Plug Power Reviews

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Plug Power President, CEO, and Director Andy Marsh
Andy Marsh
24 Ratings
  1. "Getting a Tsunami in customer demand during this pandemic. Very heavy usage at warehouses and faster roll-out."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working on latest technology that is such a nice feeling in changing the world to move towards zero emission and green future... Very interesting times, finally we are proving to the world the true worth of Fuel Cells..great growth coming..

    Cons

    Crazy hours at work in last few months and hardly have time for anything else..

    Continue reading
    Plug Power2020-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good mission & good people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Latham, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Plug Power full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive leadership, great pay & benefits, innovative technology, and the chance to change the world.

    Cons

    Not enough hours in the day

    Continue reading
    Plug Power2020-04-23
  3. "Meat grinder"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Technician in Latham, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Power full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, with good PTO and great dental

    Cons

    1-forces mandatory overtime 9 months out of the year. 2- high turn over rate 3-disorganized, out of order 4- Poor management and bad planning 5-Not clean, at all. Everything is very dusty and dirty. 6-Bad atmosphere.

    Continue reading
    Plug Power2020-02-21
  4. "New Challenges Every Day"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Latham, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plug Power is leading the fuel cell industry which can be game changers in a matter of years. Each day offers new technical challenges for engineers. Perks include competitive salary and vacation hours for the Capital District, tuition reimbursement, casual dress code.

    Cons

    There's no shortage of work and there are financial challenges related to being a publicly traded company. Production and service technician opportunities are challenging and stressful, so turnaround is high for hourly employees. Field service techs are expected to do a lot for little pay. Communication across departments can be improved.

    Continue reading
    Plug Power2019-12-28
  5. "Be warned!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Power full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and little oversight.

    Cons

    Lack of management. No care for field service technicians. People are promoted by who they are related to or friends with, not by skill.

    Continue reading
    Plug Power2019-11-06
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Power full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working here. I'm not sure why there are so many negative reviews. I think it must depend on what your position is.

    Cons

    The product needs to be more reliable in order for Plug to make money.

    Continue reading
    Plug Power2019-09-21
  7. "It has its good and its bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Power full-time

    Pros

    It’s a fast growing company with a lot of potential

    Cons

    Coming from a small company to growing so fast management and financial are having trouble keeping up

    Plug Power2019-10-04
  8. "Disenchanted"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Latham, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    3 shifts for second job flexibility.

    Cons

    Management has twisted sense of priorities. Very wasteful.

    Continue reading
    Plug Power2019-05-28
  9. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Manager in Latham, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plug Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for and offers good salary and benefits package.

    Cons

    public company with board members making decisions

    Plug Power2019-05-08
  10. "If you have half a brain cell this is the job for you!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Latham, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Plug Power full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    breaks are okay, depending on your area. Had one company paid lunch. free coffee/tea/water. oh they pay for your boots up to $120.

    Cons

    Super boring job for my area. ( sat and watch gauges, and empty a oven for another co-worker at my final last days ) Super hard to find your cell leader depending on the area, seems like to many chiefs. Takes a extreme amount of time to get hired on, some people where temps for over one year, that means one year no PTO no holiday pay, no nothing.

    Continue reading
    Plug Power2019-05-04
Found 42 reviews