Pixar Animation Studios Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Pixar Animation Studios Reviews

Updated May 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 140 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Pixar Animation Studios CEO Ed Catmull
Ed Catmull
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very cool atmosphere, great people, fun(in 22 reviews)

  • "Collaborative work environment, Highly skilled co-workers, Work on inspiring content, Great benefits(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too expensive to live in the Bay Area(in 13 reviews)

  • "Long hours, low pay, and stressful at times(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "i am a 3d artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - 3D Animator 

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time

    Pros

    because i think that animation is my passion

    Cons

    i am new but i have some abilities to make creative

    Pixar Animation Studios2016-07-31
  2. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - 3D Modeling in Calcutta

      I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time

      Pros

      Production house is quite good

      Cons

      Good studio challenge hard work

      Advice to Management

      I would like to know about it

      Pixar Animation Studios2018-06-30
    • "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Production Assistant 

      I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios

      Pros

      good place to work, awesome team

      Cons

      nothing bad trust me you will enjoy

      Advice to Management

      nothing

      Pixar Animation Studios2015-11-24
    • "Great People, Still Some Culture Work to be Done"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cafe Lead 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Amazing people and talent. Getting to work here was a dream come true. Lots of fun to be had and nice benefits and campus perks and Disney perks. The culture here is priceless.

      Cons

      All companies have good/bad parts of the culture. I’d say Pixar is working to address their issues but has a long road ahead to fix them. Some teams seem to have more toxic work environments than others. The pay is also shockingly low for the Bay Area and for a successful studio. The attitude seems to be that they can get away with it because the demand for jobs at Pixar is high.

      Advice to Management

      Confront hard truths with the “problem employees” if you really want to take a positive shift in your work culture. And compensate your people better. They work hard for you and in this Bay Area job market the salaries offered just don’t always match up. So many need roommates or spouses to just get by.

      Pixar Animation Studios2019-05-23
    • "Full production services"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time

        Pros

        Genuinely interested in creating beautiful representation of every subject

        Cons

        The company is often overwhelmed with projects and it can be hard to use the resources of each collaborator.

        Advice to Management

        keep up the work

        Pixar Animation Studios2019-04-10
      • "Fun and creative Pixar"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Texhnical Artist in Emeryville, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Great most creative crew here.

        Cons

        No cons I can think of

        Pixar Animation Studios2019-03-30
      • "Great Movies, Great Perks"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Technical Director in Emeryville, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Get to bring great movies to audiences. Great benefits package. Great co-workers. Many people still believe in the ideals that led to Pixar's success.

        Cons

        Entrenched leadership, and too much of it. Has gotten increasingly corporate. Too many managers and technical leadership is turning into managers as well. Inability to distinguish mediocre from exceptional employees.

        Advice to Management

        Company is top heavy. Way too much middle management as well. Cut the fat.

        Pixar Animation Studios2019-03-24
      • "Great benefits"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Production Assist 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Wonderful creative environment, great people.

        Cons

        Only baseline pay, challenging path to advancement

        Pixar Animation Studios2019-02-18
      • "Enlightening"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Security in Emeryville, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Pixar Animation Studios part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Pixar is more diverse than I expected. Employees ( writer, producers,VIP) are treated great Fun place to work

        Cons

        Because it is so fun to work there the pay isn’t very good. In the security department there is definitely a boys club. Can be very unorganized. If you speak about things that are unfair you maybe be let go. If someone has been working with the company over 10 years they are treated like royalty and they can do no wrong.

        Advice to Management

        Pay attention to everyone’s voice. Just because employees have been there over 10 years does it make what they say right.

        Pixar Animation Studios2019-02-21
      • Helpful (2)

        "I feel grateful for my time at Pixar"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Emeryville, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        The best job I ever had. Amazing work, even better co-workers. Memories to last a lifetime.

        Cons

        Pay for the bay area, especially for those that missed the stock years, is hard to make a future with. There isn't much chance of owning a home on a Pixar salary no matter who you are. Upward mobility is insanely difficult since very few leave.

        Advice to Management

        Figure out a way to help people have a future to provide and have stability for their family.

        Pixar Animation Studios2019-01-17
      Found 140 reviews