Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated 13 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
825 Ratings
Pros
  • "Generous paid time off (but you'll have to plan it out)(in 95 reviews)

  • "Company prefers to promote from within; You can start as a part time associate and work your way to management in just a year or two(in 69 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is out of touch with how the stores work(in 71 reviews)

  • "I would like our part time associates to work a minimum of 20 hrs a week(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Do"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Thanks for asking but didn't get

    Cons

    Purely because of the day but

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    December 4, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us and for your continued hard work. If you'd like to share any additional feedback with us, you can also reach out to your District Manager or HR Partner. We look forward to watching you grow with us!

  2. "I learn lots from my Job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasement Assistant in Vadodara
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    To learn value of Purchasing & finalized Engineering Bom,Costing,Vendor Devlopment.

    Cons

    lots of elocution between purchaser & supplier

    Continue reading

  3. "Nice Place To Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Covington, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the people I work with are good coworkers besides a few. Pay is great for the job.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 11, 2020Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for sharing your positive experience with us. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking associates! We greatly appreciate your continued hard work in Covington, LA!

  4. "Favorites always get promoted."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate, Senior Logistics Associate in Hemet, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours , if you work at an AM store you’re out by 9pm if you close, spiff, Christmas bonus, raise every year based on performance.

    Cons

    At some stores you really have to push management to train you in order to learn.

    Continue reading

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 7, 2020Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would not be able to accomplish all that we do without hardworking associates like yourself. At Harbor Freight Tools, one of our Core Values is Continuous Improvement, which means constantly striving to improve and enhance our skill sets. We believe our associates learn many valuable skills and information at our organization. We will share your comments with our HR Partners. Thank you for your continued hard work in Hemet, CA!

  5. "Logistics"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Hattiesburg, MS

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management Helps when you have questions Decent pay

    Cons

    Not enough hours to survive

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 4, 2020Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please know that we are always working hard to continuously improve as we grow. For instance, we have reviewed our current processes and how we could improve in this area. We value our associates, their ideas, suggestions, and becoming a great place to work. Thank you for your continued hard work in Hattiesburg, MS!

  6. "Need a full time job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Full Time Merchandiser in Orange City, FL

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    Great job great people and great tools

    Cons

    Just need a full time job

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 4, 2020Director of People and Culture

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We depend on all of our associates to bring value to our hardworking customers and we greatly appreciate all that you do! Thank you for your continued hard work in Orange City, FL!

  7. "It is a great company to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Good company, ability to move up

    Cons

    There is no cons k

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 3, 2020Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We would not be able to accomplish all that we do without hardworking associates like yourself. We’re glad to have you on the team and appreciate your continued hard work!

  8. "Use to be great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Carrollton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Pay was good with quarterly bonuses

    Cons

    Went from great place to work into complete micro managing and family became 2nd

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Lima, OH

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and decent co-workers for the most part

    Cons

    Job title means nothing. Can be considered Sales but work as logistics 80% of the time, and vice versa.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 11, 2020Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We depend on all of our associates to bring value to our hardworking customers and we greatly appreciate all that you do! Thank you for your continued hard work in Lima, OH!

  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Glen Burnie, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bonus paid , good hours for full time associates, good benefit

    Cons

    Schedule can sometimes be irritated

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    July 29, 2020Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please know that we are always working hard to continuously improve as we grow. In fact, Harbor Freight has been giving associates visibility to their schedules 2 weeks ahead of time. We encourage you to reach out to your Store Manager to discuss any concerns. Thank you for your continued hard work in Glen Burnie, MD!

Found 1552 reviews