Hobsons Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Hobsons Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Hobsons Chief Executive Officer Kate Cassino
Kate Cassino
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management focuses solely on revenue growth to the detriment of potential and existing customers(in 16 reviews)

  • "Last year, sales lost half the entire team with most quitting and few getting let go(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing People & Culture, Strong Mission, Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proposal Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobsons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hobsons is an incredible place to work for many reasons, but most importantly, its people. Their passion, energy and dedication to the company's mission of helping students achieve their full potential serves to unite everyone in pursuit of a common goal, regardless of function or level. From our executive leadership and management to individual contributors, everyone has an important role to play to get the job done. It's this team mentality of cross-collaboration that makes for an amazing culture of innovation and drive to continuously improve, year-over-year. The nature of the work lends itself to flexible work schedules and working remote, which is a huge advantage in today's world. Everyone's contributions are valued and recognized through great benefits & compensation, strong work/life balance, career growth opportunities and awesome celebratory events. Simply put, the people at Hobsons really care about what they do and the people they serve, both internally and externally. I continue to be inspired by the caliber and talent of this team, and I'm thankful and proud to be part of such an amazing organization.

    Cons

    Honestly, I can't think of anything.

    Continue reading
    Hobsons2020-01-11
  2. "Amazing mission, but lacks direction in the product and organization of teams beneath leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Hobsons

    Pros

    Product offerings have amazing potential. The greater purpose and mission of the product is wonderful. The Executive Leadership team is amazing and shares amazing insight for where the company is headed. Great company events and always exciting office morale. Cincinnati office is brand new and amazing facilities to work out of.

    Cons

    Product has amazing potential but Hobsons seems to lack in investing in substantiating talent to enhance the product to the demands of the clients. Management is poorly ran and not held accountable from director levels and down. Many product issues, and horrible work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Hobsons2020-01-03

    Hobsons Response

    February 5, 2020SVP of Talent

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are working on ramping up our talent acquisition skills through a recent transition to a modernized system and will be rolling out manager training in the Spring. We continue to invest in product improvements. As employees share their concerns directly with me in HR, we have been able to take action and make changes to improve the internal culture for staff. It is a partnership with employees. Please feel free to schedule time with me directly if there are any specific concerns that you do need to address.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to be, but still room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobsons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in work schedule, very generous PTO, competitive pay and benefits, supportive of the community & willing to give back (time and money)

    Cons

    Little transparency when it comes to performance evaluation, company culture has focused more on being profitable than on being an enjoyable workplace, lack of diversity, lack of female representation in management/middle-management positions

    Hobsons2019-11-11

    Hobsons Response

    December 12, 2019SVP of Talent

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We still have some work to do as we build a strong performance culture at Hobsons that is more representative as a whole but will remain committed to sharing our passion for the mission of assisting students achieve their academic potential at their various life stages. Please feel free to send any ideas or recommendations to me directly about how we can keep our messaging on the mission.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "If you want to make a difference, this is where you work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobsons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I waited 2 years to find the right job at Hobsons, and I am glad I waited. All of the basics are great: Benefits, PTO, good work life balance is encouraged and supported. Leadership does listen to the employees, its as simple as raising your hand and providing feedback. Change happens, but there has never been a time that I haven't felt heard and appreciated. The goal to support sales, continues to be a focus in the company. The goal to support student success is in our mission and ties into every business line. We aren't successful if our clients are successful, and based on my client relationships and feedback, I think we are doing very well! Its a good time to be at Hobsons!

    Cons

    I am a remote employee, so staying connected is super important. There has been a more concerted effort to help with connectivity and I have seen improvements over the past 2 years.

    Continue reading
    Hobsons2019-10-30

    Hobsons Response

    December 12, 2019SVP of Talent

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad to reach you find meaning in the work and the amazing people we have as colleagues at Hobsons. We will continue to work on ways to keep our remote employees connected to the business so please feel free to pass along any recommendations or suggestions to me. I am excited to see the investments in our technology teams and marketing function help our sales and product teams continue their remarkable work in the future.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Hobsons Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobsons full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Leadership is actively participating in cultivating happy, high performing culture. -Feedback is open and welcomed, and changes are made. -Work/Life balance has always been a priority, but now has tangible attributes like maternity/paternity leave and specific work from home days. -Compensation is getting more competitive.

    Cons

    -Fewer tenured employees, however, can also be a pro!

    Hobsons2019-10-31

    Hobsons Response

    November 1, 2019SVP of Talent

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! It is great to read how the newer programs like our paid maternity/paternity benefits are having a positive impact on employees. Please keep sharing feedback with us and we will keep listening.

    Continue reading
  6. "Awsome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adminssion in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hobsons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Managers and flex time

    Cons

    Short term projects, a lot of changes

    Continue reading
    Hobsons2019-10-03
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Couldn’t get out quick enough!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hobsons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, flex time, some good people

    Cons

    Egotistic, cut throat Executive team, Cincinnati is a joke to them, lead by fear mentality, dated product

    Continue reading
    Hobsons2019-10-22

    Hobsons Response

    October 30, 2019SVP of Talent

    Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to read that your experience at Hobsons was less than positive. The company continues to invest in their employees and our products. We see enormous value in our Cincinnati based employees and continue to hire for that office. It is disappointing that this wasn't your experience.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Cut-throat, cheap, out-of-touch. Beware."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobsons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The health insurance offers decent coverage and is relatively affordable.

    Cons

    Management is out of touch with what is happening in the Edu market. They have so much hubris for a technology that is outdated and overpriced compared to competition. Sales goals are unrealistic and we consistently lose to competition with newer, more effective and lower cost solutions. Territories are completely imbalanced, so some reps consistently get layups while the rest of the AEs are left to feel like SDRs with incomprehensible activity goals. Management definitely has favorites and often will pass deals and leads to those favorites without regard to territories. Product is sub-par compared to competition and the roadmap isn't going anywhere anytime soon.

    Continue reading
    Hobsons2019-10-19
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hobsons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The products are truly something I have been proud to be a part of.

    Cons

    Management changes that really are just about going back to the same old thing. That and the good ole boys club that seems to drive this place. It seems that we just can't get away from this vicious cycle. Diversity? Lip service. Managers (male and female) seem to really value input -- from the guys. Opportunities for advancement mysteriously seem to be made known after the selection of a male colleague has already been made. The benefits used to be one of the big selling points but the "new" corporate is doing away with that and benefits have quickly been going down hill. *Beware* they look a whole lot better than they actually are! There are plenty of tech companies out there with great culture like Hobsons used to have with much better leadership that still values and respects their employees. Look elsewhere!

    Hobsons2019-09-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Uh-Oh...how many let-go's will there be..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hobsons

    Pros

    They were the people, atmosphere, benefits

    Cons

    New management, fear of losing job due to being terminated, all fun people gone!

    Continue reading
    Hobsons2019-10-02

    Hobsons Response

    December 12, 2019SVP of Talent

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. The company has come a long way under the new management team in terms of professionalism, focus and inclusivity. Some activities were eliminated to make room for a stronger focus on client service, work quality and an elevated professional environment. I am sorry that these changes make it feel less fun.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 267 reviews