HealthMarkets Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

HealthMarkets Reviews

Updated 12 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
HealthMarkets President Mark Smith (no image)
Mark Smith
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Recent purchase of company by UnitedHealthCare Group will take this company even higher especially with all the carriers we offer to our clients(in 26 reviews)

  • "Health Markets knows how to treat their employees(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "No compensation for enrolling clients in the Health Insurance Marketplace(in 17 reviews)

  • "The push on supplemental products is unappealing to customers(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Immoral company acting without integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthMarkets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None at all no pros here

    Cons

    They train you to steal from sick, poor and old people.

    Continue reading
    HealthMarkets2020-03-12
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Revolving door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at HealthMarkets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is some flexibility available

    Cons

    Human resources needs to work with Management on diversity training.

    HealthMarkets2019-10-30
  3. "Great Insurance Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at HealthMarkets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working culture and good management

    Cons

    None, it was a good place to work

    HealthMarkets2019-09-19
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Baltimore, MD
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthMarkets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its a good company. They help you get up and running although its a little rough with 100% commission. Follow the process and it will work.

    Cons

    Incentives and Bonuses are really little. Leaders act like they are giving you thousands of dollars when it is barely a $1000 to encourage to sell . Its just extra money. Leaders varies from leader to leader. Some are better than others and will spend the time with their agents. Management is a little weird. Old school and all male leaders.

    Continue reading
    HealthMarkets2019-08-30
  5. "I love helping others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Lewis Center, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthMarkets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Saving clients money and time

    Cons

    We need a bigger office

    Continue reading
    HealthMarkets2019-08-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "They Have My Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthMarkets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Starting out independent is not easy if you want to establish yourself in a competitive for yourself. There is business it's a matter of finding it and knowing what you are talking about. Yes, they push their own SureBridge products. Some of those products make sense depending on the clients needs, values and budget. More people become bankrupt due to medical costs and not enough insurance.

    Cons

    Not enough product training. Dislike the rah rah meetings. Make them shorter.

    Continue reading
    HealthMarkets2019-06-24

    HealthMarkets Response

    February 5, 2020HealthMarkets

    We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your insight.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "New Agents Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthMarkets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will learn about what not to do as an agent.

    Cons

    They take advantage of new insurance agents, and you sign away commissions that you don't know about. The advances are an illusion.

    Continue reading
    HealthMarkets2019-06-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Insurance Agent in Lawton, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthMarkets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HealthMarkets is very diverse in the amount of insurance contracts they have which puts their agents in a position to be competitive across the health insurance market. They invest in new agents that come in and apply themselves and give them all of the resources necessary to grow their own business as big as they want it to be. I can't speak for every individual office but from my experience the culture of the company is very friendly and team oriented. Agents across the country doing what they can to help other agents be succuessful.

    Cons

    100% commission may scare some people but if you follow the business model and apply yourself it is a non-issue.

    Continue reading
    HealthMarkets2019-05-06

    HealthMarkets Response

    February 5, 2020HealthMarkets

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your insight. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Scarborough, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthMarkets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    State of the art proprietary CRM, website and marketing provided at no cost to all agents. Management is smart, approachable and relevant. The trips are incredibly well done. Health Markets truly appreciates its agents, whether you are a top achiever or just getting started. I've made more money than I ever thought possible in a very rewarding career. It took decades, but I'm finally working for a company that truly does the right thing for its clients as well as its employees. It's nice to get paid twice a week as well. Management is responsive to suggestions and will explain the why's and how's of what can and can't be done.

    Cons

    Selling health insurance is either for you or it's not. No one is going to do this for you, and getting started can be challenging if you've never been in sales before. Tech support should be readily available on weekends, especially during open enrollment, to assist with technological issues. I lost the entire last full weekend of open enrollment because my computer had an issue that denied me access to the quoting system. No one was around to help and I received a call back on Monday afternoon. Fortunately, my TVP called in some favors and I was able to get half of Sunday back.

    Continue reading
    HealthMarkets2019-05-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Health Insurance Sales Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Insurance Agent in Berwyn, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthMarkets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Healthmarkets is a great organization that provides outstanding support and resources to anyone who is looking for the opportunity to breakout independently as a Top Insurance Sales Leader.

    Cons

    Talent varies greatly among Sales Leaders, you need to be your own advocate and champion your own best interests.

    HealthMarkets2019-05-07
Found 299 reviews