Grainger Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Grainger Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Grainger CEO DG Macpherson
DG Macpherson
410 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor work-life balance for top-performers(in 86 reviews)

  • "Just a waste of everybody's time just to fill reports to make upper management feel good about themselves(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Learnt Project Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager - Sales in Ahmedabad
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Organization culture, very motivating and energetic

    Cons

    Limited Brand Awareness in local market

    Advice to Management

    Brand Awareness

    Grainger2014-09-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "I worked there for two years full time but it turned out to be the worst place I could start my career from."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Export Customer Service Coordinator in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There aren't many but they pay well to freshers, if that's what you are looking for. Their training was comprehensive.

    Cons

    This company is everything that is bad with American Capitalism. False Promises are part and parcel. Rude behaviour by management and extremely political premise. I an ecosystem, where people leave sooner than they join, the management has made things even worse by simply accepting it. People are treated like lambs, you'll be made to work 12 hours a day but at appraisal time you'll be given a lousy... excuse and a bashing for doing good to the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Well, I gave many in my time but the management is a monarchy.

    Grainger2017-05-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Sourcing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good learning, wide exposure,

    Cons

    decision making power not in hand, too much system oriented

    Grainger2015-08-26
  4. "Helped me to grow into a professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Executive in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had 5 years of work experience in a span of 2 years

    Cons

    Work culture has no cons as such

    Grainger2013-09-13
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the best part to work with grainger is we get week ends off.

    Cons

    no cons for this company

    Grainger2013-01-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bosses are wrong here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    my Boss was too good

    Cons

    i dont want to say any thing

    Advice to Management

    remove high rank Bosses from here

    Grainger2012-10-06
  7. "It was a good experience but for a new joinee would not have that much of exposure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Executive in Ahmedabad
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger

    Pros

    It is a MNC company with a good product portfolio & dealer network.

    Cons

    Company is totally dependent on Vendors & dealers, doesnot have any power. The employees have been squeezed in making balance.

    Advice to Management

    Should have a good control & bargaining power, that we can have some power in hand.

    Grainger2012-04-24
  8. "Great company which is growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment. People are nice and involved. They will work with you to complete projects. A very interactive culture not necessarily young, but not old either.

    Cons

    Sitting arrangements. Long bench areas where you are in big rooms; Too many silos. Getting a campaign or project off the ground takes forever.

    Grainger2019-12-05
  9. "Good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Industry leader, good work-life balance, good people

    Cons

    Can be very political. You can only get promoted if you're well connected, not based on your performance

    Grainger2019-12-04
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Lake Forest, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have great training programs. Flexible work schedule. Overall great work environment.

    Cons

    Hard to move up in the IT department. No real chance for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Grainger2019-12-04
Found 2058 reviews