Patterson Companies Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 517 of over 532 reviews

4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Patterson Companies President and CEO Mark Walchirk
Mark Walchirk
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Competitive pay, opportunity for better pay and good benefits(in 30 reviews)

  • "In my department, there is work-life balance(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is out of touch if current market conditions(in 12 reviews)

  • "scratch-territory required to build from ground-up(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Best company I’ve ever worked for

      22 Feb 2021 - Human Resources Business Partner in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Patterson is dedicated to promoting a work environment that defines our core values of people first, always advancing, focus and being passionate about our work. They encourage a positive and fun space where all employees can come to work as their true selves. They definitely take care of their employees and always ensure we are continuing to learn, develop and grow professionally. They also promote a positive work-life balance. Although we are here to work, we are treated like a close family.

      Cons

      I’ve worked here for 12 years and there’s not been a day I’m not thankful for Patterson. I truly have only had positive experiences here.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Thank you so much for this feedback!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company. Great leadership!

      26 Apr 2021 - Individual Contributor in Mendota Heights, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Patterson a week before we rolled out our new Purpose, Vision, and Values. We had a companywide roll out that included a big celebration with the ELT members talking about what these values meant to them. That has really stuck with me over this last year and a half. I've never worked at a company that truly incorporates these and they're not just words on paper. We have a really solid culture here at Patterson and I'm lucky to have the pleasure of working with such smart and dedicated people. The ELT has really taken the People First value to heart as they've led us through this pandemic.

      Cons

      Like any company there are always areas for improvement however as I mentioned in my previous comments we really live our values – one of them being Always Advancing. Through the last year we’ve instituted various new technologies we need to help us continue to be successful working remotely.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Your review is appreciated!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      People first

      14 Jun 2021 - Product Support Expert in Effingham, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best company to work for. Great benefits and fair compensation

      Cons

      No downside to working here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Thank you for your positive feedback! So glad you enjoy working here!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Professional, Well-Respected, and High Performance Company

      5 Apr 2021 - General Manager in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Patterson Dental has held firm to its values, purpose, and vision. For 150 years, Patterson has remained committed to providing full-service to its many dental partners throughout the US and is probably the last remaining company to still hold true to this. For those interested in providing real, meaningful value to customers, Patterson is the ONLY dental supplier still doing this! Period. Additionally, the company truly looks out for the best interest of its employees, as evidenced by the way the company treated its employees during the pandemic. I have NO regrets in joining this company and am thrilled to be a team member!!!

      Cons

      Analysts will sometimes pigeon-hole Patterson with other companies in the dental industry and/or based on the outlook of the industry as a whole. That's unfortunate, as the company stock price does not always reflect the true performance and value of the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Thank you so much for your feedback and we're so glad you're happy here. Patterson's response during the pandemic was truly extraordinary.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      8 Jun 2021 - Commercial & Operations Leader in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Autonomy, market leader, profitable, medical market

      Cons

      Performance management, business management, culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Thank you for your review.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pandemic friendly

      27 May 2021 - Field Service Technician in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company did everything it could to keep all employees during the pandemic. To my knowledge no one was laid off due to that factor

      Cons

      Over the past year, I wouldn’t give any.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Thank you for your review.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      No

      14 Jun 2021 - Packer in Dinuba, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Funny coworkers and relaxed work

      Cons

      Boring and very slow paced

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Thank you for your review.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ridiculous amount of work and Covid Issues

      23 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO accural is generous and fast.

      Cons

      No set schedule when you will be off

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your PTO while you were with Patterson. To address some of your comments, we have very strict contact tracing and quarantine processes in place to keep our staff healthy and safe, and have since the beginning of the pandemic. If a person works overtime, they are paid for that overtime. If that was not the case for you, please contact our Speak Up Patterson line to report this. That number is: 1-877-888-0040 or www.speakuppatterson.com. Thank you.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Growth Opportunities

      9 Jun 2021 - Business Analyst in Effingham, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many different areas inside Patterson to move to.

      Cons

      Employees are treated as disposable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Thank you for your feedback. So happy you've seen growth opportunities at our Patterson Technology Center! Our employees are our #1 asset!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      New and improved Patterson

      5 Apr 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Transparency around challenges and strategies to solve them. Employees are a higher priority, multiple changes in benefits to improve them. Customer is still #1 priority, we win when the customer wins. Pricing strategies that are competitive to win business. COVID19 response was truly exceptional. Employee surveys are important and create change for the better.

      Cons

      Pay sometimes falls behind for salary and hourly employees over time. They are hired at a competitive wage, but over time fall behind to newer hires. Some decisions at the home office don't take into account regional differences, especially COVID response and furloughs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Patterson Companies Response

      Patterson Companies

      Thank you for your feedback.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 517 Reviews

    Work at Patterson Companies? Share Your Experiences

    Patterson Companies logo
    or