Lucid Software Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Lucid Software Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lucid Software CEO Karl Sun
Karl Sun
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "Also the fully stocked kitchen was a great feature(in 14 reviews)

  • "amazing learning opportunities from very smart people(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you're looking for traditional sales salaries, Lucid is not the place(in 23 reviews)

  • "The growing pains of the company are affecting everyone, especially with the move of our product/tech teams(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-I in South Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Highly competent, yet approachable coworkers. Relaxed atmosphere in which everyone trusts everyone else to balance working hard and taking breaks to enjoy the numerous activities that go on in the office. Interesting problems to work on and a reasonably high degree of freedom to take on the issues that you're interested in.

    Cons

    The walls aren't made of chocolate and I wasn't given a free iPad when I signed up? I have nothing tangible to complain about.

    Continue reading
    Lucid Software2020-02-14
  2. "Solid Company. Lots of Hustle. Truly Committed to Values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in South Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Company has a solid product and continues to grow and grow. -Really focused on their two core products - Lucidchart and Lucidpress; they're not getting distracted by trying to build or acquire other things. -They are committed to employee growth. They don't just throw people into management positions. They provide extensive manager training through a program called Learning at Lucid. -They are serious about their values and committing to them. For example, our team was considering hiring someone who was highly qualified, but because he had an enormous ego, they decided not to. They really protect company culture. -Very conservative in their spending (almost to a fault), but it's so nice to be in a profitable company that isn't burning cash at breakneck pace. -Quality leadership. -Lots of perks: annual retreat, stocked kitchens, catered lunch Mondays & Wednesdays, free Trax pass. -Lots of hustle here while promoting a healthy work-life balance.

    Cons

    -Sometimes the company is so conservative on spending that employees have to lug all the conference gear on the airplane with them instead of having it shipped ahead of time. -Pay is a little lower than other SaaS companies. -A lot of new hires are fairly recently out of college. -No mobile phone reimbursement program, despite the fact that I use my mobile phone for work calls. -The phone system is not good at all.

    Continue reading
    Lucid Software2020-02-18
  3. "Pros and Cons for a fast growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in South Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucid Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of good people, good food and vibes, cool growth opportunities, cool silicon valley level group activities, company wide yearly retreat, budget for training etc. Some of these things are actual value and some are perceived value, extras. Will someone stay in a job they hate because they get free pizza every Friday? For most, no. Those are fun things to tell your family and friends about the cool new tech job you got. People stay for the job satisfaction, the people that they work with and report to, and salary. Things like that. Lucid still has that for the most part. Especially in Engineering department and other tech positions. Sales might not be as much. When a company grows this fast, its hard to keep up, no matter what the position. But growth provides career and learning opportunities and makes it way more exciting to be at Lucid. Something that the company is doing really well at are things like inclusion, specifically around gender, race. leadership positions, raises etc. You can feel confident that they will hire/promote you if you are right for the job.

    Cons

    In my opinion you pay for all the extras out of your salary compared to what other companies would pay. Every department is experiencing growing pains. They are still figuring things out.

    Continue reading
    Lucid Software2020-02-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everything about working here is amazing.

    Cons

    No cons to share at this time.

    Lucid Software2020-01-15
  5. "A company the lives it's VALUES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for companies that pay lip service to values, Lucid is not one of them. Values guide their decisions and impact their choices, even if it means they might lose temporary revenue or have to spend a little more. The management team is amazing, the executive team is driven, but at the end of the day, understand that people are the most important resource at Lucid. My family recently experienced a significant medical event, and Lucid literally could not have been more supportive of me or my family during our time of need. Seriously, a great company, full of great people, doing amazing things in the world with a wonderful product, but not to busy doing great things to go above and beyond for their employees. By far the best culture in Utah, Amsterdam, Melbourne, or anywhere else for that matter.

    Cons

    Keep the culture of empowerment and autonomy. Don't let it change as the company scales.

    Continue reading
    Lucid Software2020-01-04

    Lucid Software Response

    February 6, 2020VP of People Operations

    Thank you for sharing your experience. This totally resonates with me. Like you mention, our values are real, the people are special, and everyone really looks out for one another. I can assure you that hiring great people has always been and will continue to be a top priority. Glad to have you on the team! -Kat

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "There is good and there is BAD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing in South Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucid Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Executive team is very approachable Great product offering Communication across the org is very good A lot of smart individuals Core values are really good Monthly team activities

    Cons

    Worked in the Lucidpress side of the business. It is very different from working in the Lucidchart side. The two run their business very differently from each other and it is very obvious that the executives focus is on Lucidchart. It's great being the underdog and Lucidpress thrives on that, but it would be great to see more involvement from the executives in Lucidpress. Leadership on Lucidpress is ok. There is a lack of experience and several of the department heads have been there since before Lucidpress was its own offering. They are great at what they do, so when Lucidpress began they jumped on it and are now in leadership, not necessarily the right leadership. Lucid doesn't invest in hiring the right leadership for Lucidpress to help it go forward to the next level, the current leadership is in place to keep things afloat, not very experienced. At one point you had the head of Customer Success and the department reporting to the head of Marketing, Sales leadership is awesome at sales but not the best managers. For example, sales was promised a trip/Presidents Club trip if quota was achieved by end of year like most organizations do. It's a few days before the trip takes place and Lucid forgot about Lucidpress reps and/or didn't consider them! And then last minute they decided to invite Lucidpress sales leadership to it and NOT the reps who actually hit quotas. It was a slap to the face for the reps, some of the leaders even tried to hide it from their reps because they knew it was a bad move on Lucid, but they still went on the trip and didn't fight for their employees. You can't blame it all on Lucid, but the Lucidpress leaders should have fought for their employees. Lucidpress leadership doesn't have the backs of their employees, they are too worried about making a good impression on the Lucid execs (the ones that don't really pay attention to Lucidpress) that they don't fight for their employees. Leadership will not fight for you. There is so much opportunity for Lucidpress to make a big splash in the design and creative industry but there is no real direction on how to do it. There are no leaders that have worked in the design industry before to really guide Lucidpress. They rely on what the customer has to say about the industry and the software to make decisions. That's not a bad thing but it seems like a lot of it is reactive than being proactive and industry leaders. You don't need to hire your competitors leadership to be successful in business, but when you have such a new and revolutionary product you do need individuals that can talk the talk and walk the walk in the industry you are in. I got to demo once to an AE that sells InDesign and the Adobe Creative Suite, and they were mind-blown at what we could do for the business user and non-creatives. He mentioned that Lucidpress in the hands of the Abobe Creative Suite would revolutionize their offering since these are issues they can't currently solve and have to talk their way around it. That's what Lucid Execs don't get, or don't know they have.

    Continue reading
    Lucid Software2020-01-08
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Poorly Run Sales Org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in South Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucid Software full-time

    Pros

    - Coworkers are typically awesome and Lucid does a good job of hiring good people. The sales floor has a lot less "typical salespeople" compared to similar orgs. - The executive team is great and there is a decent level of transparency within the company. - Benefits are great and they go above and beyond to help in this aspect. - Weekly lunches/stocked break room.

    Cons

    - The initial, and probably most important con is the lack of pay. The compensation is well below market value for all positions in the sales org and it is only getting worse. If you're looking for traditional sales salaries, Lucid is not the place. - Quota attainment is unbelievably low (around 20-30% in most cases). Reps really don't ever feel like they have the ability to hit quota. - Middle management is unexperienced and it shows. Lucid acts like they want to expand into an enterprise level sales org but they don't have the management to do so. - The sales org in particular is suffering in the way of culture and overall morale. When I was there, reps were typically looking for other jobs; management either had no idea, or didn't care. - There is a greater push towards being in the office/at your desk simply so it looks good. Management really doesn't have any answers and they are enforcing silly tactics to try and improve numbers. (This is adding to the cultural shift as well)

    Continue reading
    Lucid Software2020-01-06

    Lucid Software Response

    February 13, 2020VP of People Operations

    Appreciate you sharing your perspective. The comment on quota attainment is concerning to me because it is a misrepresentation of our sales org's metrics. But I'm sorry this was your experience and wish you luck in your next position. -Kat

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place for Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in South Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Tech Stack Lots of opportunities for advancement Cool problems to work on Other engineers are really helpful in me solving problems

    Cons

    They got rid of all the unhealthy snacks so the kitchens are stocked with healthy foods. I need more Hot Pockets.

    Continue reading
    Lucid Software2019-12-19

    Lucid Software Response

    January 16, 2020VP of People Operations

    Thanks for your review! I appreciate you mentioning your team. It's so important to feel included and that people truly care about you. -Kat

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Lots of good... lots of not so good..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People at Lucid are great to work with. Benefits are good. Upper Management is very impressive. Great products. Annual retreat!

    Cons

    Strictly coming from someone in sales, Lucid doesn’t show great appreciation for sales. Pay is well under market value. Product teams don’t actually listen to what sales needs. Marketing efforts are subpar. Lucid is very frugal with their spending, but with that said, when they do spend money, it seems like a huge waste most of the time. The company parties are boring, the swag they give employees is useless. They give our customers way better swag than us. I know that sounds picky, but sometimes it’s nice to get something out of the ordinary from the company to show appreciation. I’ve been at Lucid almost two years, and I’ve never once been excited about the swag I’ve gotten. When you make and give out swag that no one uses, it’s seen as a huge waste. When you have a holiday party at a subpar venue with no music or anything entertaining, it seems like a huge waste. When you have an SKO at an event hall and give out a t shirt to all of sales, it makes us feel under appreciated. Come on... you can do much better.. I come to Glassdoor to share this because I know I have no where of expressing these feelings to management, nor do I think they would care. I like Lucid because of the people, I’m a top performer on my team. Once the people on my team leave or I get a better offer somewhere else, my ears will be open.

    Continue reading
    Lucid Software2019-12-23

    Lucid Software Response

    February 6, 2020VP of People Operations

    I know sales has started implementing more frequent departmental surveys recently with the goal of better understanding employee needs and concerns. I hope this helps provide you with an avenue to convey this and other feedback. Please also know that my door is also open if you'd like to chat. -Kat

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Losing Veteran Employees as the Culture Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in South Jordan, UT
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucid Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many of the things I've loved about Lucid Software have changed in the last year (and many great employees have left), but this is what I originally loved about working there: — People knew and cared about Lucid's core values, like innovation, and teamwork over ego. — Managers trusted me and gave me space to produce my best work without micro-managing or putting me down. — I trusted Lucid's executive team to make the best decisions for the business and for its employees. — Historically Lucid has hired many of the best and brightest in the valley, which led to a robust and neurodiverse culture. I've worked with so many incredible people and teams there. — Snacks are abundant, and there's lunch on Mondays and Fridays.

    Cons

    Over the past year, I felt a seismic shift in the culture at Lucid. Of course, change is to be expected in a startup, but my real concern is that Lucid is moving away from the shared values and culture that made Lucid an amazing place to work — at least for me. For two years, I felt like I had the best job in the world. By the end, I no longer felt like a respected, valued, included member of my team — and I grew tired of being told by leadership that I was wrong to feel that way or that I wasn't seeing what I was seeing. Everything became very hush-hush. Micro-managing has increased too. My manager would tell me to decide for myself how to spend my time, but became very critical of any projects I suggested. Asking for guidance, prioritization or examples made me feel like a nuisance. Over time, I began to feel more like an isolated workhorse than a valued team player. When I tried to discuss these issues with leadership, they often minimized my concerns and sometimes denied they were even happening. Many times, I became angry and confused after referencing a previous conversation (from our 1:1s, for example), only for my manager to tell me he didn't remember it that way or that it never happened. Eventually, I stopped bringing things up or asking for guidance and growth opportunities, because I knew they were no longer open to me. And in the end, that's why I left.

    Continue reading
    Lucid Software2019-12-04

    Lucid Software Response

    December 19, 2019VP of People Operations

    With growth comes some new opportunities, but we hope to always maintain our values as we scale. I'm really sorry your experience didn't reflect that. Thanks for your feedback, I'll look into these things further. -Kat

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 127 reviews