Harbor Freight Tools Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1410 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
756 Ratings
Pros
  • "Full time employees earns 188 hours of paid time off in their first year(in 81 reviews)

  • "You earn PTO as a part time employee from day one(in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management unreasonable expectations of work task unreasonable(in 62 reviews)

  • "my final point is the company advertises other benefits that are not made available to part time employees(in 56 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I learn lots from my Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasement Assistant in Vadodara
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    To learn value of Purchasing & finalized Engineering Bom,Costing,Vendor Devlopment.

    Cons

    lots of elocution between purchaser & supplier

    Advice to Management

    Nothing. Our Higher Management is Well Defined.

    Harbor Freight Tools2012-09-26
  2. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits the people you work with

    Cons

    upper management work life balance in retail means nothing

    Advice to Management

    listen to more stores across the us and not just california

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-20
  3. "It's a retail job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Leesburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can earn bonus pay for selling replacement plans and memberships.

    Cons

    More than likely start off as part time and hard to advance internally.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the starting wage and increase the pay raises or people will look for other employment.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-19
  4. "Adapt and go far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Manager in Lavale, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learn and promote within company. Growing company

    Cons

    Limited training for new employees must adapt quickly

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-18
  5. "Pretty Good Job- Whack Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Associate in Biloxi, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Very friendly management and coworkers -Willing to help you out when you need it -Even part-time accrues TO -Great if you enjoy exercise and team lifting

    Cons

    -Part-time hours are NOT consistent, you'll either make barely enough to live or not enough at all -Easy to injure yourself if you're not careful -Hard to use your TO when there aren't enough people -Not a good job for people that don't like waking up at 4 AM -Management is sometimes hard to speak to when they don't come in at consistent hours that line up with your shift -If you're a girl, it's a little bit of a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is nice and willing to listen, but are hard to get to sometimes when you really need to discuss something. They need to communicate with their subordinates a little bit more. The hours of their early morning workers, especially part-timers, makes it almost impossible to run into them.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-17
  6. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Columbia, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there a great company

    Cons

    we should be able to get a better discount

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-11

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 12, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please know that we are always working to continuously improve our Total Rewards program and will take your feedback into consideration. We look forward to watching you grow with the team!

  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Attleboro, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with scheduling and overtime.

    Cons

    not much room for growth

    Advice to Management

    it would be nice to be able to move up the ladder

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-07

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 8, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us and for all your hard work in Attleboro. Please know that Harbor Freight Tools is committed to training and promoting internally. We wish you the best of luck in your future career!

  8. "Biased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics in Chillicothe, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid time off and benefits

    Cons

    The management people and styles

    Advice to Management

    Stop being arrogant and undermining your employees

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-20
  9. "It's Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Associate in Blackwood, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Potential to gain forklift experience

    Cons

    Most/All logistics shifts start at either 4 or 5 in the morning

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-19
  10. "Good Job very demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Logistics Associate in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vacation time builds up quick Mostly good people to work with Only being able to work Logistics part of my time.

    Cons

    Not a fan of not exactly being truthful to customers.Such as getting them to join the inside track club via a coupon they can get on their own and also not exactly mentioning its a one time replacement on warranties.

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more honest with customers.Having management push for name collections etc. Just creates a stressful atmosphere.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-17
Found 1410 reviews