Optical Express Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 408 of over 415 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Optical Express Chairman & CEO David Moulsdale
David Moulsdale
277 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team ethics within clinics which makes working along side them even more enjoyable(in 16 reviews)

  • "This creates the best working environment by working part of a team on a shared goal(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of leadership within Senior Management(in 16 reviews)

  • "Clinical staff assisting with eye surgery are paid minimum wage (terrifying)(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Weak and poor management - dishonest company

      Mar 30, 2017 - Laser Counsellor in North East
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exciting industry Customers and the ability to change their lives - when treatment successful Opportunity to develop an extensive technical understanding The challenge of a selling a very hard to sell product - making it very rewarding

      Cons

      Terrible reputation - staff and customer Lack of customer service ethos Poor leaders Dishonest to customers and staff - company will promise the earth and deliver misery at times Pay is outrageously low. Bonus perimeters constantly change and at times can be very lucrative. If you negotiate pay rises - get it in writing as they take forever to pay it and don't back-date - if they ever pay it. They will bully you to work all over and unsociable hours if you're the strongest performer as they want you to turn underperforming clinics around. They have managers in clinics who aren't capable and they expect the strong performers (sales staff) to improve their clinics/business without reward. You'll find the strongest sales staff won't hang around for long. Not the mention the constant feeling of vulnerability given the number of times in recent years subsidiaries have gone into administration and store closures.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      good

      Sep 14, 2021 - Receptionist in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good good good good good

      Cons

      none that i can think of

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great team work

      Sep 12, 2021 - Optical Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ideal team to work with

      Cons

      No progression as an OA

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Optometrist

      Sep 2, 2021 - Optometrist in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training and great colleagues

      Cons

      No breaks No finishing on time

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Positive changes

      Aug 20, 2021 - Store Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with OE for over 7 years, over the last 18-24 months I have saw positive changes in the way the business is being managed. There is still lots of things to be improved on but for the first time I feel hopeful about the future.

      Cons

      Bonus payments could be better and more autonomy to the managers. However given more then I have ever had in the past.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Dream Job

      Aug 17, 2021 - Patient Care Assistant (PCA) in Maidstone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team. Using the best technology, professional working environment.

      Cons

      Can get hectic and challenging at times. No yearly salary reviews

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Optical Express Response

      Thanks for reviewing Optical Express. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy working with a fantastic team, at Optical Express we are proud of our people and the care they provide to our patients. Your feedback is important to us and we do read and review all comments. Thank you for your continued support in caring for our patients.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 17, 2021 - Clinic Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic team, rewarding, supportive employer, Flexible working hours, provide a wide range of products and services, market leader

      Cons

      Progression path is there but could be improved More investment into current clinics and employees

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Optical Express Response

      Thank you for taking the time to review Optical Express. We are delighted to read that you are happy within your role and feel supported. We want to ensure that all of our people feel part of our #OneTeam and enjoy a good work life balance. We would love to discuss how we can improve your career progression path within Optical Express. Please contact your regional director who will be more than happy to discuss next steps.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Love my job

      Aug 17, 2021 - Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Started as a PA and got developed into a manager. 2.Love the feedback from the patients after surgery once they are 20-20. 3. Senior management easily accessible and very close to the day to day operations.

      Cons

      Bonus structure needs to be clearer, more staff benefits needed

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Optical Express Response

      Thank you for your review of Optical Express. We love to hear that our people love what they do as much as we do. Career progression and job satisfaction are extremely important to us, so we are delighted to hear that you have progressed in your role. We do listen to the feedback we receive and have recently added Perkbox to our staff benefits package. We look forward to continue to work with you and help you develop further in your career.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Poor company to work for.

      Sep 13, 2021 - Optometrist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay ok, but only to try and keep staff, you have to threaten to leave for a pay rise.

      Cons

      High staff turnover. High pressure to sell. Head office unprofessional.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Disappointing

      Aug 19, 2021 - Surgical Assistant in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, hardworking team of RGNs and surgery associates

      Cons

      Longer than agreed working days, no formal training, no cleaners?!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 408 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Optical Express Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Optical Express? Share Your Experiences

    Optical Express logo
    or