MDRC Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 of over 81 reviews

3.4
44%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
MDRC President  Virginia Knox
Virginia Knox
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very smart people who are thoughtful and have nuanced understanding of the systems we're operating within(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great work-life balance (for non-exempt staff at least)(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance is not a priority here and senior staff do not do a great job at modeling this(in 6 reviews)

  • "Coddle their junior staff too much(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Overall

      Sep 10, 2021 - Research Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Smart, passionate people - People interested in your learning and growth

      Cons

      - Work can feel slow and/or unimportant at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Interesting work

      Aug 31, 2021 - Technical Research Assistant II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good starter job with some incredibly smart people at a cool building in NY

      Cons

      Heavy non profit culture. Top heavy with an unnecessary number of PHDs. Brunt of all work carried out by RAs. An RA only stays for about two years before going to grad school or moving on. Stay any longer and you'll get lost in the sauce.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Starting Job with little room for growth

      Aug 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good starting job for recent graduate, generally nice coworkers, many areas to work in for research

      Cons

      Very little opportunity to move upward without leaving for graduate school. Company does not seem to value on the job experience. Process for annual review, pay increases, and promotions was opaque at best.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No Advancement.

      Aug 6, 2021 - Technical Research Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are great, we get along with each other in most cases. Been here for a while and still do not have the tools i need to do my work. I been told "in time" where others got the tools they need to work in months.

      Cons

      Hypocrisy in how people are treat from one to another, Favoritism in the same department. Managers don't come in time, how do you expect others to follow him. No raises other than board approved No review by managers , skipped or ignored. Nothing in motion on how to keep and move people up !

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Learn

      Jul 23, 2021 - Research Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Research process on full display, across a range of projects 2. Academic environment and ideal for those who intend to pursue further study 3. Friendly and easy going staff

      Cons

      1. Can get overlooked for promotion if you don't find an advocate

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work - little room for growth

      Apr 26, 2021 - Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleague and work environment. Team players and great to be a part of a good mission. Great work/life balance.

      Cons

      Little transparency from HR about the promotion process, and little room for growth within the company.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Very white culture

      Apr 6, 2021 - Researcher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Folks here are mission-driven and kind. I had a positive experience with my manager. Nice benefits package.

      Cons

      Very high turnover, especially for junior staff/staff of color. Unclear standards for promotion, little room for growth (again, especially for junior staff/staff of color). Lots of diversity "lunch forums" but little actual training to address micro-aggressions, of which I personally experienced many. I don't know if I could wholeheartedly recommend the RA position to young people of color in my network.

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good work environment

      Apr 1, 2021 - Research Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I got to work around smart people who listened to my thoughts and ideas

      Cons

      Nothing bad to say about working here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Salary

      Mar 15, 2021 - Research Associate in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are passionate and smart

      Cons

      Long hours and hierarchical structure.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Thoughtful, caring, smart coworkers and important mission

      Mar 5, 2021 - Research Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful coworkers; good work-life balance; collaborative over competitive; good mix of research and practice; many supportive senior staff to learn from and with; commitment to improving organization; great benefits

      Cons

      Progress with RCTs and government partners/funders can be very slow and bureaucratic; still working on some inefficient practices, like ineffectual meetings;

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 73 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Work at MDRC? Share Your Experiences

    MDRC logo
    or