Relias Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Relias Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
37%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Relias CEO Jim Triandiflou
Jim Triandiflou
145 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Relias will start you at low pay compared to the industry and area(in 18 reviews)

  • "Low pay, low employee morale and high turnover(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Two thumbs up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relias full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'll preface this by making it clear that I likely haven't worked here long enough to provide a wholly thorough review. I often hear that you don't really know what your job entails until you've been on the job for a year; I imagine a similar rule applies when it comes to reviewing an employer. That said, in the ~4 months that I've been here, I've found plenty of reasons to enjoy working at Relias. My team is spectacular--everyone I work with is helpful and kind. The amount of gossip that **doesn't** occur is frankly shocking (and refreshing) given the size of the company. I've learned more in the last 4 months than I did the year I spent with the last company I worked for, and my coworkers with more experience than me do an amazing job teaching me tricks and passing on general career (and life) advice. My managers have presented me with several different avenues for growth, and despite my status as a confirmed cynic, I feel confident that this is a company that will help me develop my skills. If you read through these reviews shortly after being hired like I did, you'll probably start to panic, because some of what's been said on here is alarming. I won't attempt to discredit anyone else's reviews--everyone's opinion is their own, I can't speak for anyone else, one man's trash is another man's treasure and so forth--but I'd urge anyone interested in applying to Relias (as well as of those of you who have recently joined) to refrain from taking the most acerbic reviews too seriously. For context: Relias is a company that has undergone rapid growth. A little less than a year ago, the company underwent a streamlining/restructuring process, which was obviously (and understandably) upsetting for plenty of people. I won't get into why streamlining is a necessary evil--there are plenty of economics majors who can do a better job than me--but I would like to point out that people who end up on the wrong side of a streamlining aren't likely to leave kind reviews. (And I'm not saying they should; I certainly wouldn't feel chipper in that situation.) That said, Relias is hardly the first company to maximize its profitability by eliminating positions that are no longer necessary after recent acquisitions. And if that sounds callous, it's because it is callous--but it's also how all this works. Companies have to make decisions based on their financial situation; there's no getting around it. (Side note: this is why we should stop worshiping corporations and treating them like benevolent deities here to save us: corporations are many things, but not that. Google and Facebook aren't here to solve the world's problems, I promise.) Relias isn't a perfect company but then what is? The company culture is fun, the people who work here are great, the work we do is important, but at the end of the day, working here is still work. And that's fine, it's what we sign up for. Honestly, what's more concerning than a so-so glassdoor ratings are those cloying, 5 star reviews filled with banal platitudes and weightless remarks about a company's perfection. I'd rather work with people who express frustration than people who show up everyday and either pretend or seriously believe that their job is their sole source of meaning. To sum it all up, I'm pleased to be here. What I enjoy about Relias greatly outweighs whatever complaints I have. I feel that I'm compensated fairly given the knowledge and skills I currently possess. I do feel that our work is important, which I appreciate because at my last job, I felt like there wasn't much of a point to anything.

    Cons

    If the above hasn't made this clear, Relias has undergone continuous growth, which means at times the company feels like more of a scrambling start-up than the established powerhouse it wants (and should) be. But I have noticed that things have calmed down since I've arrived. Teams have filled out, turnover seems to have slowed down, leadership teams across the company seem to have put clear, achievable goals in place. From what I can tell, the company seems positioned for further success. At the very least, I'm excited to be a part of it, and that means a lot coming from me, because I'm not really into the whole rah-rah I'm changing the world thing.

    Continue reading
    Relias2019-12-23
  2. Helpful (4)

    "This Company is Great..........in 2010........Different Company Now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Manager in Morrisville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Relias full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the most professional, knowledgeable, and devoted employees/colleagues/individual contributors i've ever worked with. Truly caring about what the company does and the people they help is like an "inspiration" bug. You will inevitably catch it while working there.

    Cons

    -Mid Level & Senior Management is nothing short of tragic. Managers and ELT know very little about the platform and focus solely on the bottom line. This has led to a lot of truly inspirational employees quitting or being let go with their experience/knowledge along with them. -In the past two years there has been an unexpected mass layoff, a mass "exodus" in the client success team where around 35% of the team quit in a span of about 5 months, and pretty much no serious promotions given (when a manager quits, ELT hires from outside org. Do not work here if you're hoping, your hardwork will be met with gratitude and reward. Won't happen.

    Continue reading
    Relias2019-12-31
  3. "Avoid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Relias full-time

    Pros

    Nice new office, but that’s about it.

    Cons

    Just read the other reviews. It’s all true and then some.

    Relias2020-01-16
  4. "Relias Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator 

    I have been working at Relias full-time

    Pros

    Very good work environment and schedule.

    Cons

    Company is experiencing growing pains.

    Relias2019-11-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Diversity is so Wrong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Morrisville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Relias full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I always giggled when some executive tossed up a Powerpoint slide on diversity. Just take a look at the leadership page on the Relias website: All white, all heterosexual, and, mostly male (other than the two obvious women in HR and Marketing). Then there was the time a white guy was charged with leading the diversity program. Amazingly embarrassing for them in the year 2020. This shouldn't be a Pro--except it's inline with how the Relias top-level executives run the business.

    Cons

    Incredible culture of bullying. Company policy claims a culture of entrepreneurship and "fail fast". Except, that they hold all of your mistakes against you. Luckily not me; but, I'd seen harassing text messages and voice messages sent to a colleague--he didn't want to loose his job so he never told HR.

    Continue reading
    Relias2019-12-19
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Relias full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO . For me I have not had a problem taking time off from day one. I would say it’s the biggest plus to being here . Supportive managers - thus far I have been fortunate — my direct managers seem to generally care but have little power to make decisions regarding salary or raises for high performers. Tuition Reimbursement - very decent . Legal maximum limit without taxes.

    Cons

    Low Pay - there are hundreds of reviews on here . They try to keep people for as cheaply as they can . Seem shocked that other companies are willing to offer employees higher fairer salaries . Shocked when those employees leave for a decent raise and then grumble about finding replacements. Certain departments are overloaded with work. Employees are having mental breakdowns and crying — we tell our managers and they offer comforting words but do not advocate for us anymore . We care about our clients, and it hurts when we can’t serve them as well as we should. It costs more to recruit new employees then to keep the current ones with knowledge on staff . If you didn’t know this , here’s some free advice . Unethical reviews - Leadership has asked several people in closed door meetings to write positive Glassdoor reviews . Biased performance reviews - Relias rates persons on a 5 point scale . We are constantly told , a 3 is like a 4 at other companies ! I’ve never understood how this justification is acceptable. Every single year I have met and exceeded my metrics . Taken on extra projects, been innovative with new ideas. Working weekends and nights with no overtime because I’m salaried. Yet I and other top performers continue to receive 3s with no real concrete reasons . Guess what, your performance review is linked to your “merit” increase . And by merit I mean 3% on top of already low pay .

    Continue reading
    Relias2019-11-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Average Company (3.5 stars not 4) with Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Care 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Relias full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relias is a good company. The benefits I would say are above average as you have unlimited PTO, health insurance (I'm a single person), flexible schedules, tuition reimbursement, referral bonuses and the work can make a difference in healthcare. Also Relias does a good job of promoting people in the company to a certain level. If you start at the bottom you most likely will get promoted after your 1 year mark. The one 5 star I would give Relias is that the employees themselves are wonderful! It is also great experience to obtain for anyone who needs it.

    Cons

    Relias will start you at low pay compared to the industry and area. Relias did give everyone a pay increase but not really. The ended up taking bonuses away and adding it to your salary and hourly wage. Basically they took away your bonus. It is hard to have people get the referral bonus because the test is so hard to pass for pre-hire. I have had at least 6 people apply that could not pass. Also there is a lack of "color" mentioned in some other posts. Relias though has recently hired an outside company to help them become more diverse. The company did also "restructure" or lay some people off which is why the rating might be lower than it really should. In the business world, restructure is common and their is always bottom performers. Most people also say that Relias is a stepping stone in their career to get experience to move to another better company. Most people work for about 3-4 years and move on.

    Continue reading
    Relias2019-10-19
  8. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Support Consultant in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relias full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work place environment and morale

    Cons

    Boss is a 9ers fan

    Relias2019-10-23
  9. "Acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relias part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good perks, good work/life balance.

    Cons

    No focus to business direction, inconstant management.

    Continue reading
    Relias2019-10-23
  10. "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Relias full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great talent and teams lots of possiblilities to learn new things

    Cons

    long hours sometimes unrealistic goals and workloads

    Relias2019-10-05
Found 201 reviews