Public Storage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Public Storage Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1149 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Public Storage CEO Ronald L. Havner Jr.
Ronald L. Havner Jr.
676 Ratings
Pros
  • "Property managers are able to live onsite in an apartment for a small pay cut(in 71 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is exceptional(in 56 reviews)

Cons
  • "You go from relief manager to property manager to KTP (key training professional)(in 159 reviews)

  • "Further partnership with other functions of the company would allow District Managers more time to spend in the field with our teams and customers(in 111 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Public Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company invests in its district managers and their careers Company is changing with the times and implementing new strategies and technology to keep us relevant Great work life balance Great team and district culture Ton of training and knowledge to keep our teams successful

    Cons

    Some older facilities in the market but I know we are working to remodel and rebrand which will make a huge impact

    Public Storage2019-08-19
  2. "Progressive company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relief Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Public Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Property travels are reimbursed, meet great coworkers and develop amazing friendships. Hours are pretty good (allows you to go to school). You are not monitored.

    Cons

    Pay. Changes in the schedule as a relief, you will not be stationed at one place. Must have a car.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pay and bring back bonuses.

    Public Storage2019-08-19
  3. "....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relief Manager 

    I have been working at Public Storage full-time

    Pros

    Hours are nice, flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Pay is mediocre, lots of outdoor work.

    Public Storage2019-08-09
  4. "Needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Relief Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Public Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get alot of overtime and consecutive days off

    Cons

    Company makes you do everything for minimum wage they dont care about their employees ,they say you will do light cleaning but you are the janitor,manager,security, and maintenance workers

    Advice to Management

    Pay a little extra and hire other positions.

    Public Storage2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (4)

    "not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relief Manager in Azusa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Public Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At times you work alone and at your own phase. District manager was very understating when it came to personal issues

    Cons

    Take forever to repair. They pressure you to sell their products and will get written up if you do not sell. Collection calls (they should have their own department) !

    Advice to Management

    They need to hire more people to keep at the A properties so employees don’t feel too under pressure when it comes to collection calls and monthly audits or if possible hire a separate team to take care of that. I worked at an A property for most of my time being there and lock checks were time consuming customers complained when we had to step out even if it was for 10 minutes definitely need more managers at those properties...

    Show More
    Public Storage2019-08-13
  6. "not a Career Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Public Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    alot of downtime for me to study

    Cons

    way too many task for the pay.

    Advice to Management

    NONE

    Public Storage2019-08-14
  7. "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Springfield, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Public Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growing company with a lot of opportunities to advance. Great work life balance. Stock incentives are awesome! Senior leadership acts quickly to the feedback provided by employees!

    Cons

    Keeping up with the repair and maintenance of the facilities could be a challenge if you do not have great organizational skills

    Advice to Management

    Continue to solicit feedback and act up on it. Continue with the great recognition program.

    Public Storage2019-07-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Dead End"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at Public Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fulltime, independent work, paid training

    Cons

    No room to grow with company

    Public Storage2019-08-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn't go back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Public Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't really think of any. Decent hours/decent pay that's about it. Liked the people I was around in the district.

    Cons

    Constantly by yourself. Told to constantly meet metrics even though it is not said to be a sell/commission job. Being a PM you can't do anything more than anyone else. Company does not treat customers well. Management team is good and listens but nothing changes. Constant driving. Late meetings. Bad overall experience. Constantly understaffed and working overtime. Can not advance past a PM.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the issues to stop losing employees. Higher within for DM for growth and opportunities.

    Public Storage2019-08-08
  10. "Learn the exciting Day-to-Day Operations of managing any retail business!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relief Manager in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Public Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Public Storage offers a very generous benefits package which includes Medical/Vision/Dental/Legal & 401k contributions with matching deposits & Profit sharing opportunities. Public Storage provides paid training, as well as detailed and specifically tailored ongoing training to learn the day-to-day operations of running a retail business and management truly cares about ensuring your success: from Customer Service,...

    Show More

    Cons

    You MUST enjoy working with the public, and be outgoing with the ability to LISTEN to all customers, and be empathetic to their individual situations. Also, most properties are single covered, so need to be reliable in showing up to scheduled shifts on time.

    Public Storage2019-07-26
Found 1149 reviews