 reviews