Invitae Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Invitae Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Invitae CEO Sean George
Sean George
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (19)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Laboratory Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Invitae full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work that we were doing is fulfilling, the mission is great, 95% of the people that I worked with were amazing. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Rampant favoritism within the management team, company is disorganized on all levels, little to no career growth (supervisors sabotage their underling's opportunities), zero work-life balance, sketchy stuff happens in the lab, hemorrhaging money on buying new companies that don't bring much to the table, HR is useless, management is completely ineffective. Unlimited PTO, but how dare you want to take time off. ... There is no transparency. The ethos and culture that was so important in the beginning is completely dead.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, it's not worth the massive effort of trying to improve the company. I don't think management will ever change.

    Invitae2019-09-23
  2. Helpful (3)

    "There is no better lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Region Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Invitae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - While it is a relatively new lab compared to others (f. 2012), the growth has been insane, and it only continues to expand. When it comes to genetic testing, Invitae dominates in almost every area of medicine it touches. - As the only lab in the industry with transparent billing (actually telling a client/patient how much Invitae bills insurance companies) and a low cash price for testing, it's an easy sell for... reps. - High quality testing without cutting corners. - It's obvious almost every competitor that runs into Invitae is intimidated by them due to the success and potential. - The testing options for clients and their patients continue to grow, all without worrying about price being an issue.

    Show More

    Cons

    - With all of the new companies Invitae acquires and constant new test offerings, it's hard for reps (and even clients) to keep up with. - 401K match still isn't available.

    Invitae2019-09-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Invitae is a great place to make an impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Invitae full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They mean it when they say "freedom with accountability". People are treated like adults. It can be disorienting if you're used to more hierarchy and freeing and exciting if you can get in the right headspace about it. Overall impact on the world is huge and our company goals are ethical and in line with what I believe - access to healthcare information for all. Lots of new tech to learn about and build and the... money to do it. What's not to like

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of change. It is baked into the culture so it'll be a rough ride if that rubs you the wrong way. If you care a lot about who reports to you or who you report to it's gonna be a bummer.

    Invitae2019-09-06
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Used to be good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Invitae full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company mission, unlimited time off. SOME managers are awesome (Jim Stuart, Erik Malin). CEO is awesome and approachable. They really are trying to do the right thing by way of reducing cost of healthcare.

    Cons

    Lack of focus, communication and direction. Poor management in some areas. Some managers are unapproachable and offer zero support. Way to many things thrown at us. Stick with oncology testing.

    Advice to Management

    Find a direction and stick to it. Stop buying up companies and adding more and more to the sales reps portfolio. Training needs to be better. Better communication. Really make org1 anonymous, so we can really give the feedback we want, without fearing being exposed.

    Invitae2019-08-30
  5. "Blown away by the culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager-Level Position 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Invitae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Values employees, great benefits, fantastic pay, tons of flexibility, wonderful leave policy.

    Cons

    Not a con, but a note: There is a ton of opportunity to add structure to the developing systems. You need to stay organized and communicate well among your peers and between teams if you want to be successful at Invitae.

    Invitae2019-08-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Company with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Invitae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good learning experience working here. Allow employees working remotely.

    Cons

    Management is somewhat disorganized.

    Invitae2019-07-26
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Invitae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    DIY culture, Good compensation, Ability to work from anywhere, Zero micromanagement

    Cons

    Catered lunch only once a week

    Invitae2019-06-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best kept secret"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Invitae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company and amazing people.

    Cons

    The company is incredible

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing. Keep growing.

    Invitae2019-05-25
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Invitae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hard working and supportive environment.

    Cons

    Flat organizational structure can sometimes cause confusion.

    Invitae2019-05-24
  10. Helpful (44)

    "I'd have to change fields to find a comparable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Invitae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid pay and benefits, healthy culture, galvanizing CEO, and a real mission to help people. I love working here and find my coworkers highly motivated and very capable.

    Cons

    You have enough rope to hang yourself with, so don't get complacent. It's a place with a relatively serious tone, so if you're into goofing off with your coworkers you'll find it takes a bit of time to coax people out of their shell and to be social.

    Invitae2018-11-08
Found 44 reviews