MicroStrategy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

MicroStrategy Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 854 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
MicroStrategy CEO Michael J. Saylor
Michael J. Saylor
552 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work-life balance, friendly colleagues(in 87 reviews)

  • "Great people, benefits and lots of challenges for those willing to look(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "I've seen upper management make it a personal mission to get rid of those they didn't "like" and push them out(in 57 reviews)

  • "When I told senior management that they have to(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "MicroStaretgy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microstrategy Developer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Satsfies all requriements of users. Espescially Transaction Services and also very much secure

    Cons

    Little bit expensive and it will take time to understand

    Advice to Management

    if price enterprise edition price decrease it will rock like anything in world

    MicroStrategy2018-03-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time

    Pros

    Great Suite of Analytics Software solution

    Cons

    Slightly bureaucratic in nature , which at times impedes agility on the ground

    MicroStrategy2019-02-05
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Sales for a New Product (Usher Mobile Identity)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in East
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy

    Pros

    NOTE: I was not a Business Intelligence Sales Rep - I was brought on for a new business unit. *They hired many insanely talented and accomplish people *The allure of a new product with a big vision, with the ability to to cross sell into BI install base *They do have an awesome HQ Office. *Michael Saylor's Yachts *Good Comp potential

    Cons

    *Many of those said talented people turned over quickly for various reasons. *The inability to get core sales people to take product seriously because the CEO created many new shiny objects/products so no serious credibility. Also, the realization that people who care about Business Intelligence (business people, architects, users) are not the people who buy security, and could care less. *At the time, the President...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic and stop changing strategy every day. Don't let critical people leave.

    MicroStrategy2017-01-10
  4. Helpful (30)

    "What a waste of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Design Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nothing except that the ex-CTO (the most stuoid guys I've met in my life) was fired and the so called Presidents were too as well. The three of of them are the reason the company is where it is.

    Cons

    Current CTO talks Agile. Not technical. And no experience in BI and actaully implementing Agile. Agile is not about time tracking. It's about Values and Principles, which pathetically is missing. Competition winning over customers. MSTR calling employees that were laid off to join again at 50% increments. I got that offer as well. Just shows how pathetic the state is.

    Advice to Management

    Resign and accept you goofed up while brown nosing Mike.

    MicroStrategy2016-05-08

    MicroStrategy Response

    May 23, 2016HR

    We appreciate your input on working at MicroStrategy. Ten years with our company is a long time and we appreciate the hard work you contributed to the organization.

  5. Helpful (24)

    "Its become Toxic .. Run! Run!! Run!!! .."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Technology, hottest space to be in right now .. Analytics and Mobility!! PRIME could have potentially disrupted the Analytics marketplace like no other .. but ALAS!!!

    Cons

    Ever since the Apex Capital letter and SIRF report came out questioning Saylor's role in the company, he's hit a self-destruct button and unleashed his tyranny over the once 3200 staffers. Perhaps affected staff should come together and file a class action lawsuit against Apex Capital and SIRF and hold them responsible for putting so many people world over out of their jobs. A majority (~90%) of the Global Management...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and smell the coffee Saylor. Those in your inner circle are eyeing the $400MN you have in the bank. You are destroying the company and careers of some highly talented people.

    MicroStrategy2015-05-21
  6. "great technology not so good CXO management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great people, good pay very robust product

    Cons

    product quality, office politics, lack of customer focus, and CXO management is like a revolving door

    Advice to Management

    focus on the customer and you can grow the business. build quality solutions not quick clunky ones.

    MicroStrategy2019-07-19
  7. "Great People in a Fast Paced and Rewarding Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MicroStrategy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, benefits and lots of challenges for those willing to look. I enjoyed my time there. Compensation is very competitive.

    Cons

    Full engagement of all employees isn't always achieved, but they have implemented programs to improve that.

    MicroStrategy2019-06-26
  8. "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA

      I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time

      Pros

      The company really cares about its employees

      Cons

      No cons about this place

      MicroStrategy2019-06-17

      MicroStrategy Response

      June 20, 2019HR Manager

      So glad to hear that we're providing an engaging and rewarding work environment!

    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MicroStrategy full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great work culture and great location.

      Cons

      Don't see any flaws yet.

      MicroStrategy2019-06-17

      MicroStrategy Response

      June 20, 2019HR Manager

      We are so happy to see you are enjoying your summer at MicroStrategy!

    • Helpful (6)

      "Unfortunate Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing/Sales/Education 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MicroStrategy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      There are a few great people here. And it looks like a fun place to work, ping pong, beer/coffee taps, darts - but these are for show, actually using them would be an anomaly.

      Cons

      Can you say fire drills? Lacking long term vision, and poor management leads to constant fire drills, that get in the way of doing your job. If you like to play the politics game, you’ll like it here.

      Advice to Management

      I seriously question the authenticity of the positive reviews on here, seems odd. Management needs a lot of work.

      MicroStrategy2019-07-09
    Found 854 reviews