Redfin Reviews

Updated 16 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Redfin CEO Glenn Kelman
Glenn Kelman
347 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "People are very nice. Feels like management is constantly gaslighting you."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. The rank and file are nice people.

    Cons

    Constant of lip service to egalitarian company values, but decisions are made in a top down manner, which results in confusion, wasted work and dropped projects. The Donny Kruger effect is high among managers. The peer review process. CEO lied to the company about jobs being safe before a mass lay-off. Uneven hiring makes it difficult to trust the quality of other developers

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-05-09
  2. Helpful (18)

    "Workaholic Fear Based Culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology, app, website, internal client management system with many aids to held expedite communication with clients and streamline work processes. Constant stream of leads with highly qualified clients, steady income, benefits, reimbursements, nice co-workers, many great managers, generous with annual convention for agents with amazing entertainment, food, etc. Good amount of experience and immediate management support for assistance. CEO truly is a visionary, funny, and seems genuine.

    Cons

    Triple the normal work load for non commensurate pay. Told to think of this as "any other job" to justify ok pay for highly stressful work. Laid off 40% of all employees after told initially would be given a guaranteed salary, while sheltering at home, When deemed essential, told we needed to get back to work and needed to meet with clients in person without offering PPE and told to figure it out. Other option was furlough with minimal pay and no guarantee would come back without ability to switch license. Agents that continued to meet with clients at person did so in fear of being "laid off". Management wanted you to "open up" your schedule to "available" all day , every day for last minute appointments starting from 8am to 8pm. Average closing rate was 10% for company so spent lots of time working with sometimes very demanding and difficult clients that were not actually going to buy and you had to work with everyone you were assigned to. Pretty much on call all the time and driving constantly. Must be on emails and phone constantly because of very high amount of communications and requests sent with immediate response required. Lots of rules and constantly told what you're doing wrong. Take clients word over agents. Constantly told "Redfin is not for everyone" and top management in San Diego dictated a highly stressful, demanding, workaholic environment. Agents experienced bullying and overly angry and aggressive style by a particular manager and many agents had to switch team leaders with no accountability or recourse for that manager. Last annual survey completed showed agents felt overworked, underpaid, undervalued with no work life balance. New committees were formed to address these issues and nothing was done. Still same environment. When Redfin did big layoff, in April, top agents were furloughed or laid off and existing escrows/clients were given away to remaining agents with very little or no pay to departing agents.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-04-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not Too Bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great Management and amazing benefits. Company pays for phone and mileage reimbursement.

    Cons

    No 401k company match, was laid off due to Covid-19

    Redfin2020-04-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, but not design driven"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Designer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunches, good people, ability to propose changes and work to implement them.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, no clear hierarchy of decision making. Bad design leadership.

    Redfin2020-04-30
  5. Helpful (7)

    "The McDonalds of Real Estate"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Real Estate Agent in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Full Time Employment, not having to hunt for leads, decent tools.

    Cons

    I really liked my job and believed in the mission right up to the point that they laid me off. The CEO- loves to think of himself as a good guy and not a tech scumbag, but in the end it turned out he was just as sleazy as a business leader could be. We all thought he had our backs, in one of his 10,000 company addresses he once told us that if the investors did not like the way he ran the company he would simply buy them out. Well once the Covid-19 hit it was a much different tune. One week he sent out an email to the company that the execs were forgoing salary and bonus money for the year and the rank and file were all set. 10 days later he was handing out pink slips like they were candy. The market ws down before the Covid and when I dove into the finances I noticed a month prior the top execs were offloading stock options at .18 cents per share and selling that same day for $28 per share. Im sure it is a lot easier to give up your salary when you are pulling in a millions all on a single keystroke. He took great pride in himself as being an disruptor in the industry. Just think of the thousands of lives you have now disrupted. Not only the employees but the lives of all the spouses and children, who only made the mistake of believing what they were told buy the company. In the Boston market there was not job that had a woman of power, totally disgusting in this day and age. Total Boys Club. They have dangled the carrot a little bit, but never really executed it. Unless you are on the friends & family plan, or a friend of family, or a friend of a friend of family.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-05-16
  6. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redfin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food, great work culture, and competitive benefits

    Cons

    Super fast paced, repetitive work, and can be slow to innovate within processes

    Redfin2020-04-07
  7. Helpful (17)

    "Company doesn't live their values"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Agent in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Redfin full-time

    Pros

    Health Care, steady stream of leads

    Cons

    Base Pay is below poverty level. Upper management is disconnected with the world of real estate. Metrics are not clear.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-04-12
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Agent in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Insurance benefits. Paid leave. That’s it.

    Cons

    Everything else. And you can buy your own health insurance.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-04-10
  9. Helpful (8)

    "You will regret it!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Realtor in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The day I walked out

    Cons

    I had three different managers in my six months there, I had one manager tell me to make the baby and move on from my clients. You will drive all over your designed county, I put 60k of mileage on my car in 5 months. The paychecks are absolutely pathetic. It doesn't matter if you bring in your own business 50% that goes to Redfin. They don't care about you or your clients. I had one manager tell me "make the baby and move on" when referring to one of my clients. You will be working for the Redfin brand not yourself and if you are in Real Estate YOUR brand is the most important.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-04-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Potential opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great focus on customer experience and state of the art technology

    Cons

    Limited resources devoted to relatively small local markets

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-03-06
Found 498 reviews