Guidance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Guidance Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Guidance CEO Jason Meugniot
Jason Meugniot
16 Ratings
  1. "Good Agency, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Magento Practice Lead in Marina del Rey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guidance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best reason to work at Guidance is the people. The leadership of the company care about the people and make decisions to make sure that each employee can have a good work/life balance, even though the projects are some times very stressful and complex. Each time that I felt overwhelmed, there was someone that I could raise the issue to and get some help. My contributions to better the organization were... accepted and integrated into the processes which was really cool to see.

    Show More

    Cons

    Agency work is often stressful, and it’s not the same as just working for a single company. This type of work is not for everyone, but if you understand that Agency life is what it is, and you are really working for many companies via Guidance, then it’s much easier to understand choices that are made by Guidance leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Celebrate each team success more, would’ve been fun to have more team building experiences after each successful contract close.

    Guidance2019-08-17
  2. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Marina del Rey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guidance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guidance is one of the best companies I have ever worked for. Interesting projects, amazing people and culture, great work-life balance. You can feel that people are happy here and everyone supports you to grow and succeed. Managers respect you, value your opinion and trust you with your work. You are never micromanaged, which was so important for me. Great work perks include regular team-building fun events and... you get to work from home one day a week.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Guidance2019-07-24

    Guidance Response

    July 29, 2019CEO

    Thank you for sharing your insights about our amazing team! For over 25 years, Guidance has welcomed and propelled thousands of amazing people toward personal fulfillment, career growth and success. I am grateful to have worked with you!

  3. "Stressful and draining environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guidance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people, but not much more worth mentioning.

    Cons

    The most stressful and rude environment I've seen, incompetent tech leads and project managers, management has no idea what people are working on, boring repetitive projects without any innovations. Office is a dark dirty warehouse without windows. Salaries are stagnant, bonuses are laughable, benefits are below average. Not a good place to work.

    Guidance2019-06-23

    Guidance Response

    June 24, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your note. There was seemingly a disconnect in our relationship, and we hope you find a fantastic fit at your next company going forward. Our current and former employees enjoy their experiences at Guidance largely because of our values and the way we treat each other. ...

    Show More
  4. "Guidance is Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CMO in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guidance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are fantastic, pay is very competitive, work is very meaningful, culture is great and there is a wonderful balance between work and family.

    Cons

    There is an opportunity to enhance the benefits package.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Guidance2019-05-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "All surface with little substance - trending downward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guidance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Guidance has a good history of past projects and has been reasonably well connected into the eCommerce space. That makes it a good networking job.

    Cons

    Leadership is frequently checked out and more focused on the appearance of a C-level lifestyle and not that interested in actually doing the work or growing the business. This is why they have such high employee turn-over and are trending down the platform hierarchy to Shopify. Not sure how much more juice they can squeeze out of the thin veneer of an aging reputation.

    Advice to Management

    “Waste no more time arguing about what a good man should be. Be one.” ― Marcus Aurelius,

    Guidance2018-08-21
  6. "Good place to grow professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guidance full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment with friendly coworkers. Fun events at work and outside of work. Good place to grow into a seasoned e-commerce Tech Lead or Project Manager.

    Cons

    Need to show more support/hand-holding to remote employees.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more time to experiment on longer-term projects.

    Guidance2018-06-23
  7. "Solid agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guidance full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, interesting clients, relaxed office environment, work from home 1 day a week, competitive pay, many opportunities to learn new tech

    Cons

    Can be disorganized, deadlines can be stressful, parking is problematic

    Guidance2018-06-14
  8. "Principal Software Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guidance full-time

    Pros

    Good Compensation for the right positions

    Cons

    Management a little autocratic on strategic decisions

    Advice to Management

    Try delegating work load to different groups and get some skin of the people on the decisions made.

    Guidance2018-03-22
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Actually Not the best place to work as advertised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Marina del Rey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guidance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice creative space, laid back, Creative team is good

    Cons

    Dysfunctional Management who do not like each other. Nothing innovative for developers, they are simply implementing someone else's platform. The work environment often is outright disrespectful. Average benefits and weak bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Think about growing the company and try to get along with each other.

    Guidance2017-06-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guidance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The development team can develop complex Magento apps that other shops seem to be failing at. Design team is great and win awards. Environmentally conscience. Food trucks. Cool office. Good career ops and challenging work.

    Cons

    Management team gets it for the most part but some can be a lil' salty. Sales is growing and resources get tight so sometimes hours can be long.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring.

    Guidance2017-05-12
Found 25 reviews