Pixar Animation Studios Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Pixar Animation Studios Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pixar Animation Studios CEO Jim Morris
Jim Morris
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and a beautiful campus(in 22 reviews)

  • "Collaborative work environment, Highly skilled co-workers, Work on inspiring content, Great benefits(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay for the bay area, especially for those that missed the stock years, is hard to make a future with(in 14 reviews)

  • "Long hours, low pay, and stressful at times(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "i am a 3d artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - 3D Animator 

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time

    Pros

    because i think that animation is my passion

    Cons

    i am new but i have some abilities to make creative

    Pixar Animation Studios2016-07-31
  2. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - 3D Modeling in Calcutta

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time

    Pros

    Production house is quite good

    Cons

    Good studio challenge hard work

    Continue reading
    Pixar Animation Studios2018-06-30
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Assistant 

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios

    Pros

    good place to work, awesome team

    Cons

    nothing bad trust me you will enjoy

    Continue reading
    Pixar Animation Studios2015-11-24
  4. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and super cool to say you work here of course, my kids loved it.

    Cons

    Creativity is not rewarded, at least on the engineering side of things. And anybody who has been there less than 3 years is deathly afraid of whoever they report to, so they do not share their true opinions often in my experience.

    Continue reading
    Pixar Animation Studios2019-10-23
  5. "Not a great company if you're young and ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Wonderful people and talented graphics engineers - C++, Python shop - Great work/life balance - Really cool perks. The wrap parties are a blast and the crew gifts are lovely. - It's great working with artists and other non-engineers so closely.

    Cons

    Full disclosure: I'm young and ambitious and it took me a while to finally learn that I should probably be working at a startup instead. - Way lower pay than other tech companies. I know one software engineer who was getting paid 75k a year. - No growth. Pixar hits the holy trinity of never getting promoted: 1) Great place to work for so no one leaves 2) Company is not growing at all nor does it have any ambitions to grow 3) Everyone wants to work at Pixar Because of that, the feeling of being stifled and underutilized is widely shared among everyone at Pixar. Even people who have been there 25 years can only move horizontally. The number of people who have been there and desperately desire leadership positions but can't get them even after 10 years at Pixar is depressing to see for someone like me. - It's very easy for engineers to simply coast. I know engineers there who are completely comfortable doing the same thing every day without growing and that behavior is actively rewarded. - Poor managerial feedback for how to grow as an employee. - There is a major fear with some teams that their engineers are going to leave for sexier teams inside Pixar which is toxic.

    Continue reading
    Pixar Animation Studios2019-08-23
  6. "The best!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every single day I felt so grateful I got to go and be apart of Pixar. I was beyond inspired, between the beautiful grounds & building, the gallery spaces, the lovely light in the atrium, the fantastic food, the amazing artists I got to call my colleagues, I just had a blast. I was only there for 18 months but I enjoyed each and every moment of everyday. I got to contribute to beloved franchises with the best directors, producers, leadership, and team. I got to work with my heros, incredible artist and developers and an entire studio of people who have been rewarded with awards for their incredible beloved films.

    Cons

    It ended! Unfortunately there wasn't a project to catch me and since I was a contract hire, I had to go upon completion of my project.

    Continue reading
    Pixar Animation Studios2019-07-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stakes are high at the cartoon factory!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Story Artist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    World class staff, great campus & amazing wrap parties!

    Cons

    Long time employees have all hit the glass ceiling and spread out as they’re promoted ‘sideways’ forming a management ‘muffin-top’. The leadership formed the company when young so they still want to keep making films but it causes a bottleneck beneath them and new talent struggles to climb up.

    Continue reading
    Pixar Animation Studios2019-06-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Still Some Culture Work to be Done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people and talent. Getting to work here was a dream come true. Lots of fun to be had and nice benefits and campus perks and Disney perks. The culture here is priceless.

    Cons

    All companies have good/bad parts of the culture. I’d say Pixar is working to address their issues but has a long road ahead to fix them. Some teams seem to have more toxic work environments than others. The pay is also shockingly low for the Bay Area and for a successful studio. The attitude seems to be that they can get away with it because the demand for jobs at Pixar is high.

    Continue reading
    Pixar Animation Studios2019-05-23
  9. "Fun and creative Pixar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Texhnical Artist in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great most creative crew here.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of

    Pixar Animation Studios2019-03-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Movies, Great Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Get to bring great movies to audiences. Great benefits package. Great co-workers. Many people still believe in the ideals that led to Pixar's success.

    Cons

    Entrenched leadership, and too much of it. Has gotten increasingly corporate. Too many managers and technical leadership is turning into managers as well. Inability to distinguish mediocre from exceptional employees.

    Continue reading
    Pixar Animation Studios2019-03-24
Found 144 reviews