GenMark Diagnostics Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 of over 102 reviews

3.1
63%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
GenMark Diagnostics President and CEO Scott Mendel
Scott Mendel
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bagel Wednesday/Free soda/Free food at quarterly meeting(in 9 reviews)

  • "Free Soda, Lot of nice friendly people(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "High turnover rate as well so it's hard to get long-term goals accomplished when the people you coordinate with leave every 6-18 months(in 9 reviews)

  • "Small company and has its growing pains(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company on the rise with Roche

      Jun 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong leadership team comprised of very talented and very smart individuals with a passion for excellence and commitment to great products and services. The Roche acquisition is a reflection of how strong and steadfast the C-level team is in executing all company goals. I look forward to the integration with Roche, which can only make this organization a stronger player in the global market.

      Cons

      HR is our Achilles heel. They are highly disorganized, mostly absent, and indifferent to employees needs. I am new to the company but I hope that the Roche merger will fix this part of the organization. They need better people to manage and operate HR activities.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Work Life Balance

      Apr 29, 2021 - Process Engineer in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are amazing and there are some really excellent managers and directors. Scott, the CEO, can't be beat. This company is very lucky to have him, he is the epitome of lead by example and definitely one of the sharpest tools in the shed. He inspires everyone who works with him to work as a team to solve problems and drives people to be highly effective.

      Cons

      Work.Life.Balance. If you like working more than 40 hours a week then this is the place for you. Rarely does anyone work 40 hours or less. Many people even work when they are on vacation (although it's not expected of anyone) but with so many workaholics in the office it sets the standard. Knowing all the overtime is going towards producing life saving diagnostic tests makes it a bit easier though. Working to make a positive impact in patient lives and patient outcomes is very rewarding.

      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      no order

      Jul 16, 2021 - Inventory Specialist in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free drinks and lunch on saturdays

      Cons

      not organized lots of people making mistakes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      -

      Apr 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great culture, loving team, creative respectful people!

      Cons

      I don't see any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great team

      Apr 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaboration, Ingenuity, technology, sense of ownership

      Cons

      Low salary, difficult to move up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      kickstart your career here

      Apr 9, 2021 - Research Assistant in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good place to work, with lovely colleagues and nice working environment.

      Cons

      Location, and accommodation nearby might be a problem

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work and investing in the future

      Jan 5, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GenMark builds solid products that solve the most critical diagnostic needs in the market today and is continually investing in the future. The company was one of the first in the world that delivered a diagnostic test for COVID-19 during the pandemic, proving that even as a small company, they can pivot quickly and meet the changing needs of the market. There’s a strong start-up feel and very collaborative working environment and culture at GenMark.

      Cons

      Still around 500 employees so does not have some of the benefits of a larger company

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      GenMark Diagnostics Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your feedback and positive words. It is our mission to become the market leader in providing high value, simple to perform, clinically relevant multiplexed molecular tests to aid in the diagnosis of disease and the selection of dosing therapies. We strive everyday to enhance patient care and reduce the total cost of care while focusing on a culture that allows our employees to deliver such amazing results.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good people, not good management

      Feb 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Technology that can save lives. Most of the people are great to work with

      Cons

      No regular covid testing for employees, little concern for workers from the SLT. They are only interested in profits. Favortism, it doesn't matter if you are good at your job if you are not liked by people making decisions. people are micromanaged, and supervisors and managers are undermined by higher ups. No trust

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      GenMark Diagnostics Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your feedback. The health and safety of our employees is our top priority during these unique and difficult times. We have made vaccinations readily available for all employees and are one of the few in San Diego who have had on-site clinics for everyone in the community. Our Leadership values every member of GenMark and remains focused on providing products that enhance patient care above all else. We encourage you to review your specific situation with your Manager or HR Business Partner. Thank you for all you are doing!!

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      good place to work

      Feb 25, 2021 - Technician in Vista, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free soda , good pay

      Cons

      bad administration and non comunication with employees

      2 people found this review helpful

      GenMark Diagnostics Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      We appreciate the time you dedicated to GenMark and your thoughts. As we continue to navigate the unprecedented growth in our company's history, we remain focused on providing training and increased communication to all our employees. GenMark is committed to living our core beliefs each and everyday and enhancing the employee experience.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Poor management - micromanaging and not trusting employees

      Mar 17, 2021 - Graduate Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good technology for diagnostics, good benefits

      Cons

      Poor management - micromanaging and not trusting employees

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 98 Reviews

    Work at GenMark Diagnostics? Share Your Experiences

    GenMark Diagnostics logo
    or