J-PAL Reviews

Updated 17 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
J-PAL Executive Director Iqbal Dhaliwal (no image)
Iqbal Dhaliwal
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great co-worker, good working environment(in 6 reviews)

  • "I found managers who cared about my professional development and they helped me carve out a path of increasing responsibility and new challenges(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay and terrible work hours(in 5 reviews)

  • "Tight work schedule and working hours are long(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best work Environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Environmental Engineer in Surat

    I worked at J-PAL full-time

    Pros

    Good knowledge Intellectual people Quality Communication

    Cons

    Not as much nothing Nothing nothing nothing

    J-PAL2020-04-09
  2. "The great place for learning"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Research Support Assistant in North Goa

    I have been working at J-PAL full-time

    Pros

    Will learn how to be more and more productive.

    Cons

    May have to face very high expectations

    J-PAL2020-04-17
  3. "The fastest way to add tremendous value to your CV"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SRA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J-PAL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inspiring co-workers, challenging environment, high-profile teams, government interaction

    Cons

    Hard to see the impact of your work, employees are massively overworked and underpaid

    Continue reading
    J-PAL2020-02-04
  4. "Branch operation manager"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Patna, Bihar

    I have been working at J-PAL full-time

    Pros

    Operate the operation of district dish tv & d2h settop boxes service.

    Cons

    24 hrs in service managemnt

    J-PAL2019-12-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best place to up-skill oneself, even with all systemic flaws. Be open to listening."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J-PAL full-time

    Pros

    1. Wonderful fieldwork experience. Can't get better than J-PAL 2. Rigorous team management skills. Too bad if you consider yourself a snobbish prude who has only excelled in academics. Management is an essential part of the job. Learn it here. 3. Develop brilliant insights on data science and management.

    Cons

    1. Not many career trajectory discussions - can leave the RA a bit puzzled and insecure. 2. Salary low BUT it's recompensed with additional skills to increases earning capacity in the future.

    Continue reading
    J-PAL2019-09-14
  6. "Manager, India"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J-PAL full-time

    Pros

    Lots to learn, great set of people, cutting edge policy research, interact with PIs, policy makers and senior folks in the industry, challenging fieldwork, opportunities to learn new things, inputs are taken and acted upon by management

    Cons

    Challenging and hard work, travel and could have long hours, career paths within JPAL are not super clear

    J-PAL2019-08-20
  7. "Employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J-PAL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is lot of to learn

    Cons

    No downside of company this is very good to learner

    Continue reading
    J-PAL2019-07-01
  8. "HR"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J-PAL full-time

    Pros

    Purpose driven colleagues performing high

    Cons

    Role clarity missing for some staff

    J-PAL2019-06-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good work for environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surveyor in Surat
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J-PAL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a action poverty lab to control the air pollution as well water

    Cons

    Management is not so good

    Continue reading
    J-PAL2019-01-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J-PAL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    J-PAL is a well known organisation especially in the fields of academia and research. From early on you begin to work with Economists who are at the top of their domains from some of the best universities in the world. Projects at J-PAL are managed like small organisations - it gives you a chance to get great exposure to setting up an organisation, hiring field staff, training and managing the entire field operations.

    Cons

    Very often people are sent to remote locations, where they are at the beck and call of the Economists. expectations are not managed well and most of the RA and RMs and project Managers are overworked.

    J-PAL2019-01-17
Found 76 reviews