GenMark Diagnostics Reviews

Updated 4 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
47%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
GenMark Diagnostics President and CEO Scott Mendel
Scott Mendel
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bagel Wednesday/Free soda/Free food at quarterly meeting(in 9 reviews)

  • "Free Soda, Lot of nice friendly people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "High turnover rate as well so it's hard to get long-term goals accomplished when the people you coordinate with leave every 6-18 months(in 9 reviews)

  • "Small company and has its growing pains(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "alright place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    always room to grow, lots of overtime

    Cons

    repetitive and boring, favoritism in workplace

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    July 31, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your opinion matters to the leadership team. Favoritism isn't condoned in our workplace, please reach out to your Supervisor or HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns. It is important to us that everyone has a fair place to work.

  2. "Hit a Wall"

    2.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Team Lead 

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time

    Pros

    Company is growing every year

    Cons

    to much favoritism in upper management

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    June 11, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you very much for taking the time to review our company. Please reach out to your HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns. We are interested in your perspective because favoritism is not an acceptable practice. We'd like to understand what you are perceiving. We appreciate your work and are glad to have you on our team.


  3. COVID-19

    "Exciting times-helping w Covid tests"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meaningful work-cool product-really improve lives of patient

    Cons

    Busy but for good reason

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    April 22, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your kind words. We greatly appreciate it and we appreciate your efforts. We couldn't do what we do without you. Keep up the good work.

  4. "Great Upside"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The current culture is great

    Cons

    Growing pains during the transition period.

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    February 28, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you are enjoying the new culture. We have more fantastic changes coming this year. Thank you for your partnership and support!! We are glad to have you on the team.

  5. Helpful (7)

    "Delayed pay check"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics

    Pros

    Good rate...free food most of the time.

    Cons

    No annual bonus,no christmas party this year and nothing for employees this Christmas..

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    December 4, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry you feel this way, please feel free to contact HR if you would like to discuss further.

  6. Helpful (7)

    "Move along"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of nice people

    Cons

    Favoritism over competence across many departments. If you are a fun person, have a good sense of humor, manipulative, attractive or all four, you will go far at Genmark. You do not have to be an expert or even highly knowledgeable in your area because having a fun-factor and loyalty to your supervisor is all that matters at Genmark. If you are smart, hard working, a strong contributor, accountable and ethical, you will be marginalized and taken advantage of. A CYA toxic culture prevails at GenmarkDx.

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    December 4, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed this hasn't been brought up to your HR Business Partner. Please reach out to HR to discuss the specifics of your complaint. The fair treatment of all employees is our priority. You are a valued member of our organization and your feedback is important to us, please reach out to your Manager or HR to discuss your concerns. Our doors are open to you.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible Company due to poor leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GenMark Diagnostics full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance is excellent.

    Cons

    The company leaders are driving the business into the ground and do not know how to manage or create a healthy working environment.

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    December 4, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are interested in your feedback and are always striving to improve our work environment. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Worst Company to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Soda, Lot of nice friendly people

    Cons

    Poor management. Favoratism, Supervisors are unfriendly and unprofessional. Leads are dump and unexperienced and its nowhere to find when you need them. They are being picked and assigned by Supervisors not my experienced or intelligence but by favoratism. One Lead wear dark glasses all the time and caught many times sleeping and playing games in his phone. Not wearing ESD sshoe strap either.

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    September 9, 2019Sr. Operational HR Leader

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed this hasn't been brought up to the HR Business Partner for operations. Please reach out to Rebecca to discuss the specifics of your complaint. The fair treatment of all employees is our priority. Regarding the selection of Leads; the company has an open interview process. Anyone interested in a Lead position is allowed to apply. There is a formal set of interviews and discussions about each internal candidate before a final selection is made. The interview panel consists of several levels of management, HR and cross functional departments that will be interacting with the Leads. You are a valued member of our organization and your feedback is important to us, please reach out to your Manager or HR to discuss your concerns. Our doors are open to you.

  9. Helpful (5)

    "Worst decision ever to except a position there."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some good people, bagels

    Cons

    Management is the worst, if you are not in the inner circle you do not matter. HR has no respect for the employees only watching the associate directors back. Who is such a micro manager who looks for the worst in his people. Does not even care when an employee's child is sick, or injured. Only cares about his own butt. Keeps little notes to be little his own supervisors, unless you are the chosen one.

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    August 28, 2019Executive Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to speak up about your experience at GenMark. I am disappointed you left feeling like you didn’t have an impartial resource. We have an HR Business Partner set up that allows the HR department to be flexible with the employee support, because we know the employee/employer relationship is invaluable. We will ensure the employees know it is ok to ask for a new resource. Also, we have recently implemented additional management training and I am sorry you will not be here to experience the changes. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors. - Vice President of Human Resources

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Favoritism"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -free soda -fres bagel every Wednesday

    Cons

    -1st shift lead have favoritism -lead doesn't train you if your not his favorite -lead play with the operators and chitchat by the time of work and doesn't care with hourly numbers -no team work -to much complain -taking long breaks -they don't see the operators who worked hard -lead doesn't know anything but takes the credit -making side comments -lazy operators are the one got promoted and acknowledged because their good in talking but not in working

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    June 12, 2019Sr. Operational HR Leader

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We take the claim of favoritism very seriously. Please reach out to your HR Business Partner or Manager. We would like to understand fully what is happening and resolve the situation immediately. We are striving for a first class workplace and are currently developing tools for Leadership training. We are also actively interviewing for a few new Leads and we want to understand what is working and not working so we can improve. Thank you again for your comments, please reach out to your HR Business Partner, Rebecca.

Found 85 reviews