Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
998 Ratings
Pros
  • "Monthly bonus, lots of paid time off(in 99 reviews)

  • "And they ACTUALLY value you as an asset to the business from part time associates to management(in 71 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Very little monitoring of schedules by upper management (DM)(in 72 reviews)

  • "Night shift, moderate work life balance(in 68 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Amazing people

      25 Sep 2020 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people at corporate are all talented and caring individuals that work hard to foster a culture of inclusiveness internally, and are dedicated to supporting our customers and communities externally.

      Cons

      There is always more work that can be done.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Harbor Freight Tools Response

      Director of People and Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we appreciate you for trusting Harbor Freight with your career for over 10 years. At Harbor Freight, we pride ourselves on being a great place to work with a culture that celebrates collaboration, community, and a diverse workforce for all of our associates. We’re glad to have you on the team and appreciate your continued hard work!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Do

      3 Dec 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Thanks for asking but didn't get

      Cons

      Purely because of the day but

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Harbor Freight Tools Response

      Director of People and Culture

      Thanks for sharing your feedback with us and for your continued hard work. If you'd like to share any additional feedback with us, you can also reach out to your District Manager or HR Partner. We look forward to watching you grow with us!

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I learn lots from my Job

      26 Sep 2012 - Purchasement Assistant in Vadodara
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      To learn value of Purchasing & finalized Engineering Bom,Costing,Vendor Devlopment.

      Cons

      lots of elocution between purchaser & supplier

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Pays pretty well

      12 Jun 2021 - Logistics Supervisor in Jonesboro, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity for overtime just about every week which boosts your paycheck from its alright pay rate to a pretty good rate for retail.

      Cons

      Rough work that a lot of people will come for one shift and never return. Understaffed most of the time which makes your job a lot harder. There were times I would work an overnight and be scheduled an 8-hour shift to open the store that morning.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      10 Jun 2021 - Senior Sales Associate in Altus, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Store manager helped me to become a subject matter expert in less than six months, both on the sales side and on the logistics side.

      Cons

      Coworkers gossip too much. We’re expected to do whatever we can to sell ESPs and ITCs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Harbor Freight Tools Response

      Director of People and Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We would not be able to accomplish all that we do without hardworking associate like you. Our goal is to be a great place to work and that means listening to our associates every step of the way. Your feedback helps us do just that. We highly encourage our associates to reach out to their Store Managers and connect with them if they have any concerns. Thank you for your hard work in Altus, OK and we wish you the best in your career journey!

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pay was better but job was physically demanding

      10 Jun 2021 - Replenishment Associate in Fayetteville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had bettet hourly pay than most stores in the area.

      Cons

      Stock trucks were very physically demanding. Amount of hours received were lacking due to company always cutting back Shifts were spread thin

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Harbor Freight Tools Response

      Director of People and Culture

      Thank you for your feedback. We would not be able to achieve all that we do without hardworking associates like you. We rely on all our associates to bring value to our hardworking customers and we’re thankful for all you do. As an organization, our goal is to be a great place to work for all our associates. Please know that our policies and procedures are designed to keep our associates safe. We want you to know that your feedback is valuable as it will help us in our efforts of continuous improvement. We also encourage our associates to reach out to their Store Managers and connect with them if they have any issues. Thank you for your hard work in Fayetteville, GA and we wish you the best in your career journey!

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great atmosphere and people to work with

      26 May 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Iowa City, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are the reason to continue to come into work every day, different opportunities for growth if this is what you want to do. Good job for a college student who has a set schedule.

      Cons

      Hours can be weird and change a lot when not in school, some days you will work at 4 am and then the next close at 9 pm.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Harbor Freight Tools Response

      Director of People and Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We would not be able to achieve all that we do without hardworking associates like you. We depend on all our associates to bring value to our hardworking customers and we’re thankful for all you do. As an organization, we pride ourselves on being a great place to work with a culture that celebrates collaboration, community, and a work/life balance for all our associates. We provide our associates with their schedules at least two weeks in advance and in case they have any issues, we highly encourage them to reach out and connect with their Store Managers. Thank you for your continued hard work in Iowa City, IA and we look forward to seeing you grow!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place overall

      9 Jun 2021 - Warehouse Associate in Florence, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and good pay.

      Cons

      Hard labor and moved around alot.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Harbor Freight Tools Response

      Director of People and Culture

      Thank you for your feedback. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking associates. Our goal is to be a great place to work and we depend on all our associates to bring value to our hardworking customers and we’re thankful for all you do. Please know that we regularly monitor associate feedback in our efforts of continuous improvement. Thank you for your continued hard work in Florence, SC and we look forward to seeing you grow!

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      So-So Experience

      12 May 2021 - Assistant Manager in Brookfield, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/Life Balance, Relatively Easy Job, Good Benefits

      Cons

      Low Compensation, Physically Demanding, Super Aggressive Timeframes to Complete Tasks, Poor Upper Management, Company Based in California hasn't figured out that they have stores in other time zones/weather conditions.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Harbor Freight Tools Response

      Director of People and Culture

      Thank you for your feedback. We would not be able to accomplish all that we do without hardworking leaders like you. We depend on all our associates to bring value to our hardworking customers and we’re thankful for all you do. Our goal is to be a great place to work for all our associates. At Harbor Freight, we value people above all else. We value who you are, what you’ve experienced and how you see the world. We believe our differences can make us stronger. Your feedback will be valuable as it will help us in our efforts of continuous improvement. We highly encourage our associates to reach out and connect with their HR Partners if they have any concerns. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate HR Partner. Thank you for your hard work in Brookfield, CT and we wish you the best in your career journey!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome place to work.

      3 Jun 2021 - Learning and Development Manager in Dillon, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture Driven, great pay, growing company.

      Cons

      Hard to keep employees in this area.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Harbor Freight Tools Response

      Director of People and Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking leaders. We would not be able to accomplish all that we do without hardworking leaders like you. At Harbor Freight, our goal is to be the best place to work for all our associates. We constantly strive to improve at all levels by learning as we grow and evolve every step of the way. Your feedback will help us do that. Thank you for your continued hard work Dillon, SC and we look forward to seeing you grow!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,912 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Harbor Freight Tools Job Seekers

    Head Cashier
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Harbor Freight Tools? Share Your Experiences

    Harbor Freight Tools logo
    or